Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit Within Us
It was not until this book arrived, that I discovered that this was not the run of the mill mystery. I was a little apprehensive that this kind of novel would be too cute and fussy. However, by the end of the first chapter I was hooked. This is the third in a series of morgue mystery/thrillers, but it is a stand alone book.

The author, Jutta Profijt, went to...
Published 24 months ago by prisrob

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, Slow Start, But It Gets There.
MORGUE DRAWER FOR RENT by Jutta Profijt gets off to a slow start with pages of backstory. Near page 150 the story picks up with some interesting twists. What seems obvious from the beginning isn't what you assumed in the first place.
Pasha is a fun protagonist who as a ghost can only communicate earthwise with Martin Gansewein. Martin is not mentally equipped to...
Published on October 11, 2012 by Nash Black


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit Within Us, November 8, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
It was not until this book arrived, that I discovered that this was not the run of the mill mystery. I was a little apprehensive that this kind of novel would be too cute and fussy. However, by the end of the first chapter I was hooked. This is the third in a series of morgue mystery/thrillers, but it is a stand alone book.

The author, Jutta Profijt, went to visit a morgue and the unusual surroundings gave birth to a series of books taking place in a morgue in Cologne, Germany. The spirit of a man, Pasha, an ex-car thief and ladies man, hangs out at the Institute for Forensic Medicine. For some reason this morgue feels home to him, and he wasn't forced to leave. He can see the other spirits arrive and leave for destinations unknown. Besides, he has a friend, Martin, the coroner. Poor Martin is the only human who can hear Pasha, and though he has grown fond of Pasha, he is not the type who wants a spirit living near him. Pasha, however, turns out to be a terrific partner in investigation. He is able to lead Martin to places no one else can see. The downside is that Pasha wants to inhabit Martin's life, and that is not OK. Martin tries every devious trick to get Pasha to leave, to no avail. Martin and his girlfriend, Birgit, who has no idea that Pasha exists, are stuck with this spirit.

We get to know Martin's colleagues at the morgue. All of them have characteristics we find fun and irritating. Katrin, is the closest to Martin. Smart and beautiful, she has no love for their new boss, 'Piggy Bank'. His only mission is to save money and in the meantime makes life a little miserable. It is his idea to rent out the morgue drawers to pull in some money. There are many adventures in this novel, some are amusing and others a little less so. We learn about life in the morgue and the bodies that inhabit this place, and how they come to be.

Pasha can be wearing, but entertaining, and he does grow on you. The writing and characters are so well done, that they draw you in, and you are attached.

Recommended. prisrob 11-08-12

Morgue Drawer Next Door

Morgue Drawer for Rent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the prime of his afterlife, Pasha falls in love, October 2, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is the third book in the series featuring Pasha, the spirit who hangs out at the Institute for Forensic Medicine in Cologne. He can only communicate with one living being, the coroner Martin Gänsewein. Poor Martin isn't very happy about the voice he hears inside his head, Martin being a principled, clean-living, nerdy vegetarian and Pasha being an unprincipled, foul-mouthed ex-car thief. But despite their total incompatibility, they make a great investigative team.

There's a new director at the institute who's obsessed with increasing efficiency and cutting costs. This is a timely theme nowadays when number crunchers are taking over the management of all sorts of businesses and services they know nothing about. The new director's income-generating policies are pretty funny, like deciding to rent out morgue drawers to funeral homes.

Under new management, alarming things start happening at the Institute. Bodies are kidnapped. Corpses are mutilated. A coroner is attacked. It falls to Pasha to figure out what's going on, since he can whoosh around wherever he pleases and spy on people unseen.

Meanwhile Pasha has fallen in love with the granddaughter of the new night watchman. To see the normally lecherous Pasha revel in "pure, radiant, incandescent love" is endlessly amusing. After all, it's not easy for an electromagnetic wave to court a flesh-and-blood woman in another dimension.

Pasha is full of surprises in this book. He's become very knowledgeable about autopsy procedures. And he's growing less selfish. He's beginning to see Martin as a friend, not just a useful connection to the realm of the living. Pasha might even be willing to put Martin's happiness before his own.

Pasha is the most original amateur detective I've encountered in recent memory. I just hope he won't mature too much. I'd hate to lose him to the White Light. I want more books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, Slow Start, But It Gets There., October 11, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
MORGUE DRAWER FOR RENT by Jutta Profijt gets off to a slow start with pages of backstory. Near page 150 the story picks up with some interesting twists. What seems obvious from the beginning isn't what you assumed in the first place.
Pasha is a fun protagonist who as a ghost can only communicate earthwise with Martin Gansewein. Martin is not mentally equipped to handle the advent of a ghost in his life, but relies on Pasha unique abilities to find out what is happening.
Good read, but remember it takes a while.
Nash Black, author of SANDPRINTS OF DEATH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third time remains a charm., June 8, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Once again, our dead but alive Pascha uses his skills in helping coroner Dr. Martin Gansewein solve some crimes. Of course, in doing so he also sticks his nose into Martin's private life. This is the third in the series and the storytelling still remains fresh.

This time around we have some bureaucratic bungling (imagine that) mixed in with a fluctuating body count. The book description above is woefully inadequate, but to tell much more would be to tell too much. If you like humorous mysteries, albeit with real crimes, blood and real life situations, then this series is for you. Start with Morgue Drawer Four; then move on to Morgue Drawer Next Door and on to this one. While waiting for the next in this series (at least I hope there will be more), check out Profijt's Dust Angel.

The translations by Erik Macki are very well done. He brings the English speakers into the story without writing the German setting out. It all flows seamlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be read without reading the first two., November 17, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
ARC/Mystery: This book is a German to English translation and book three of the morgue drawer series. After reading Dragon Tattoo, I've been interested in authors from other countries simply because I'm tired of the same ole plots. This is a ghost story, but it is different.
First, I had to look up the name Pascha because it sounds feminine, and in most cases it is. However this Pascha is a male ghost. The only person this ex-car thief can communicate with is the nerdish coroner, Martin. Unlike most talking ghost stories, Martin and Pascha can talk through thoughts. I liked that aspect because there was none of the supposed comedic "communication" that has been done so many times. The author does a good job of balancing what is said, and how, with who "knows" about Martin's spiritual friend.
In the middle of an asbestos move, Martin's boss is replaced by the bean counter that is nicknamed "Piggy Bank". The book is done in the first person of the snappy and rude Pascha. After body parts, and bodies, start to disappear, Martin starts to implode over the investigation.
The first half of the book is slowish at points. Over time, you understand what happened in the first two books. The second half is a lot better. It's a faster pace in which Pascha tries to solve the case.
One good point of reading book three without the other two books: I have a feeling Pascha was even more egotistical and obnoxious in before this book. Yes, his character grows in this one too. However, I can't imagine how Martin was before. He seems a little to static.
The translator did a good job and the writing is done well. I do think that Pascha's gender needed to be explained earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny supernatural mystery story, November 19, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is the third book in the series featuring the spirit Pasha who is a meta-physical resident of the Institute for Forensic Medicine in Cologne, Germany. He only deals with the coroner Martin Gänsewein, who is plainly horrified by Pasha's proclivities, profanities and his existence in general. The story in the previous two volumes showed how these two different souls came to know of each other and in this book we further see the exploration of their "friendship".

A fully hilarious take on bureaucracy as seen in the museum and the way different people deal with it. I'm very much impressed by this book to order the previous two volumes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better and better!, October 25, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ah! We are back with Pascha and Martin. How I really like these two character that Profijt has written. We have sarcastic, worldly, street-wise, crude, and hilarious Pascha- you know, the dead one. Then we have mousy, timid, private, and serenity-craving vegetarian Martin- the pathologist who can hear Pascha...the ONLY one who can hear him.

Pascha is still around, having not been able to "cross over" yet- and much as we would do, he fills his time with trying to stave off eternal boredom. So, he's written a novel, he's found a lady to fall in love with, and he's gotten himself (and Martin) all wrapped up on another mystery that just needs to be solved.

Profijt has done a great job of developing Pascha and Martin beyond their cardboard cutouts of the two previous books- more so with Pascha. While he has the potential to be a selfish jerk (and in fact, has been at times), he is a loveable selfish jerk that is learning to grow and become more than he was. The mystery is interesting, the characters are great, and the black humor is piled on at just the right amount. I really really like these books! Looking forward to number 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pascha is in love. It's too bad that Pascha is also dead., October 19, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There is a heat wave in Cologne, Germany that has eveybody on edge. People are actually dying because of the heat which increases the work load of everyone in the coroner's office who has to perform the autopsies. When a new administrator for the facility puts his cost-cutting measures in force the work place becomes more and more tense. But that is nothing compared to what happens when bodies start to disappear and the administrator decides to begin charging funeral homes rental fees to store the bodies they have prepared for funerals. All heck has broken loose in the Institute for Forensic Medicine. As if all that isn't enough, Pascha is in love. Of course Pascha is also dead.

I began reading this series with Morgue Drawer Four and continued with the second book, Morgue Drawer Next Door. These novels feature black humor and a decidedly non-politically correct character. Pascha is a dead car thief who has yet to "see the light", meaning the light that will supposedly allow his spirit to move on from his earth bound existance. Only one person can hear Pascha, but Dr Martin Gansewein is not at all happy about that situation. This author does a fine job of pointing up exactly what opposite personalities Martin and Pascha have and this leads to conflicts of interest and abilities on the part of each character. The mystery always plays a prominent part in the novel, but the author also advances the development of all the major characters as well. If you have any problems with gallows type humor, this series might not be right for you. The characters are often less than completely professional in their treatment of the deceased. In view of how the novel ended I can't help but wonder what will happen with this series. I certainly hope it will continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant story, October 17, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Jutta Profijt is a story teller with a wild and crazy imagination that lends itself to writing well. A ghost story is a ghost story, but you go into the read with certain expectations. This one--like the first two in the series--does not disappoint.

I loved the way Pasha finally found his author name, and you will too. But first, you must read about the characters and enjoy a crazy, funny plot. As usual, Martin the autopsy doctor,is fumbling through his pitiful life--according to the flamboyant Pasha, who is the ghost that happily haunts him. Constantly embarrassed by having to convey Pasha's thoughts to people who canno see or hear him, and trying to explain how he has this knowledge, Martin is viewed as a distracted fumbler by some folks. It's both amusing and poignant.

There are moments when you wish that Pasha could be alive again when he falls desperately in love, or gets lonely when Martin refuses to acknowledge him.

This is a two thumbs-up, five-star read.

Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The spirit is willing, October 16, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I really enjoy this "Morgue Drawer" series. The plots are interesting, the characters are relatively believable, and the humor is excellent! To those of you who have not read the first two books in this series, the plots basically follow the adventures of a "lost" soul (or spirit) who can't "go to the light" and is only able to communicate with one living person, a coroner in a German Forensic Institute. I know it sounds silly, but just accept the premise that the author presents and you'll have a great ride.

This latest work begins during a heat wave in Cologne, when folks are dropping dead in droves, and the Institute's work is becoming overwhelming. Adding to that is a temporary director who is only bottom line oriented, and who is also something of a martinet. Also, corpses seem to be disappearing from the morgue, and parts of bodies appear to have been removed, and the spirit and his reluctant living "friend" begin to look into the matter.

There are a lot of twists and turns in the plot, and of course the humor is almost non-stop. It's difficult to keep oneself from laughing out loud many times. I hope the author continues to grace us with more of her stories, and I will certainly look forward to reading them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.