Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (98)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROUND TWO.....FIGHT!
Mortal Kombat Annihilation is a fun ride. Many critics out there say this movie blows, which isn't true. People who havent played any of the games are confused at the story line and sorts. Sure the voice actin' could use a little work but who cares, the action is where its all about in kung fu flicks. I enjoyed both the 1st and 2nd film, there are tons of charaters...
Published on October 12, 2004 by Macen61

versus
65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh, gimme a minute, this MK fan will tell you how bad it is.
You know, I really liked the original Mortal Kombat. Sure they ripped off the premise from another movie, but at least it was good (Enter the Dragon). I loved the games until the 4th one and was widely known as being one of its best and most devoted followers. So maybe all this is why my then-girlfriend's idiot stoner brother told me that he heard this movie was...
Published on March 29, 2005 by Miketheratguy


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh, gimme a minute, this MK fan will tell you how bad it is., March 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
You know, I really liked the original Mortal Kombat. Sure they ripped off the premise from another movie, but at least it was good (Enter the Dragon). I loved the games until the 4th one and was widely known as being one of its best and most devoted followers. So maybe all this is why my then-girlfriend's idiot stoner brother told me that he heard this movie was incredible, and I excitedly went to see it.

I'm a patient guy, and I have almost never felt the urge to walk out of a movie due to boredom (Tank Girl is the only other one I recall). But MKA here is a joke. If you really feel the need to see this movie and be surprised, then be forewarned because there are spoilers ahead.

Here's one right off the bat. MKA isn't a sequel proper to the original Mortal Kombat. The original MK was, reasonably, based on the first game. A couple future characters made cameos, but that's it. So it stands to also reason that MKA would be about the second game, the one most fans widely regard to be the best. But whereas the MK film was made at the time that part 2 was yielding to part 3, a lot changed in the extra couple years it took for this film sequel. As MK the movie was leaving theaters, MK3 the game was getting kind of a lukewarm reception, and people got sicker and sicker of it by the time MK4 came out. By now the games were in 3d and the storyline had gone from basic Enter the Dragon tournaments to all out apocalyptic robot wars and sorcerors controlling the fates of a bunch of new, generic characters. Until its decent reinventing in 2002, the MK games had hit a rough and oversaturated spot and would take 5 years to bounce back.

So here in this worst time comes MKA, which skips the best chapter of the games entirely and jumps in at sort of a story junction between the 3rd and 4th games, the worst. So we have characters from all 4 games running around and interacting, which is goofy as it is, and things get worse when sense is tried to be made of it. For example, (spoiler), in maybe the first 2 minutes Johnny Cage, a main character and semi-hero of the first movie, is summarily and unceremoniously killed off. My guess for this is because he wasn't in the 3rd game.

Soon after (more spoilers. In fact, there will be several so if you continue, do at the risk of ruining the wonderful cinematic experience that is MKA), robots from game 3 come in, negating the fact that their sole purpose in the games was to hunt Sub Zero, a character killed in the first movie. Leading the attacks by these fiends and others is Shao Kahn, who in the first movie appeared as a giant demonic face in the sky and here appears as....a masculine human being.

Making things more complicated is that elder God Raiden, played by Christopher Lambert in the original, is here played by someone else and seems to not want to fight at all, as the character has gone from wizardly power god to short haired, weasely Power Rangers nerd, giving up his immortality in the process and teaching our heroes a thing or two about friendship and courage. Huh?

Sticking things out, unfortunately for them, are Robin Shou and Talisia Soto, who play central characters Liu Kang and Kitana and who've returned from the original film. This time, neither of them are allowed to do anything much more than look shocked at the stupid story developments, and Liu Kang engages in a few fights that capture none of the magic or uniqueness of the original film. And in fact this goes for any fight in this film that I care to remember. In the original, the fights were well choreographed and showcased a good selection of acrobatic and martial arts skill. Action was conveyed through close combat, good angles, and lengthy tradeoffs. And at the very least, there was a genuine moment or two where one might say "wow, that was a cool move!". This time, a lot of the action is illusional, with the camera making quick cuts and sudden moves to sort of convey that stuff is going on. There's nary an actual hand-to hand combat scene that lasts more than 30 seconds, and when you see what else was thrown in instead, you'll want to kill someone yourself.

For example, remember the character Baraka, with his beast face and bladed arms? He's here, and in fact is joined by several identical others, who assault Liu Kang with their reflective cardboard blades in a high-flying trapeze act straight out of the circus. And what about Sheeva, 4-armed character that should have been the answer to decently done Goro, 4-armed creature of the original film? Well, whereas he was conveyed through puppeteering and animatronics, here Sheeva is played by a tall woman in generic spandex who tries to look menacing and does a couple unthreatening hops with her cheesy extra special effect arms. Jax is in here and gets a lot of screen time with his new mechanical arms, which he later just takes off and throws away once Raiden teaches him that his true power is believing in himself. No, I'm serious.

The dialogue is classic as well. Sub Zero has a three minute cameo when he interrupts Scorpion's one-minute one. He does this by literally flying through the air, absolutely still in a ballerina pose, as he glides onscreen shooting an ice blast at his adversary (I'm serious- stand an action figure on one foot, lean him forward, then "fly" him through the air-that's what actually happens). Sub has the golden line of something like "It's a trap- Shao Kahn wants you to go to him. (dramatic pause)...Don't." And when Mileena double-crosses our heroes by being clearly evil the whole time, obtuse Liu Kang asks how she was able to accomplish such a feat. Her deep and shocking explanation is a wicked laugh followed by "It was so easy". Truly engaging stuff.

Things (don't) pick up later on, when Liu Kang randomly encounters Native American character Nightwolf, who explains that Liu must harness his "animality" to succeed. Anyone familiar with the MK universe knows that the "animality" was a ridiculous player rumor which supposed that the MK games contained a method of killing one's opponent by turning into an animal and committing not a fatality but an "animality". This dumb rumor was added to the 3rd game as fan service, and apparently delighted the producers of this film enough that it was actually explained as a real, feasible occurence. "Feel your animality", N.Wolf says to Liu, urging him to harness the beast within. Mr. Wolf then briefly shows Liu how to do it, complete with wobbly wolf mask, and then asks, "pretty cool, huh?"

We who haven't left the room yet are saying "no", but oh boy do we still get a fun surprise. At the end of the film, Liu Kang fights with big masculine guy (er, Shao Kahn) after Kahn has dismissed his..uh, "brother" Raiden. Against Liu, instead of actual wanted fisticuffs, we get to see the two of them feel their animality and turn into giant, god awful stupid computer-generated beasts who do combat with each other. No, I mean it. They turn into giant computer animated beasts. And we're not talking about Gollum of the Lord of the Rings here- I mean big, shiny, plasticy-looking "we know we want to make big magical creatures but don't yet have the technology to do anything but make them eye-strainingly obvious" effects. Liu Kang could reasonably have turned into a cool chinese dragon or something, but instead winds up being this big-nosed, cross eyed, dopey King Arthur thing. Shao Kahn turns into something out of greek mythology and the two have it out. Then at the last minute Shao Kahn's sorceror dad decides he's gone too far, disgraced the family name by becoming a crappy visual effect, and makes him disappear or something. Then everyone hugs, and more or less runs far, far away.

I hope that this has been an accurate rendering of what my feelings are for this film. If you want an actual review without the sarcasm, just look at it this way: It is an insult to the MK franchise and its fans, it fails as a follow-up to the fun original MK film, it fails TERRIBLY as a martial arts film, and in general it just is a dumb waste of time, an arbitrary, thrown-together cash-in sequel. Do yourself a favor and just watch the original, and if you still crave more, go play the games. And if you do insist on seeing this movie, then at the very least inject some fun into it like trying to figure out where those Baraka masks were purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE!, January 22, 2002
By 
Patrick (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
This has got to be one of the worst movies ever made. I was a BIG fan of Mortal Kombat the game. I was an even bigger fan after I saw Mortal Kombat the movie! I was SO excited when I heard they were making this movie. But after I saw it I didn't care if I ever played the game ever again. The first movie was perfect. I don't know what they were thinking with this movie. At one point a mountain is supposed to blow up. It is SO obvious that it is just a small mound of dirt they built up and then blew up. Every single special effect used is horrible. To top that off is the horrible actors brought in. The first Rayden was perfect. This new Rayden is a joke. He even tells jokes. He tells one stupid joke after another. And then you have Jax. He's pretty good when he has his metal arms. But in the end they are ripped off. You would think that would be cool except his real arms are underneath! They weren't robot arms at all! Just metal gloves! Then you have Shao Kahn. Possibly the WORST part of the movie. He's just some white guy. There's nothing scary about him. He's not huge and he's not scary. He's just a normal white guy. He looks NOTHING like he did in the first Mortal Kombat movie. This movie was a HUGE mistake. It hurt Midway badly. I heard they were making yet another Mortal Kombat movie. I'll go see it if it doesn't look like the junk this movie turned out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie does kill brain cells., February 26, 2000
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It really does. You know, I noticed a small thing: the higher the rating given to this film - the more typos you will find in the review. A two-star will have a few small ones here and there, but nothing beyond "i before e" or interchangeable suffices. A three-star may miss some minor nouns and/or articles. I noticed a four-star state that "it freaked my out". A five-star reviewer stated "goo" in the review field - nothing more, just those three letters. How's that for brain damage.
Now, to the actual film. It was horrid. Take it away and burn it. Mere contemplation of handling that vile tape gives me skin rash. You know something else? I don't remember the plot. I watched the thing three days ago. <hint, hint>
How many characters does it take to make a film horrible. By MKA's count, a LOT. This is basically what the movie does - getting out as many characters as possible. It doesn't matter that none of them ever get to say much, it does not matter that they have no personalities, just make them come out. I don't care how: make them jump out of walls, fall from ceilings, crawl out of dreams.
I just never thought that Final Showdowns in MK heaven were turn-based. Turn-base makes them look like they are just exchanging atacks. It should have never been made into a turn-based combat... <whisper, whisper> IT WASN'T!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Flawless victory." Yeah, right., July 21, 2001
By 
Jason Montgomery "Journ" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
This movie has more plot holes than Swiss cheese. Where did those velosospheres come from? Jax was just a brief cameo in the first movie, so why did he get those cybernetic arms in the meantime? Sub-Zero had a brother, and why did he dissapear right after his fight with Scorpion? Why did Jade double-cross the group? And animalities? Give me a break. As someone who knows a smattering of the Mortal Kombat mythology (thanks to a dangerously in-depth article posted at GameSpot) this movie was just plain awful. Bad acting, cheesy effects, deplorable writing, and plot holes big enough to throw Jade's spear through without hitting the sides. Avoid this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films ever!, July 9, 2005
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
New Line can either be really dynamic when making exciting B-movies or extremely stupid when making sequels to success. Take a look at Son of the Mask or Blade III for examples of poor sequels. Mortal Kombat Annihilation is iron-clad proof-positive that video games with NEVER, EVER, EVER make good movies. I don't understand why they keep trying.

The first Mortal Kombat movie was FAR from brilliance. But it still had great energy, a (rather dumb) sense of humor and a really cool score by George S. Clinton crammed full of techno and trance tunes. And the fight scenes, while not graphic or breathtaking, were pure eye-candy.

This sequel is cheaper, has a different cast of no-name actors, has poor, badly shot, cut and lit fight scenes, really shoddy sets and rubbish effects. The dialogue is gut-churningly horrible and the story will make you laugh out loud with it's stupidness. Seriously, Mortal Kombat Annihilation is a definite contender for Mystery Science Theatre 3000.

Absolute horses balls from beginning to end. Everyone involved in making this film should be blacklisted and never allowed to work in Hollywood again.

The DVD is in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen with Dolby 5.1 sound. The original release was in a snapper but most of them have been replaced with keepcases now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bumbling Sequel to a Surprisingly Successful Game Adaptation, March 12, 2003
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
Most video game adaptations to the big screen leave much to be desired. The original Mortal Kombat film turned out to be a pleasant surprise and went on to great commercial success, with hordes of theater goers chanting, "Fatality!" and "Finish him!" Yet the producers of this sequel apparently ignored the reasons for the first film's success in crafting this bumbling follow-up film.
What's wrong? Chiefly that the film is entirely targeted at an audience of less than nine years of age. One reason the first film brought in so much money was that it became a cult success amongst high school and college students who had played the games, yet MK: Annihilation simply disregards that audience. Another problem is that the film tries to do too much by trying to show or at least mention every single character from the game, which ends up leaving many plot threads dangling (what ever happened to the good Sub-Zero, who promises his aide to the heroes only to never be seen again?)
The film picks up right where the last one left off, but immediately Johnny Cage is killed (OK, it happened in the game, too), Raiden is stripped of his immortal powers, and the Earth is being overrun by the invading hordes of bad guys (most of the latter occurs off-screen). Characters seem to come and go as the heroes fight to save the Earth, many seemingly inserted only because they appear in the game and only bloating the cast with no real impact on the plotline.
The film concludes with some seriously poor claymation of "animalities," a concept plucked from the game where the fighters become their symbollic animal. Finally the film draws to a conclusion!
There are many things the producers could have done to improve the film, from diverging slightly from the game's storyline while keeping the concepts ("Fatality!", etc.) intact to examining the interesting plots of the MK television series. In many ways the movie is just like a video game, only you as the viewer don't get to control one of the characters.
That aside, the DVD does include some nice features such as the "skip to a battle" navigation, and the movie does give a lot of good martial arts action. Maybe you'll enjoy it more than I or any of my friends did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok sequel, January 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
I had first seen this movie when it was in theaters in 1997. I was 9 years old I thought this was the best movie ever. I even thought it was so much better then the first Mortal Kombat, which is a really awesome movie and one of the greatest video game adaptions ever made. But now I have a better understanding of movies and realize this movie isn't that great, but it isn't crap, it's just plain ok. But if I had directed this movie, I could tink of so many other ways to make this a great movie, it probobly wouldn't be as good as the first, bit t wuld still be good. Enough about that, here is the lot.
We pick up right where the first one left off. Liu had defeated Shang Tsung, and had won the the tournament. The rules were that the portals from Outworld were to close for atleat until another generation, leaving a brief period of peace on Earth. But someone from outworld has a different point of view. That person is Shao Khan, the emperor of outworld, along w/ some of his generals such as Motaro, Shiva, Sindel, Ermac, and Rain. The tournament is over, now a war has begun. He has broken the sacred rules and plans to have outworld and the earth merge into one realm. This will kill all mankind and this also affects Rayden because in outworld he has no powers, so as the realms merge, he slowly loses his powers. Rayden and others; Lui Kang, Sonya, and Kitana must stop this before the two realms have merged into on. In order to do so, they must enlist help of other warriors from earth. Such as Jax and Nitecrawler. And along their journey, they will be hunted by Shoa Khan's extermination squads such as Smoke (I thought he was a good guy), Scorpion, Cyrax, Mileena, and scorpion. And along the way, they are met by Sub-Zero (not the same one from the first movie) and are joined by Jade (who is much hotter then I thought she was), but what they don't know is that jade is will later turn against them. While the humans go on their journey, Rayden goes on a quest to ask the elder gods why they allowed this to happen. They have six days till the realms are fully merged, if they haven't stopped Shao Khan by the 6th day, then all hope is lost.
That is basically the plot of the movie, now its time to state why this movie isn't that great. The fight scenes are, although lots of them are too short, but they're still fun to watch. One big reason is the fact that alot of characters are barely on the screen. Sub zero, smoke, cyrax, and Scorpion were only in the movie for like 2 minutes, 3 minutes at most. And not only that, they have very stupid dialogues. Plus I didn't like the fact they killed Johhny Cage in the beggining. One very big reason are the extremely cheezy special effects. There are so many computer generated images in the movie. You cn clearly tell so much of it is fake. Its so cheezy, its practically made for little kids. Anyway, that is basically it. If you do see this movie, then I suggest you rent it first. It's not that bad, but its not worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROUND TWO.....FIGHT!, October 12, 2004
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
Mortal Kombat Annihilation is a fun ride. Many critics out there say this movie blows, which isn't true. People who havent played any of the games are confused at the story line and sorts. Sure the voice actin' could use a little work but who cares, the action is where its all about in kung fu flicks. I enjoyed both the 1st and 2nd film, there are tons of charaters from the games included in this movie, should please alot of the many gamers out there looking for there favorite charater appreances. There is also rumors of the next MK film in the works. I cant wait!

Out-standing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Grrls Step Up, July 14, 2004
By 
Stanley L. Walker (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
Well, since they mucked up the plot from the game in the first MK, I was not surprised that this one, plotwise, is confusing. They tried to stuff 3 & 4 into one movie (the previous one squishes 1 & 2 of the games together).
What's GREAT:
A Sonya that can physically do the part. While Brigette Wilson is hot hot HOT, she was not physically suitable for the physically demanding part of Sonya Blade. I appreciate the heart and toughness she exuded though--and her hard work. But thank the Gods for Sandra Hess. No more "falling down not from being hit but from kicking your opponent" moments. And no more rigged fights (how insulting was that bit?). Sonya Blade got off in this movie and it was convincing (as convincing as these things go anyway). And she actually does Sonya's trademark move!
Kitana: You know, she only gets one really good fight and it's great! (The very last one wasn't so great) Best part--the nod to Bruce Lee and her trademark FAN BLADES!
Mileena: The fight with fan fave Mileena is probably the most brutal HTH I've seen in American films. It was fantastic and she does all of her signature moves (save for the Sai Toss--no chi stuff is in these movies). It's worth renting just for this fight.
The fights are amazing (save for Liu vs Baraka) and the music is great! There are nods to the fans of the arcade series all around.
BAD:
When you've squished the plots of 4 games into two movies, there's bound to be problems. And when the last two chapters have waaaaaaaaay more characters and twists than the first two but the lengths are about the same, well, you get a jarbled mess.
This movie really should have picked one thread to follow and just had a tournament going on in the backdrop. And rather than spending money (and screen time) on the CGI for the Animalities it would have been much better to use that precious time fleshing out some of the 50,000 characters used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied with my purchase., April 28, 2011
By 
Rosabel Tamez (BENAVIDES, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Annihilation (DVD)
Received timely, has a few minor scratches that don't affect performance, working great. Good deal for the money. Buying at Amazon.com is sooo good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mortal Kombat: Annihilation [Blu-ray]
$14.97 $7.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.