Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want elegant dining for that very special occasion, then add Morton's Stake Bible to your collection!
Klaus Fritsch is the co-founder and executive chef of Morton's Steakhouse and an acknowledged expert on the proper preparation and presentation of all manner of steaks. In Morton's Stake Bible: Recipes & Lore From The Legendary Steakhouse, Fritsch (with the help of nationally prominent food writer, consultant, and cookbook editor Mary Goodbody) has compiled one of the...
Published on August 6, 2006 by Midwest Book Review

versus
28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Morton's Steak Bible this is NOT!
A more apt name would have been: "Morton's recipes for home cooks".

This book completely leaves out the 3 biggest secrets that make Morton's steaks so legendary:

1) their spice blend
2) their aging process, (dry, wet, etc)
3) type of beef (Grass-fed or grain-fed? Kobe or Angus? etc)

I would have loved to have made their spice...
Published on January 19, 2008 by E. Bianchi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want elegant dining for that very special occasion, then add Morton's Stake Bible to your collection!, August 6, 2006
Klaus Fritsch is the co-founder and executive chef of Morton's Steakhouse and an acknowledged expert on the proper preparation and presentation of all manner of steaks. In Morton's Stake Bible: Recipes & Lore From The Legendary Steakhouse, Fritsch (with the help of nationally prominent food writer, consultant, and cookbook editor Mary Goodbody) has compiled one of the very best recipe collections for dishes that would be as welcome as they are easy to prepare in any American kitchen or on any backyard grill. With introductory chapters on "How to Cook Lie a Steakhouse" and "Cocktails and the Food We Eat with Them", these thoroughly "kitchen cook friendly" recipes are organized into chapters devoted to Appetizers; Salads and Soups; Steak: Our Feature Presentation; Other Steakhouse Favorites; Side Dishes; Desserts; Sauces, Dressings, and Condiments. From a Sloe Gin Fizz; Sea Scallops Wrapped with Bacon; Salad Nicoise with Pan-Seared Tuna; and Velvet Lobster Bisque; to Shrimp Alexander with Beurre Blanc; Morton's Legendary Chocolate Cake; Cold Grand Marnier Souffle; and Apricot Chutney, Morton's Stake Bible proves itself to be so much more than just another steak book. But it cannot be denied that the heart and soul of this outstanding culinary collection are the recipes that offer such mouth-watering fare as the Porterhouse Steak; New York Strip Steak; Filet Mignon; Beef Filet Diane; Cajun Ribeye Steak; Kansas City Bon-In Strip Steak; T-Bone Steak; Steak au Poivre; and Beef Filet Oskar. If you want elegant dining for that very special occasion, then add Morton's Stake Bible to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Restaurant, Great Recipes, August 31, 2006
By 
S. Herrera (Garland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While this is a wonderful establishment and one of the best steakhouses I've ever dined at, the recipes, although fantastic, tend to be a tad on the more 'experienced' side.

What I mean by this is that they're not simple recipes, and they oftentimes employ ingredients that are not always present in my kitchen pantry. If you do like to experiment with new items in your pantry, you'll love this; but be prepared to spend some decent money on stocking it with items you may or may not reuse in the near future.

It's worth the time and effort to recreate some of the classics presented in this legendary cookbook, as they are just as tasty at home as they are in the restaurant.

Happy cooking and more importantly, happy eating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a phenom of a book!!, June 20, 2006
By 
this cook book had it all. from describing different cuts of meat, tenderizing, spices, oven temperatures, grilling methods, marinading... there were sections on drinks, salads, appetizers, main courses, salad dressings and, of course, steaks. Being a lover of Mortons method of preparing steaks, I HIGHLY recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Morton's fans who want to try matching it at home, July 16, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a cookbook - there's really not much "lore from the legendary steakhouse". However, if you're a fan of Morton's and would like to try their recipes at home, this is the book from you. The book has the recipe for every single item on Morton's menu plus a number of others that I haven't tried yet but look really good (particularly some of the German specialties.) They also have a number of excellent drink recipes and good instructions on how steaks should be cooked (hint: it's not the way most people do it at home.) If you think you'd be interested, go for it...you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, August 29, 2006
By 
Absolutely fantastic cookbook! This is the first review I've entered on Amazon which should give you some indication of my complete and total satisfaction with this book. Recipes are easy to follow and the results are delicious! I am not a professional cook but my results from this cookbook have made me feel like a culinary expert. Compliments from friends and relatives have been terrific! This book is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morton's Steak Bible, February 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm amazed that Morton's would share their secrets, but they have w/ this cookbook. The dishes are gourmet quality, but simple enough for anyone to duplicate. One of the best cookbooks I've come across. The prime rib, blue cheese dressing and hot chocolate cake are to die for. I can't wait to try more of these recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Morton's Steak Bible this is NOT!, January 19, 2008
A more apt name would have been: "Morton's recipes for home cooks".

This book completely leaves out the 3 biggest secrets that make Morton's steaks so legendary:

1) their spice blend
2) their aging process, (dry, wet, etc)
3) type of beef (Grass-fed or grain-fed? Kobe or Angus? etc)

I would have loved to have made their spice blend at home or learn how to do a home aging process Mortons way.

They also (surprisingly) don't cover how to cook on a infrared burner or cast iron skillet which, personally, I've found have given me the closets "steakhouse" results.

Sure, that is probably above most casual cooks heads, but for a steak enthusiast and wannabe steak chief (like myself) something that touts itself as "Morton's steak bible" comes up short.

Unfortunately, the steak recipes and cooking procedures are basic and very simple. If you've spent more then 10 mins looking up how to cook steaks on the internet, this book isn't going to teach you anything new.

However, if you want to learn how to cook some of Morton's non-steak items some of these are actually quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book for the steak recipes, January 9, 2007
By 
CraigDN (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
I bought this book specifically for steak recipies. I was duped...

To give you an idea of what I am talking about - In the 'Steak: Our feature presentation' section of the book, there are 9 recipies. Not many, but that's okay as long as they are good.

This is where the problem comes in. Five of the recipes are the same except for the cut of meat used and I'm not sure if they qualify as recipies. They use meat, vegetable oil and seasoned salt and give the option of using Au Jus... are these guys for real???

The sixth recipe out of nine is also the same except for a pepper sauce that you can put over the steak...

I rated this book 3 stars because some of the other recipes look promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is just ok., November 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the book hoping to learn more about cooking steaks. This book does not live up to the name "Steak Bible". As another reviewer pointed out, there are only a handful of pages about steaks. The other recipes look interesting and worthy of a try. In my opinion, the book is worth half the price. The other half is paid for the "Morton" name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes it easy to cook like Morton's at home, February 16, 2008
I had a hankering for creamed spinach made the only way I like - Morton's style. I bought this book and never looked back. Month after month of pumping out hashed browns, creamed spinach and Cajun ribeye... all of my friends think I'm a chef and I've gained at least 10 pounds.

This book is a must for an red-blooded steak lover. Now I dream of luring a cow into my apartment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Morton's Steak Bible: Recipes and Lore from the Legendary Steakhouse
Used & New from: $7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.