Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 16 Most Requested Songs
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Sixteen (16) Most Requested Songs is a Patti Page CD that tries its best to give us sixteen of her greatest hits. Unfortunately you can't really do that with just a single CD; but this one does stand out as one of her better single CD compilations. The quality of the sound is excellent and the artwork is typical for this CD series. I must admit they could have done a better job with that rendering of Patti on the front cover of the artwork. However, this is a minor disappointment.

The track set begins with Patti performing "Tennessee Waltz." Unfortunately, this is not my favorite rendition of this ballad; there's a backup group of singers that is superfluous; Patti never needed that and even if it worked it doesn't go along with this tender ballad. "Gentle On My Mind" sparkles like gold as Patti sings this country flavored ballad with panache and all her heart and soul. Patti was meant to sing a great ballad like this! She delivers this flawlessly; and I could listen to her sing this tune again and again--and sometimes I do!

"Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair)" is a beautiful tune which I first heard from Harry Belafonte; but when Patti sings this number she makes it all her own with her fine timing and diction. Patti's rendition of "Scarlet Ribbons" is THE definitive interpretation of this ballad! "Try To Remember," a song from The Fantasticks, is equally beautiful and although the chorus adds to the number Patti could easily have handled this all on her own. "Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte" also features Patty front and center; and the strings work to great advantage on "Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte."

"Days Of Wine And Roses" is a poignant ballad that Patti delivers with heart and soul; it's like listening to silk when I hear Patti sing this tune. "(How Much Is) That Doggie In The Window" is definitely a huge Patti Page hit; and I remember listening to this on the radio in the late `60s in my father's car. How I loved that song even way back then!

The album ends string with Patti singing "Just A Simple Melody;" Patti sings this with so much heart that you can tell she really wanted to give blood to make this song just right. Few singers could ever hope to emulate Patti's style on this number.

Overall, this is a fine Patti Page CD that gives us her best--but from a later time in the 1960s. Most of these tunes were hits for Patti in the earlier years of her career; and apparently they wanted her to redo them here. These renditions are still quite strong and Patti Page fans will want these alternate renditions for their collections. This CD is also a great place to start for casual fans. Of course, people who like classic pop vocals will love this album.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2003
While my own personal 16 Most Requested by Patti Page songlist would be quite different, this package
does represent her sixties tenure at Columbia Records nicely. What a thrill to discover her tender version of Scarlet Ribbons...it's truely the definative version of that beloved song. I'm not quite sure how a signature song like Allegheny Moon gets ommitted from greatest hits package like this. But the inclusion of Just A Simple Melody almost makes up for that shameful oversight. You'll love one great Patti performance after another. Detour, Tennesee Waltz, Mockin' Bird Hill, Doggie In The Window, etc. While I sometimes prefer Ms. Page's original Mercury versions over her Columbia years, it's great fun to hear her more mature voice having it's lovely way with these gems. Now we just need Sony to get it's act together and make all of her full length albums available to her loyal fans...and they can start with Love After Midnight!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2002
Patti Page was the queen of pop music for well over a decade when she recorded these tracks during the 1960's but these performances are as outstanding as her more famous 1950's work. Particularly beautiful are her haunting performance of the supernatural country ballad SCARLETT RIBBONS and the smash top ten 1964 hit HUSH HUSH SWEET CHARLOTTE that showed America's veteran pop queen could hold her own on the charts during the British invasion. I also loved TRY TO REMEMBER, the wistful Broadway tune, and her performance of CALL ME IRRESPONSIBLE, the theme song from the Corinne Griffith biography picture PAPA'S DELICATE CONDITION which won the Oscar for Best Movie Song in 1964 over CHARLOTTE. The remake of HOW MUCH IS THAT DOGGIE IN THE WINDOW is cute and Patti's GENTLE ON MY MIND shows why her version was one of the most popular during the 1960's. Her take on RAINDROPS KEEPS FALLIN' ON MY HEAD is excellent, the only thing here I didn't like was, ironically, the remake of her greatest hit, TENNESSEE WALTZ, with her record producer making a BIG mistake by giving it a jazz-flavored recreation. She has sung that legendary song many times before and since in the brillant original arrangement so that's a minor point. This is a good starting point for a Patti Page CD collection and listening to it you can understand how she influenced so many later female vocalists from Skeeter Davis to The Supremes to Lynn Anderson.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2007
The main thing one needs to know about this collection is that the recordings in it were made when Patti Page was recording for Columbia in the 1960s. So although there are a number of her big hits from the 1950s in the collection, they are not the original versions (made for Mercury), but remakes. She did, however, have some hits for Columbia, such as "Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte," which are on here, and the CD includes her versions of a number of other singers' big 1960s hits, like "Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head," which sound just fine. Only one song on this CD is truly obscure, the last track, "Just a Simple Melody," which I had never heard before, but this is certainly NOT the "Patti Page's greatest" album that Columbia might make you think it is.

Nevertheless, nothing sounds bad. This album is really second-rate Patti Page, past her prime, but second-rate Patti Page is better than first-rate samples of many other singers.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2000
I heard it for the first time last night at a friends house and that's why I'm here today to purchase it. It was really good!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
The packaging of this comp suggests it's a hits album. It isn't. The recordings here are from Patti Page's tenure at Columbia Records, when she signed at the label near the end of Mitch Miller's period as head of the label. Her Columbia sides were produced by Bob Mersey (credits on early Streisand and period Eydie Gorme' NY echo-drenched pop albums, Andy Williams, etc...), Bob Johnston (mid-'60s Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan), and finally Jack Gold, who took over as head of Columbia A&R in 1967 and updated the "rock"-er stylings of middle-of-the-road acts.

Of the 16 tracks on this "hits comp" album, only the following are the Columbia hit singles:

"Gentle On My Mind," "Little Green Apples," "Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte."

The almost-hit "Just A Simple Melody" got to #114 while the bigger hit on the other side, "Pretty Boy Lonely," outperformed it at #98 on Billboard. If you call a double-sided #98/#114 45 single a "hit"?

That's four of these 16; you get twelve Lp filler cuts otherwise. Think of this album as a random sampler/filler package.

I don't spy a comprehensive listing of Patti Page's 45 singles while checking around on the internet, so here's a list of her 45s, most of which were hits of one form or other on Billboard (see Joel Whitburn's book series) during her transition to the easy listening singles charts. All of Patti's Columbia recordings on this package are AFTER her major known hits for Mercury Records during the 1950s. The obvious hit SONGS on this package are taken from a recuts' Columbia album, PATTI PAGE'S GREATEST HITS, Columbia CS 9326, from October, 1966, and are not the original versions from the Mercury '50s.

Patti Page Columbia 45 RPM discography:

42671 Pretty Boy Lonely/Just A Simple Melody (February, 1963)
42791 Say Wonderful Things/I Knew I Would See Him Again
42902 Love Letters/If and When
42963 I Adore You/I Wonder, I Wonder, I Wonder
43019 I'd Rather Be Sorry/Drive In Movie
43078 Drina (Little Soldier Boy)/Promises
43183 Days of the Waltz/Don't You Pass Me By
43251 Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte/Longing to Hold You Again
43345 You Can't Be True Dear/Who's Gonna Shoe My Pretty Little Feet
43429 Ribbons and Roses/That's What I Tell Them
43447 Happy Birthday, Jesus (A Child's Prayer)/Christmas Bells
43517 Custody/Till You Come Back to Me
43647 In This Day and Age/Can I Trust You
43761 Detour/It's the World Outside
43794 Almost Persuaded/It's The World Outside
43909 Music and Memories/This Wishing Doll
43990 This Is the Sunday/Wish Me A Rainbow
44115 Same Old You/Walkin' - Just Walkin'
44242 Pretty Bluebird/What's She Got that I Ain't Got (Darlin')
44257 All The Time/Pretty Bluebird
44353 Gentle On My Mind/Excuse Me
44556 Little Green Apples/This House
44666 Stand By Your Man/Red Summer Roses
44778 The Love Song/A Mighty Fortress Is Our Love
44989 You don't Need A Heart/Boy From the Country
45059 Tied Down/Pickin' Up the Pieces
45159 I Wish I Had a Mommy Like You/He'll Never Take the Place of You (May, 1970)

Cash Box magazine Columbia hits:
Pop Singles--
Columbia 4-42791, "Say Wonderful Things"
Debut 6/08/63 #100, 94, 88, 82, 97, 98--off the chart
Columbia 4-43251, "Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte"
Debut 5/01/65 #92, 90, 73, 60, 46, 36, 27, 16, 11, 10 (peak), 27, 44, 75--off the chart
Columbia 4-43345, "You Can't Be True Dear"
Debut 8/28/65 #92, 91--off the chart
C&W hit--
Columbia 4-45159, "I Wish I Had a Mommy Like You"
Debut 5/09/70 #62, 61, 54, 43, 40, 28, 17, 13, 11, 10 (peak), 15, 26, 41--off the chart
--Note: you can readily look up the Billboard numbers via Joel Whitburn's series of books, which I recommend.

A personal interest of mine (Glen Campbell's minor hit version cover):
Patti Page's "Gentle On My Mind" hit, Columbia 4-44353
Billboard Top-40 Easy Listening chart, debut 12/30/67 #39, 1/06/67 #38;
Recharted 3/09/68 at #30, 14, 8, 8, 8, 7, 7, 7, 17, 25 (5/11/68).
Billboard Hot-100, debut 2/10/68 #100, 96, 95, 93, 93 (3/09/68), 93, 93, 87, 79, 69, 66 (peak 4/20/68), 66, 84, 84, 87, 85 (5/24/68)
--inexplicably, this hit single did not appear on the Cash Box charts.

Lp cut:
TODAY, MY WAY, Columbia CS 9561, October, 1967
Cash Box Lp chart run: debut 5/18/68 #89, 85, 86, 78 (peak), 90, 94 (6/22/68); the Lp did not chart on Billboard.
Note: The song was track #1, side #2, which spots it as the intended 2nd hit single to be released from the album. "Gentle On My Mind" as a hit single did well enough that Columbia parked it as the title track on her next album.
GENTLE ON MY MIND, Columbia CS 9666, in July, 1968.
Billboard Lp chart run: debut 7/27/68 #198, 197, 175, 168 (peak), 181 (8/31/68)

References: Ken Clee at Stack-O-Wax for the Columbia 45 label discography, Scarecrow Press's CASH BOX chart series books by Frank Hoffmann & George Albert, and a bit of Joel Whitburn.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2013
On this release, her 1950s hits are not the original versions. The originals are on Mercury. The remakes are pleasant enough, but they are not the originals.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2002
This is one of the first Patti Page CD's I ever bought. For the Patti Page afficionado, it is a must- for the Patti Page novice, it is an extraordinary collection of music. This CD includes Columbia recordings of some of Patti's great hits plus wonderful jewels like "In The Chapel In The Moonlight", a song from her album "Today My Way". Her version is unrivaled along with a "flip-side hit", "Just A Simple Melody" and others. If you don't like this CD, then you don't like ice cream.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2001
Bought this to play for my mother-in-law and her friends, who are from that era. Good quality and a very enjoyable collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
I have loved this singer since I was a teen. There is something about her voice that is just so beautiful that it takes you to another place above planet earth. Just love, love love her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.