Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius Of Jonny Bowden Is In Making The Complex Digestible
Who doesn't have a "natural cures" book out these days? With diet and health books coming out of our ears these days, it seems everybody and their momma has their own take on what it takes to get and stay healthy in modern society. Sadly, many of these "experts" are nothing more than fly-by-night shysters who are simply in it to bilk you out of your hard-earned dollars...
Published on April 1, 2008 by Livin' La Vida Low-Carb Man

versus
58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperately in need of references.
I like Jonny Bowden a lot. He demonstrates a very reasonable attitude towards nutritional and lifestyle interventions for health issues, and never comes off as alarmist. Yet after reading this book, he also strikes me as somewhat hypocritical. In the introduction, he talks about how the mainstream media and medical establishment have selectively interpreted research...
Published on November 17, 2009 by simon matthew


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius Of Jonny Bowden Is In Making The Complex Digestible, April 1, 2008
Who doesn't have a "natural cures" book out these days? With diet and health books coming out of our ears these days, it seems everybody and their momma has their own take on what it takes to get and stay healthy in modern society. Sadly, many of these "experts" are nothing more than fly-by-night shysters who are simply in it to bilk you out of your hard-earned dollars by making you buy some obscure products that can (SURPRISE SURPRISE!) only be purchased from the author's web site. AVOID THESE "natural cures" books!

That's what makes Dr. Jonny Bowden's THE MOST EFFECTIVE NATURAL CURES ON EARTH so special. He presents well-researched and commonly-found cures to many of life's ailments that completely run the gamut. From obesity to diabetes to joint pain and everything in between, Dr. Bowden has got you covered. You may be surprised to learn a particular dietary approach that is often erroneously labeled as a "fad" by much of the medical community and the media is one of the primary "cures" that is shared for a cross-section of ailments.

Unlike most books of this genre, Dr. Bowden makes this stuff sound cool, too. His engaging writing style is what fans of his have been loving since he wrote LIVING THE LOW-CARB LIFE and THE 150 HEALTHIEST FOODS ON EARTH. You get more of the same with all the very latest studies to back up every claim made in this book. This is DEFINITELY one book you won't want to be without if you care about your health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Doctor's Review, February 12, 2008
By 
Al Sears (West Palm Beach, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
Jonny Bowden's new book, The Most Effective Natural Cures on Earth, is another great achievement by one of alternative medicine's best authors. It's accessible, well researched and will have a profound impact on your health and your future. Every household should have at least one copy.

The Most Effective Natural Cures on Earth is a fantastic reference for doctors but I recommend it to my patients as well. Whether you're looking for insights into a particular supplement, a strategy for treating a specific illness or expert advice for staying young, active and healthy, his book will exceed your expectations every time you open it.

Jonny's writing style is warm and entertaining, and the benefits of his wisdom are readily available. Turn to any page and you'll find a great idea that's easy to understand and easy to apply right away. What's more, Jonny demystifies the science of nutrition and puts the power of healing in your own hands. And for this, he's done you a great service. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful information, December 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a wonderful book that presents a vast amount of useful information in an accessible way. The author supports the material he presents in the book by citing credible sources. He also doesn't shy away from addressing negative as well as positive elements about the "cures" he presents and he gives the reader sources for additional reading on a myriad of topics. The information in the book is very practical and can easily be incorporated into one's day to day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperately in need of references., November 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like Jonny Bowden a lot. He demonstrates a very reasonable attitude towards nutritional and lifestyle interventions for health issues, and never comes off as alarmist. Yet after reading this book, he also strikes me as somewhat hypocritical. In the introduction, he talks about how the mainstream media and medical establishment have selectively interpreted research studies on nutritional therapies to make them seem less effective, and done the same to studies on pharmaceutical interventions to make them seem more effective. The problem is that Bowden may be doing the same thing, albeit in the opposite direction. We have no way to know, because there is not a single footnote in this book, despite the fact that Bowden references research studies quite often. This was also an issue with his 150 healthiest food book, although it was not nearly as problematic there because the book was not explicitly a book on medical treatments. This book also suffers from a lack of organization, and is not as comprehensive as books such as Alan Gaby's Natural Pharmacy, although perhaps that was not its intention. Again, Bowden is a stand up guy. He is to be praised for refusing to promote conspiracy theories about modern medicine, and his conversational tone makes his book a pleasure to read. Next time he writes a book however, he should make more of an effort to incorporate sound scientific practices into its formulation, so that it can truly challenge some of the troubling biases in our healthcare system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book everyone should have, February 5, 2008
Jonny Bowden has done it again with "The Most Effective Natural Cures on Earth". Together with "The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth", Jonny has created a series of healthy living reference manuals that is fast becoming a contemporary treasury of reliable, practical and powerfully potent health information for our time. Written in a remarkably clear and accessible way, this book gives you the tools you need to reclaim (or protect) your health with a broad range of safe, thoroughly researched natural treatments. The "cures" range from the physical, such as exercise, to the mental, relaxation, to the edible, including whole foods, herbs, natural supplements and more. Addressing ailments ranging from the everyday (jet lag and acne) to much more serious illnesses and disorders such as cancer and autism, this is a book that all of us would benefit from having on our shelves. Thanks and kudos to Jonny for continuing to empower us to make healthy living an attainable goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Natural Cures, February 24, 2008
By 
L. Pyle (La Jolla, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the book at the recommendation of a co-worker and, to my delight, found it incredibly readable (Bowden has a humorous, conversational style) and useful. I liked it so much that I gave the book to my mother, who struggles with high blood pressure. She tried a number of Bowden's suggestions for high BP, and they absolutely worked. She now consistently has blood pressure in the normal range (which she checks daily), without using drugs. The most effective supplements for her BP were Taurine, Curcumine, and L-Carnitine, which she supplements with celery and garlic. The info from this book is likely to extend my mother's life - that's pretty powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No cures here, just 'natural' (minor) symptom suppression, November 3, 2012
It wasn't until I'd read all the health information in this book that I noticed that the author listed Dr Oz as a contributor, and also that Dr Oz says on the cover of the book that this book is one he goes back to again and again. That really explained a lot. This book is full of the sort of lightweight, superficial, incomplete, misleading and at best half-truth type health information that you get from someone like Dr Oz or in a 'health and beauty' magazine article. It's newstainment or maybe healthtainment.

The title is misleading as this book is not at all about cures, but just about adding a few supplements or herbs to mostly suppress symptoms instead of just using drugs. There are a few bits of good information but the information given is so incomplete. There are so many other more comprehensive and useful books out there.

This book could only look good if you haven't got your hand on any of the really good health books out there. Once you have, this one is hard to take seriously. It ignores so much of the most basic and important good information written by experts in the field. It's very light on references too, unlike the really good books.

For example, the author recommends taking St Johns Wort or 5HTP if you have depression. These are treatments which can be used in place of antidepressant drugs to help reduce symptoms. But they do not cure anything at all. Real causes of depression such as nutrient deficiencies and heavy metal toxicity and so many more things, are not even mentioned. Healing and curing is very different to mere symptom suppression. Symptom suppression is still symptom suppression and not healing even if you use herbs to do it with.

Despite infertility being linked with many different fixable nutritional issues the author recommends acupuncture for infertility. The advice on basic nutrition is pretty patchy.

The author also recommends rhodiola herb for people that are fatigued and that is about it. There is no talk at all of finding the cause of the symptom and treating it before it becomes something worse, or that of course fatigue has over 100 different causes and treatments. Herbs are often recommended to peopel before the basic important vitamins and minerals we need to be healthy. Taking herbs before looking at the basic nutrients is just silly and a real waste of time and money. The authior has also not done much reading on vitamin C and the need for higher doses during illness. The saturated fat and salt myths are also supported in this book.

It should also be noted that the author of this book sells some or all of the supplements he recommends on his website.

For real information on allowing the body to begin healing and finding the actual causes of disease books by Dr Sherry Rogers, Dr Abram Hoffer and others are essential reading. For information on why the measly 2 grams or so of vitamin C recommended in this book is far from adequate especially for ill people see books by Dr T Levy, Steve Hickey, Linus Pauling and others.

Jodi Bassett, The Hummingbirds' Foundation for M.E. (HFME) and Health, Healing & Hummingbirds (HHH)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate, reliable, practical, and a core addition, February 2, 2008
"The Most Effective Natural Cures On Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Treatments Work And Why" by board-certified nutritionist and weight loss authority Jonny Bowden is a superbly informative reference for non-specialist general readers with an interest in the use of vitamins, foods, supplements, and treatments applicable for more than seventy-five common illnesses and ailments. Incorporating analogies, humor, and solid research science, the text is particularly well organized and accessible. Offering a wealth of information from the use of cinnamon to moderate blood sugar, to the use of vitamin C to protect against cancer, to eating celery in order to lower blood pressure, to using acupuncture for treating infertility, this illustrated compendium of 'cures' and curatives is accurate, reliable, practical, and a core addition to personal, family, and community library Alternative Medicine reference collections and supplemental reading lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference, May 18, 2008
By 
BellaJack (MI, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I agree with the other 5-star reveiwers. This is a great reference book. I have read many other books on this subject (e.g. Prescription for Nutritional Healing), and Jonny Bowden is very knowledgable. I particularly like the editing of this book--it is very accessible and not as bulky and overwhelming as PFNH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIve a healthy life, September 8, 2008
By 
AJD (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Jonny Bowden has a wonderful style of dispensing information, whether on radio, podcast,website, or in a book. He always manages to educate in an easy to read, and understand, way. He has done it again here. Instead of reaching for another pharmaceutical that may or may not work, and may be fraught with unknown side affects, reach for this book. It is loaded with numerous suggestions of well researched remedies for many ailments. Nature has created a fantastic medicine cabinet that seems to have gotten lost in the shuffle of big pharma ads and claims. Authors like Jonny have given us the opportunity to take back control of our health through natural methods. This should be in everyone's health library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.