Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.00
  • Save: $0.85 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Wear to the cover and some pages, no writing or highlighting inside!!! ITEM SHIPS FBA FROM AMAZON!!! BUY WITH CONFIDENCE!!! GET IT FAST!!!
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mormon Boy Paperback – April 18, 2012

ISBN-13: 978-1932418439 ISBN-10: 1932418431

Buy New
Price: $16.15
3 New from $15.67 10 Used from $3.99
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$16.15
$15.67 $3.99
Take%20an%20Extra%2030%25%20Off%20Any%20Book

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more.


Frequently Bought Together

Mormon Boy + The Long Walk: A Story of War and the Life That Follows
Price for both: $26.34

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 72 pages
  • Publisher: Elixir Press (April 18, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1932418431
  • ISBN-13: 978-1932418439
  • Product Dimensions: 0.2 x 7 x 9.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,062,941 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

A young man goes to a desert war, somehow returns with body and mind intact, and begins to write poems about his experiences.[...] Tucker embraces his subject but transcends it; a pleasure to read, these poems show poets how great poems are written.--David Kirby, National Book Award Nominee, author of "Talking About Movies With Jesus."

About the Author

Seth Brady Tucker holds degrees from San Francisco State University, Northern Arizona University, and the Florida State University. Seth has been a scholar at the Bread Loaf Writer's Conference, a collegiate basketball player, and a paratrooper with the U.S. Army's 82nd Airborne Division. He has been nominated for a number of awards, including the Pushcart Prize, and his poetry and fiction is forthcoming or has appeared in the Connecticut Review, Antioch Review, Indiana Review, Rosebud, North American Review, Witness, Rhino, Southern Poetry Review, Crab Orchard Review, among many other journals and anthologies. MORMON BOY is his first book.

More About the Author

Seth Brady Tucker is a poet and fiction writer originally from Lander, Wyoming. His first book won the 2011 Elixir Press Editor's Poetry Prize (Mormon Boy), and was a finalist for the 2013 Colorado Book Award. His second book won the Gival Press Poetry Award (We Deserve the Gods We Ask For) and was published in October, 2014. He teaches poetry and fiction workshops for graduate and undergraduate students alike at the Lighthouse Writers' Workshop in Denver, and is a professor at the Colorado School of Mines. Seth is also the founder and co-director of the Seaside Writers' Conference (which takes place annually in May), and volunteers his time teaching inmates in Colorado through the prison literacy program, Words Beyond Bars.

Recently, his fiction won the Bevel Summers Fiction Prize from Shenandoah, was a finalist for the Jeff Sharlet Award from the Iowa Review, and won the Flash Fiction Award from Literal Latte. Seth has served as a Carol Houck Smith Scholar in Poetry at Bread Loaf, and as the Tennessee Williams Scholar in Fiction at Sewanee. His poetry and fiction are forthcoming or have appeared in Pleiades, Shenandoah, Verse Daily, Iowa Review, Apalachee Review, Chautauqua, Asheville Poetry Review, Indiana Review, Witness, Connecticut Review, and Crab Orchard Review, among many other journals and anthologies. Seth has worked as a wine sommelier, a ranch hand, and as an editor for both large and small literary journals, and has degrees from San Francisco State University, Northern Arizona University, and from the top-ranked Creative Writing program at Florida State University (PhD English 2012). He was a paratrooper with the US Army's 82nd Airborne Division, and served in the Persian Gulf War in another lifetime.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By madkd on April 24, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you haven't read Mormon Boy yet, you should put it at the top of your list. It is so much fun to read this confluence of wit and wisdom. While on one hand the humorous interplay of words and imagery tickles the mind, on the other lies the shock of being led through a labyrinth of experiences one is unlikely to have. It simultaneously captures the nature of individualism AND a sense of "collective unconscious". I felt as though I were able to see aspects of so many things with which I was unfamiliar, but through a universal lens. I think that Mr. Tucker lets you into a world difficult to imagine outside of this opportunity to see inside it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By M. Bondurant on April 4, 2012
Format: Paperback
This book is study in poetic contrasts, at once raw, gritty, slapstick, hedonistic and scatological in the vein of Bukowski and Kerouac, as well as intellectual, spiritual, humanistic, and broadly expansive in the mode of Dylan Thomas or Larry Levis. There is a Whitman-esque quality to it, a sort of 21st century barbaric yawp. I especially enjoy the narrative component, as even as these poems are full of lyrical language, they most often tell a story. But perhaps the best quality is the honesty. So little pretense, cant, or posturing; Tucker puts his heart on the table and pins it there with a knife. An auspicious debut from a great young American poet.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jane Springer on March 31, 2012
Format: Paperback
I'm bemused with most "first books" as I usually assign three or four to my classes each year and find them slavishly derivative, stuffed to the gills with tweety birds, politically self-righteous or so clever they are trite. I am thrilled, then, to find this deeply weird and wild debut collection which (somehow) manages to marry raw war footage with Mormon-boy memories, imagination and raucous wit that may make you &*@#$ your pants. Buy it--if you suspect poetry is a festival for the dead and like surprises--"The Very Best Man in All The World," alone, is a mule-ride that is worth the cover price.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again