Mortified: Love Is a Battlefield and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mortified: Love Is a Battlefield Paperback – Bargain Price, January 8, 2008


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, Bargain Price, January 8, 2008
$14.13 $2.59

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details


Special Offers and Product Promotions


NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Simon Spotlight Entertainment; First Edition first Printing edition (January 8, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 1416954791
  • ASIN: B0024FAP22
  • Product Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,025,411 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"If Schadenfreude was an Olympic sport, then this book would be its illegal performance-enhancing drug. The baring of souls is seldom this funny or touching. David Nadelberg is the Pied Piper of pre-adult pain." -- Paul Feig, creator of Freaks and Geeks and author of Superstud and Kick Me

"In a world where people are obsessed with Google and MySpace, you'd think a book exposing the private love letters and diary entries of strangers would be anticlimactic, but David Nadelberg has compiled the best and, well, most mortifying into a riveting book." -- Jane

About the Author

Mortified is the creation of David Nadelberg--a writer/producer/angstologist living in Los Angeles, the official town of public humiliation. Since 2002, he has sifted through hundreds of journals belonging to strangers and edited them into comedic pieces. He has written and produced numerous TV pilots for places UPN, VH1 and Comedy Central that were so amazing, they never even aired. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

More About the Author

I was born. Then I got older.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 14 customer reviews
A great collection of essays.
Megan Schulte
"Mortified 2---Love is a Battlefield" picks right up where we left off in the first book ("Mortified").
McGuffy Ann Morris
Essential reading for the teenage love hero in all of us...
Timothy R. Harris

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By M. Mistretta on March 26, 2008
Format: Paperback
I enjoyed reading "Love is a Battlefield," but it lacked a certain something compared to the first Mortified volume. With one or two exceptions, the majority of the pieces in the second collection are a bit flat and, well, un-mortifying. This collection has the distinct feel of being a selection of Nadelberg's bestest friends' journals, rather than the no-holds-barred, all-comers-considered, hilariously embarrassing content found in the first book. Reading it, I got the feeling that most of the contributors must know Nadelberg in some way, and that this book was more of a clique effort, rife with inside jokes that are funnier to the friends who know them, than a true dissection of the best teen journaling to be found, appealing to all readers.

Many of the journal entries barely stuck to the theme of teen love. Many more were just...diaries. There was nothing particularly mortifying within them, unless it was rather blase' descriptions of Bon Jovi t-shirts. I found myself less than impressed with several of the contributions.

I still enjoyed this one, but I doubt I'll re-read it as I do the original volume. And I certainly never laughed out loud reading this one, and never had to read just one more entry to my husband. This volume lacks much of the blushing shame of its predecessor, but is still worth reading once.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By McGuffy Ann Morris on February 9, 2008
Format: Paperback
"Mortified 2---Love is a Battlefield" picks right up where we left off in the first book ("Mortified"). Baby Boomers will mostly identify as these stories are in the time frame of their youth. However, I think we all can relate to the embarrassment and intensity of our first love & crushes.
David Nadelberg has a knack for taking us back there and making us remember how it was---the good, the bad, and yes, even the ugly. Even now, as it was then, it is bittersweet. I look forward to more from David Nadelberg.I like his style and his tenacity, taking us back where we were so vulnerable yet so sure---our youth.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Jeanne L. Thompson on March 29, 2008
Format: Paperback
...barefoot of course. And memory lane is a gravel road. But then, there's that incredibly satisfying feeling of standing in the grass looking back on your stroll down memory lane, how painful it was and how good it feels now not to still be walking down it.

Buy this book. Trust me. You will be entertained, embarrassed and want to contact that love of your life from 7th grade.

Well, not that last part probably, but definitely the first two.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By The Punch of Hurtness on March 28, 2008
Format: Paperback
and it's nice to know we all have our "war stories".
Mortified: L.I.A.B has all the cringe worthy, lovesick, smack your head against your forehead cause you can't believe you said that moments you thought you had conquered with age, therapy, and your 10 year high school reunion.
Just be warned: finishing Mortified: L.I.A.B will cause you to book a trip home to try and unearth all those unsent love letters you hope your mom didn't find in that secret hiding spot in your room and then spend the afternoon crafting a mixtape for your current crush.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Annie G. on March 28, 2008
Format: Paperback
Okay, so I've devoured the first and second editions of the Mortified series and am ready to move on to the next. I hope Dave Nadelburg reads this and gets the hint. (Nudge-nudge, elbow-elbow.) Both books are a delicious romp through the pages of other people's almost life ending pubescent emergencies, but Love is a Battlefield's honing in on the sweet excruciations of teen romance is enough to make me think I didn't have it so bad. (Or so hilarious.) Can....'t......waai....t...any......lon....ger..for...ne..xt......one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By ghost.frog on March 28, 2008
Format: Paperback
Mortified: Love Is a Battlefield does one better than the first book, bringing forth universal stories of adolescent pain and humiliation and mining them for catharsis, understanding, and, yes, humor. Is emotional excavation a thing? If it is, then surely the profession has found its Copernicus (or maybe Oppenheimer) in David Nadelberg.
These clearly carefully selected diary entries, poems, letters and other artifacts of adolescence can be, well, mortifying. Certainly this collection is darker than the first, but that's also what makes it great, in that same way that Freaks and Geeks made the specific universal and made us flinch while laughing along with the characters. Because we've all been there.
Sean Sweeney's "screenplay" (written for no less than Al Pacino, Debra Winger, Roy Scheider and Phoebe Cates, as well as a character named "Shawn") is hilarious for its innocence and aggressive egotism. Leonard Hyman's story of growing up in American Samoa seems at first completely unrelatable--until he begins talking about his desperate crush on the new girl and his fickle attentions that follow. And certainly the "Dueling Diaries" by Matt Berck and Kirsten Gronfield are a highlight.
The new book is laid out beautifully, with not just the photos of the first book but scraps of the actual source material and some hilarious doodles and illustrations.
For fans of Freaks and Geeks, Judy Blume, This American Life, The Wonder Years, and anything else that makes you sigh, blush, and laugh all at once.
(Also, check out the Mortified web-thingies on iTunes; it's free and it opens up the world of the book so well. One of my favorite pieces, "Stairway to Winnipeg" is better served by the "Showbox Show" than the transcription in the book, though both are hilarious).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?