Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
I love this film.
I actually saw it by accident because the video carried on recording all night after I recorded something else and I thought I might as well watch it, after all, the title was pretty amusing. It turns out that so is the rest of the film.
I can't remember a single minute where I was bored, it had me laughing all the way through, especially the...
Published on December 30, 2002

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If Aliens Hunting Squirrels And Talking To Garbage Cans Is Something You'd Like, This Movie's For You
"Morons From Outer Space" is a great concept for a parody. Four daft aliens crash their "Podule" on Earth due to their own incompetence. Earthlings are prepared to accept their hyperintelligence as a given, but they are collectively as dumb as a box of hair. Most of the comedy is very broad with occasionally amusing bits of satire thrown in (particularly related to the...
Published on August 17, 2010 by Robert I. Hedges


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, December 30, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Morons from Outer Space (DVD)
I love this film.
I actually saw it by accident because the video carried on recording all night after I recorded something else and I thought I might as well watch it, after all, the title was pretty amusing. It turns out that so is the rest of the film.
I can't remember a single minute where I was bored, it had me laughing all the way through, especially the moron's reactions when the door falls off their spaceship. Desmond's line then had me giggling all night. It's hilarious when they 'play' chess too.
It's probably not the sort of thing that appeals to everyone, but if you like crazy comedies about beer guzzling morons from another planet then this is the film for you. It's definitely British comedy though, which is different to American comedy and I think funnier, but in a different way.
I'd recommend this to anyone who's looking for a good night in with a few mates and a lot of laughs, but it you're after something in any way serious and thought provoking, look somewhere else. On course if that's what your looking for you wouldn't even be reading up op a film with that title, I hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not for everyone, July 11, 2000
This review is from: Morons From Outer Space [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you liked 'transylvania 6-5000', and enjoy british comedy, i.e. bean, monty python, black adder, then this might be for you. I laughed throughout the movie, rent it and see what you think! i hope you enjoy it. lars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy with a message., May 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Morons From Outer Space [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I loved this movie... Laughed from beginning to end.... Then started thinking about the real message... If there are alien civilizations in the galaxie and they are so advanced that space travel is part of daily life then, there just has to be be alien morons who drive around bumping into things(the planet earth in this case). So next time an "advanced alien civilization" tries to contact us it may just be some morons on vacation.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly and Stupid - And that's Just Great!, January 2, 2010
By 
Scott FS (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Morons from Outer Space (DVD)
'Morons from Outer Space' is a dumb, stupid, silly movie. It's also fraught with laughs. It's not a laugh a minute, but it's got some very, very funny scenes, including a take-off of 'Close Encounters of the Third Kind' and 'One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest.'

Four aliens vacationing in outer space in what looks like a third-rate motorhome get bored and decide to take a side trip to Earth. Three land in England, and one lands in Arizona. As the first aliens to visit the Earth, they are hailed as the super-intelligent beings they must be to travel the galaxy. After a few minutes, though, it dawns on Earth's representatives that the aliens are complete and utter idiots. For example, when asked what planet the visitors are from, one of the aliens (Julian) says he just can't remember. However, it's blue-y and green-y and has some wispy clouds in the sky. Turns out it does have a name, very appropriate.

The aliens soon wear out their welcome and become more of a side-show than objects of admiration. One starts hawking beer while the three in England are on live television. The movie goes downhill as they are promoted as rock stars in the 'Kiss' mode.

It's a very British comedy, so if you like Monty Python and Death at a Funeral, you'll like this one. Recommended for those with a silly sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest movies- ever!, April 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Morons From Outer Space [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Bizarre, highly entertaining, always hilarious humor in this British comedy, very much a cross between Airplane and Monty Python type humor. Funny all the way to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, July 5, 2011
By 
This review is from: Morons from Outer Space (DVD)
Very funny film, kind of reminded me of Python. Check it out. Its worth a lot more than 55 cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully silly, January 2, 2010
By 
This review is from: Morons from Outer Space (DVD)
Yes, it's British comedy- but not in the Monty Python vein. Mel Smith and Griff Rhys Jones had a very fruitful partnership for many years writing and performing in a series of "Smith and Jones" television shows, in which they presented exceedingly silly parodies in a completely deadpan manner, and in Morons from Outer Space they have succeeded admirably.

The plot is simple: Four aliens- one of them of average intelligence (by Earth standards) and the other three about as smart as a rock- are out for a joyride when the intelligent one (Smith) gets separated from the ship, and the other three crash it into the Earth. What follows is a broad satire of all the traditional sci-fi conventions along with sly shots at ET, Star Wars, Close Encounters, and no doubt other films as well. The aliens are investigated by scientists, hunted by the military, until finally they find their place as... well, I won't spoil it for you.

I'd never heard of this film until I discovered it playing on a local TV station late one night. I didn't expect much, as sketch comedy rarely translates into feature length films, but Smith and Jones' did a fine job with creating a solid, ridiculous plot that carries the viewer along to the end with plenty of smiles and a few laugh out loud moments as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was that Morons or Macaroons?, May 27, 2001
This review is from: Morons From Outer Space [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Very original and a "reel" pleasant surprise. Most movies of this type are awful in poor taste and boring but this one rates right up there with the "Green Slime" and "The Monster that Challenged the World," as camp "B" movie hits go. Imagine what they might do in a sequel---perhaps "Macaroons From Outer Space"?

-----* CAST -----*

Mel Smith - Bernard
Griff Rhys Jones - Graham Sweetley
Paul Bown - Julian Tope
Joanne Pearce - Sandra Brock
Jimmy Nail - Desmond Brock
Dinsdale Landen - Comdr. Matteson
James B. Sikking - Col. Laribee
David Haig - Palatial House Flunkey

-----* CAST -----*

Mel Smith - Bernard
Griff Rhys Jones - Graham Sweetley
Paul Bown - Julian Tope
Joanne Pearce - Sandra Brock
Jimmy Nail - Desmond Brock
Dinsdale Landen - Comdr. Matteson
James B. Sikking - Col. Laribee
David Haig - Palatial House Flunkey

HOW DOES THIS FILM TURN OUT TO BE SOMEWHAT WORTHWHILE?

Basically, it's Mike Hodges, Director, who also brought "Flash Gordon" and "The Terminal Man" to the big screen. Hodges' style permeates this entire film, and makes it into a sort of epic comic book fantasy, harmless-nightmare, sort of surreal something. Basically a grand much-ado-about-nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silly, silly fun!, April 26, 2008
This review is from: Morons from Outer Space (DVD)
This is not a high-brow comedy, but neither is it the typical low-brow stuff being produced today that focuses on bodily functions and groin punches. This is British comedy, which means that it actually has some wit, in between the sight gags. If the comedy of Peter Sellers, the absurdity of Monty Python, and the sheer outlandishness of the Rocky Horror Picture Show appeal at all to you, then this movie will tickle at least one funny bone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If Aliens Hunting Squirrels And Talking To Garbage Cans Is Something You'd Like, This Movie's For You, August 17, 2010
This review is from: Morons from Outer Space (DVD)
"Morons From Outer Space" is a great concept for a parody. Four daft aliens crash their "Podule" on Earth due to their own incompetence. Earthlings are prepared to accept their hyperintelligence as a given, but they are collectively as dumb as a box of hair. Most of the comedy is very broad with occasionally amusing bits of satire thrown in (particularly related to the Cold War.) For instance, when the alcohol-guzzling space loons crash their ship in England, they do so on the M1 motorway, causing a substantial traffic snarl. What is the punch line to the scene? After being nearly run down by the Podule, one motorist says to another "I think he was Belgian." Hilarious, no?

The aliens are split into a group of three, Julian Tope (Paul Bown,) Sandra Brock (Joanne Pearce,) and Desmond Brock (Jimmy Nail) who are staggeringly imbecilic. The humor associated them was so sub-Benny Hill I could almost not take it (don't miss the hilarity of the exploding cooker scene.) The remaining moron in question, Bernard (Mel Smith,) is actually only slightly mentally-deficient, but spends the bulk of the film in a mental hospital (not funny,) talking to garbage cans (somewhat funny the first couple of times, not so funny thereafter,) and trying to get his former friends to acknowledge him (oh, the pathos.) Obviously there's a lesson in there about the meaning of true friendship, but it's pointless in a farce of this nature. Throughout this movie I couldn't think of Mel Smith as anything other than an actor trying to do his best John Candy impression in a film that would have actually been suitable to Candy's choice of roles. I think Smith and Griff Rhys Jones who plays Graham Sweetley can be quite talented writers and performers (much better than John Candy,) but their efforts here come up way short.

There were a few touches in the writing that were quirky and funny (e.g. "When you're in the tub and a man-eating spider crawls out of the faucet, you don't ask him to pass you the soap.") There were even a few funny satirical concepts, as when Bernard defeated the asylum employees who tormented him with an "Iron Maiden" album by wearing earplugs. Sadly though, for each amusing moment there are a hundredfold more like the execrable worst ping pong lesson ever.

There are a few nuggets of humor in here, but while I love British cinema and television, and I love satire and comedies, this is less playful than it is painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Morons From Outer Space [VHS]
Morons From Outer Space [VHS] by Mike Hodges (VHS Tape - 1998)
$14.95 $3.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.