Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Mosaic Select
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Mosaic Select Limited Edition

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Limited Edition, June 27, 2006
"Please retry"

Amazon's Johnny Richards Store

Visit Amazon's Johnny Richards Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 27, 2006)
  • Original Release Date: 2006
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Limited Edition
  • Label: Mosaic Select
  • ASIN: B000A8NQMG
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #603,276 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Annotations of the Muses, Pt. 1
2. Annotations of the Muses, Pt. 2
3. Annotations of the Muses, Pt. 3
4. Nipigon
5. So Beats My Heart for You
6. Walkin'
See all 17 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Omo Ado
2. What Is There to Say
3. Estoy Cansado
4. Theme from the Concerto to End All Concertos
5. How Are Things in Glocca Morra
6. Terpsichore
See all 16 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Get Me to the Church on Time
2. On the Street Where You Live
3. I Could Have Danced All Night
4. Wouldn't It Be Loverly
5. Show Me
6. The Rain in Spain
See all 17 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

box set collection,numbered limited edition of 5,000

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Robin Benson on March 4, 2006
Format: Audio CD
It's a pity Johnny Richards wasn't better known in the fifties and sixties so that we might be enjoying more than the eight LPs that his orchestra released. Fortunately six of these LPs are on this Mosaic three CD set and they clearly show what a versatile composer and arranger he was.

There really is something for everyone here! Annotations of the Muses (Legende 1955) verges on the classical, though I think it sounds like music for a movie in parts. Wide Range (Capitol 1957) and Experiments in Sound (Capitol 1958) shows the orchestra in full blast with plenty of Richards compositions. The Rites of Diablo (Roulette 1958) from my point of view is the weakest work, I can't see that it's more than a rhythmic novelty. My Fair Lady - My Way (Roulette 1964) has several great swinging versions of this Lerner and Lowe classic. Record companies, always searching for material their artists could record, frequently fall back on Broadway, everyone knew the melodies anyway but I always thought these didn't really work in a jazz setting because the melodies (and lyrics) were written essentially for a visual presentation. The last LP is Spanish Spoken Here (Roulette 1966) a blending of big band jazz and Latin rhythms.

The three CDs come with a very readable twenty-two page booklet and when you look at the list of musicians in the various Richards orchestras it becomes obvious that he got the best names around and got the best out of them, too.

Wonderful though this box set is it does not include what is generally agreed to be his greatest LP, the stunning Something Else (Bethlehem1958) that fortunately is out on the Fresh Sounds, Jazz City label and it also includes the LP, Walk Softly...Run Wild (Coral 1959). Now you can get the complete Johnny Richards on four CDs and well worth buying if you remember this great composer, arranger and leader of a superb jazz orchestra.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Carlos from Rio on February 11, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Maybe many people do not know the author of 'Young at Heart', a big hit by Frank Sinatra. He is Johnny Richards whose main work was as an arranger for his own albums and for Stan Kenton, mainly the classic 'Cuban Fire'.

This Mosaic selection is a must collection of rare Richards' works on Capitol albums, including many original compositions besides material from his original arrangements for Broadway 'My Fair Lady'.

This is a must album for any serious bigband and jazz collection.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category