Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outgrowing superstitions and becoming an adult
Little children learn morality from their parents: things are good or bad because Mommy and Daddy SAID so. A little later, they may be taught that things are good or bad because God SAID so, in some Holy Book. And still later, when they are taught "civics" in government schools, they will be taught that things are good or bad because "It's the law." (And it's GOOD to...
Published on February 5, 2011 by Dabooda

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Most Dangerous Superstition" - Insightful, but poorly argued
I believe that the two very controversial central claims of Larken Rose's book "The Most Dangerous Superstition" are correct:

(1) No government genuinely has the special moral authority that most people think governments have.

(2) The belief in government authority is incredibly dangerous and destructive.

Indeed, as Rose writes on the back...
Published 10 months ago by William Kiely


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outgrowing superstitions and becoming an adult, February 5, 2011
By 
Dabooda (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
Little children learn morality from their parents: things are good or bad because Mommy and Daddy SAID so. A little later, they may be taught that things are good or bad because God SAID so, in some Holy Book. And still later, when they are taught "civics" in government schools, they will be taught that things are good or bad because "It's the law." (And it's GOOD to obey the law, BAD to break it.") But "the law" is just whatever politicians SAY it is.

A person becomes an adult when he outgrows the need to be given moral commandments from people he thinks of as "authorities," and learns to judge for himself what is right or wrong. This is a book to read to discover just how adult YOU really are. The book as a whole is a litmus test that will show whether the reader is an adult with independent judgment, or still a child, believing every fantasy and superstition that the "authorities" in his life have told him to believe.

You may or may not agree with Rose's conclusions, but you should be prepared to have many of your own cherished beliefs challenged and examined. This is a book to stretch your mind, and that may be uncomfortable, if your mind is out-of-shape. But like any good workout, the results are very rewarding.

The "most dangerous superstition" referred to in the title is the idea of "authority," which includes all belief in "government." No, I'm not providing "spoilers;" this is something Rose lays out on Page 2 of the book. He doesn't deny that all the legislators, police, bureaucrats and soldiers exist -- they clearly do. But the thing that makes "government" something more than a gang of thugs is the respect -- even reverence -- in which it is held by the people it rules. "Government" is commonly believed to have a RIGHT to rule us, and we commonly believe ourselves to have a DUTY to obey their commands (which are called "laws.") Rose unleashes a ferocious array of arguments proving that neither that RIGHT nor that DUTY can logically -- or morally -- exist. If that sounds silly to you, YOU need to read the book.

This is a remarkable book, remarkable for its honesty, its logic, its passion and the profound importance of its conclusions. There is also much to admire in Rose's clear, concise prose. He discusses important ideas without becoming overly-philosophical or boring. It is also a very important book, important the way Atlas Shrugged -- or Tom Paine's Common Sense -- are important. The most dangerous superstition IS dangerous because it enslaves our minds, which leads to the enslavement of our whole lives. This is a book to set us free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple logic and truth that is irrefutable, January 27, 2011
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
This book can only have meaning to one who WANTS to honestly question what they believe and everything about themselves. Mr Rose uses simple language and logic that anyone can easily follow. Detractors may not WANT to believe the simple truth, but that doesn't negate the logic used to connect the individual to the problems that emanate from "authority" and the "state". One may disagree with the idea of dismantling the "state" because of broken arguments such as "hey we've reached the pinnacle of human societal interactions, so any other form of 'government' will only be worse", but that doesn't refute Mr Rose's logic.

This book is very easy to read and follow the logic, and does require honest reflection of one's beliefs, as it presents ideas, ideas that have the power to change the world. Only a slave would not be willing to always question their beliefs and ideas. From the movie "V for Vendetta": Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, Mr. Creedy, and ideas are bulletproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I dare you to read this book, December 31, 2011
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
Do you live your life according to moral principles?
I stumbled on Larken Rose speaking on Youtube and was so startled by his gift for clarity of thought and expression I went to his web site and bought all his books. This book is jaw-dropping, gasp-inducing, astounding, life-changing, with so many quotable aphorisms I underlined every fourth sentence, circled every third paragraph, cluttered the margins with exclamation points, stars, and scribbles. This is a book that forces you to wrestle with it. I was pinned.
No, I've never met Larken. He has no idea who I am. This is not nepotism. He is Thomas Paine without the rhetorical flourishes. If you think government can do "some" good, Larken will walk you through the reasons why this shared delusion is self-contradictory, anti-rational, and ethically deranged. We don't realize how deeply we brainwash each other. We don't just drink the Cool-Aide, we marinate in it. Conservatives and Liberals are both wrong precisely to the extent they agree.
If you read all 210 pages, you cannot help but decide all government must be evil and destructive by its very nature, from its initial foundational axioms to its total net effects, and our world would flourish with no government at all if we just apply the principles we teach our children to adults in government costumes: no hitting, no taking other people's stuff, keep your promises, use your words, and, yes, it matters who "started it."
Larken has cultivated a discipline of integrating his heart and mind, and he speaks to your efforts to do the same. His clarity and concision are truly find-freeing.
"Man's mind, once stretched by a new idea, never regains its original dimensions."
-- Oliver Wendell Holmes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Government" is a secular faith based religious belief based upon fraud, misrepresentation and concealment!, January 26, 2011
By 
T. WINGATE (Rochester, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
Larken Rose has written an excellent expose' of the fraud and false premise that the whole syllogism for "Government" is built upon. This is not your typical book with neat little chapters. It has instead several "Parts" that contain an excellent free flowing stream of topical consciousness. This is an entertaining and informative apologetic against the "divine right to rule" by those who claim to have some secret superior knowledge granted to them by their deity, the State. Mr. Rose's logic and reason are experiential in his ongoing understanding of the facade of reality proffered by the prophets of power and control. He minces no words and is exact in his examples to articulate the absurdities and contradictions that produce an ongoing state of cognitive dissonance in the American public specifically, and the world generally.

Bolt your socks to your shoes because this is the truth of how people have been conned, cajoled and coerced into selling their birthright of Liberty for some watered down soup called "American Freedom." You owe it to yourself and your family to understand the fraud and how to correctly combat it. There are solutions and Larken doesn't shy away from listing the hypothetical possibilities that some may choose on their own. This is an easy to read, hard to digest for some and ultimately conscience freeing treatise on the rightness of the rule by none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Mind Opener!, August 14, 2011
By 
qrnow (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
I like others reviewing this book was not expecting any new revelations since I have read freedom based literature for years. Boy, was I in for a surprise! This book, if read with an open mind, will change your thinking forever about the government and authority. As the author makes clear we have all been indoctrinated to blindly accept authority from the time we first reach school up to the present. So much so, that lawlessness, outright theft, brutality, and violence conducted by government and their "authorities" (politicians, military and their enforcement agents including the local police) is completely missed and accepted as normal. As Rose makes clear in a logical and common sense way, it is not (normal that is). It is sickness and it is sickness that we have been blindly conditioned to accept and even cheer on.

If you truly are open to questioning any long held belief, I would encourage you to read this book. It will at the very least challenge some deeply held beliefs and at best wake you up out of your trance and clarify your thinking on the issue of government and authority. Cheapest wake up call I have ever purchased and sorely needed for today's indoctrinated with government propaganda society. Truly a must read for any free thinking individual interested in freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Important Book Ever Written, January 15, 2012
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
Rose gets to the root issue of social ills better than any author I've read, including Rothbard, Hoppe, Rand, Molyneux...

His explanation of why people blindly follow authority no matter how destructive it is, is crystal clear. It's amazing how vulnerable humans are to a perceived authority. Rose clearly demonstrates how it is not logically or morally possible for there to be a group of people in society with the "authority" to rule.

This is an extremely important book. A must-read for anyone concerned about true freedom. Buy several copies and leave them at coffee shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Goes Right to the Heart of the Issue, April 9, 2011
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
Rose's book takes a simple concept, that the belief in authority has led to incalculable damage and bloodshed, and dissects it in minute detail. He explains why belief in authority in all forms, particularly "government" has not worked and, indeed, can not work. In some parts, the book reads almost like a mathematical treatise in showing how the belief in authority is logically impossible and cannot pass even the most cursory analysis. In other parts of the book, Rose's passion for his topic clearly shines through. If anything, Rose's restraint when describing the hundreds of millions of lives that the "authority" myth has slaughtered is remarkable.

One warning however: if you believe the mainstream media, if you believe that "government" can or will solve anything, or if you don't like examining, or much less challenging, your beliefs, you will find this book very difficult to read. This book will have the same effect as telling prehistoric man that the earth is not flat, or telling the medieval church that the sun, and not the earth, is the center of the solar system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Insight, November 11, 2011
By 
Jonthan Cothran (ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
I boght this book with a pretty stong preconsived notion that it would be filled the familiar anti-state arguments of the average libertarian/anarcho-capitalist expose. MAN was I wrong. This book wastes no time getting to the crux of the issue, that is, the belief in and moral "obligation" to compliance to "authority." Something that I had never really considered in great detail as an anti-statist stance. Hovever it is very powerful. Rose utterly dismantles all the arguments for this belief in plain, easy to read language, making it more accesible to the non-academic crowed, seeking moral truth with out the graduate level vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is all common sense if people weren't so blinded by faith in the government, April 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
I suspect my title pretty much says it all. I purchased a dozen of these to hand out to friends and acquaintances. Larken Rose has hit the nail on the head, how this translates into action on a personal level is up to the individual.

Wife and I are in the process of getting out of the shadow of authority as much as possible. We'll be moving somewhere remote, simplifying our lives, learning how to live without earning enough money to be forced to pay into the federal extortion racket among other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If someone can rob you and order you around, he isn't your servant., April 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Most Dangerous Superstition (Paperback)
The most glaring fact of life this book exposes, that most people never even think of, is that "government" is NOT your servant, it is your master - a fearful master, a deceptive master, a tyrannical master. Most people are victims of the most universal example of the Stockholm Syndrome in history: the worshipful, dutiful, obedient, sycophantic loyalty to the state.

Whether you live in a "democracy" or a fascist dictatorship - all states rule through two means: force and propaganda. While politicians prefer to use propaganda to keep people compliant, they will ultimately resort to force against anyone who challenges their power. Things like elections, public schools, and constitutions are elements of the propaganda effort. Larken Rose explains brilliantly how the state manipulates people into submission and even willing cooperation through purely propagandistic means.

If you ever thought "but without government there'd be no roads," or "without government the bad people would take over," or "democracy is the worst form of government except for all the others," this book is designed to relieve you of the onerous burden you carry: the weight of false events appearing real - F.E.A.R.

Give yourself a gift today. Read this book.
--Bill Malloy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Most Dangerous Superstition
Most Dangerous Superstition by Larken Rose (Paperback - 2011)
Used & New from: $12.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.