Digital List Price: $0.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $10.99 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Mortal Obligation (The Dark Betrayal Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 151 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 283 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Nichole Chase is a daydreamer. No, really, just ask any of the math teachers that had the misfortune of seeing her name appear on their class schedule. For years she has had story lines and characters begging for attention, but she resolutely pushed them aside to focus on more normal (read, boring) jobs. Well, no longer! She is currently heeding the voices in her head and frantically writing their stories. Nichole resides in South Georgia with her husband, energetic toddler, three dogs, and two cats. When not devouring novels by the dozens, you may find her writing, painting, crafting, or chasing her daughter around the house while making monster noises.

Product Details

  • File Size: 730 KB
  • Print Length: 283 pages
  • Publication Date: July 29, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005F9YGN8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,639 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Nichole Chase is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author.

Her books include:
Suddenly Royal
Recklessly Royal
Reluctantly Royal
The Accidental Assassin
The Dark Betrayal Trilogy
Flukes
On Christmas Hill
Bedmates: An American Royalty Novel

If you would like to learn more about Nichole and her projects, check out her website and the following social networks.

Represented by Rebecca Friedman of the Rebecca Friedman Agency.

www.nicholechase.com
http://www.facebook.com/author.nicholechase
Twitter: @NicholeChase

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Okay, I have to say this from the outset - it's kind of like, the elephant in the room. There has been an explosion of paranormal fiction in the young adult market to the point where, for me, it's almost too much. That said, I am still a huge sucker for the genre, in part because of my total Buffy fandom which still resonates from years ago (YES I ADMIT IT - I AM A BUFFY FANBOY) but also because, every now and then, a book will come along that offers something completely fresh and engaging. It may not be totally obvious what that 'something' is.

And this is indeed the case with author Nichole Chase's debut "Mortal Obligation". This first book in the Dark Betrayal triology (as evidenced by the title) is a considerable achievement for Nichole because she has in a number of subtle ways, introduced a resounding freshness and character to the genre which I think has been lacking in a lot of other titles of late.

Nichole Chase introduces us to Ree McKenna, a earnest and popular 17 year old at a cross road that is familiar to many of us. Approaching the end of high school she is looking towards a college future and has a creative mind and heart that will see her go far. Already, she has an artistic flair that befits someone much older and her job in an antiques shop no doubt fuels her love for all things arty. Unlike a lot of protagonists, Ree is less a loner and engages well within her peer group. She's popular and independent yet she is imbued with just the right amount of vulnerability that lends weight to the romantic threads of the story. In my mind Ree is the whole package, a gutsy young woman who is worldly and wise.

And because of the strength of Nichole's protagonist, Mortal Obligation's plot moves crackingly along.
Read more ›
3 Comments 50 of 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Mortal Obligation is by far one of the best YA books i've read, ever! I loved all of the characters, the flirty moments, the action, and the humor. While other teenagers are worrying about mundane problems, Ree is tasked with the job of having to save the world from the Dark Ones, which are bad vampires who want to enslave the humans. I was so intertwined, I had to keep flipping the page to find out what happened. I love the chemistry between Ree, Roland, and Paden and the twist at the end of the story. I can't wait for the next installment in this series!! Highly recommended!
Comment 15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
From the moment I picked this book up I was enthralled. I stayed up far too late only to wake up and begin reading again. If I were forced to think of something negative to say it would be that the characters never listened to me no matter how loud I shouted or that it ended. It is evident that Nichole Chase is a master storyteller and I look forward to her future endeavors, not to mention the rest of Ree's story. If you like supernatural beings, mythology, excitement, and romance, you will love Mortal Obligation!
2 Comments 21 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Ruth on February 17, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was only OK for me. It started off kinda like I might have missed a couple of chapters.(I didn't) And when everything started happening everyone seems to just accept it as if it was the norm and they already knew about the Dark Ones and Alastrania etc.(they didn't)
What pulls it up to 3 stars is it definitely picks up about half way through and I got a lot more invested in the characters. I'll keep an eye out for the sequel and see what happens but I won't be waiting with baited breath.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Mortal Obligation (The Dark Betrayal Trilogy)
This book was ok. As an adult I have read a lot of good YA novels but this one seemed to be for a very young audience. It was a slow moving story with a lot of boring details about training. The love triangle was more annoying than intriguing. I don't really care who she ends up with. The thing about a lot of teen heroines is that all hell is breaking loose and their concern is does he like me as much as I like him. Then they have a tantrum about it. I don't plan on buying the sequel.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
God must've realized how crappy my day was yesterday because he finally gifted me enough time to sit down and finish Nichole Chase's Mortal Obligation. This book was truly wonderful. The cast is big, but they are fleshed out and well written.

I love that Ree isn't your average high school girl. She's sort of awkward and shy. Mrs. Chase does this character a great honor by not allowing her personality quirks to disappear the moment she discovers she's "special."

Paden is a moral guy that is kind, warm, caring and good natured. His relationship with Ree is sweet. You feel for him through out the entire book, but you also empathize with Ree's frustration. Their relationship is real, honest and builds at exactly the right pace.

Roland. Enough said. He manages to steal every scene whether by accident or intention, and his presence in this book, in Ree's life, is undeniable. I am uber impressed at how ingrained his personality becamse with such an airy backstory. That is NOT a criticism on Mrs. Chase. In fact, quite the opposite. The way Roland is presented works for him. It woks so well that I'm totally Team Roland forever.

Bryce was another character that stuck out for me. I don't know. Maybe I'm a head case here, but he stole the show in the car scene. Don't get me wrong. Everybody else was present and accounted for, but until Roland was introduced I kind thought...huh...Bryce is a strong, bad ass character. He could be a second love interest for Ree. I know he had a girlfriend already and blah, blah, blah, (lol) but when a character has such overwhelming stage presence the reader automatically wonders hmm? What bigger role might he/she play? Good job, Mrs. Chase. Very good job.

Some other noteworthy events in this novel: the twist.
Read more ›
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
I am ready for the second book.
Read the second book!! Loved it!! Can't wait until the next one comes out!!!!
Dec 29, 2011 by Drerae |  See all 3 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions