Mother and Child: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $26.00
  • Save: $6.18 (24%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Like new condition. Unread copy. Ships immediately.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mother and Child: A Novel Hardcover – June 26, 2012


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$19.82
$2.71 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

Mother and Child: A Novel + Tenth of December: Stories
Price for both: $35.07

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Counterpoint; First Printing edition (June 26, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1582438188
  • ISBN-13: 978-1582438184
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,539,928 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Mother and Child

"This plotless but not directionless novel beautifully contemplates the treachery of the world that motherhood exposes, and the child's ignorance of it."—Publisher Weekly

Praise for The Art Lover

“The tough-mindedness, originality and wit of her perceptions are intoxicating.” –Publishers Weekly

“By giving the conflicts in her life a fictional context, she tries to bring order and beauty – and some degree of understanding – to chaos.” –Library Journal

Fully coherent, moving and elegiac, a genuine consolation. –The New York Times Book Review

Heartbreakingly perfect...A dazzling second book and an almost impossible act to follow. – San Francisco Chronicle

Praise for Room Lit by Roses:

“In lush, elliptical language, Maso charts her first experience with pregnancy and new motherhood in a journal that reads like prose poetry, couching the mysterious experience in surprising forms, syntaxes and imagery… her dreamlike treatment of pregnancy, birth, mothering and writing should enchant mothers, mothers-to-be and writers with a poetic bent.” –Publisher’s Weekly

About the Author

Carole Maso is the author of seven books including The Art Lover, Ghost Dance, and Break Every Rule. She is a professor of English at Brown University.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Steven Moore on July 31, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Opening this novel is like stepping into a Chagall painting: folksy Old World surrealism envelopes you like a warm blanket while a circus calliope plays a minor-key tune off in the distance. It shimmers between realism (school photos and parent-teacher conferences, obstetrics) and the world of fairy tales; it remythifizes the modern world by way of ancient Egyptian, Greek, and biblical stories, starlore, metamorphoses, telluro-mysticism--re-enchanting the world after 9/11 and the techno-death of the Bush era.
It would have been easy for Maso to lapse into preciosity and sentimentalism regarding the mother-child bond, but this isn't a Mother's Day gift (though it should be): there's a tough-mindedness here, a serious concern over the sick earth and the need to heal it, and its inhabitants.
The prose is wonderfully unpredictable. You literally can't imagine what will come next. There is charming whimsy, a few LOL lines, and gorgeous prose throughout. A stunning achievement.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Fortunata on July 1, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is quite possibly the most beautiful thing I've ever read. Really, this book moved more than I thought possible.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Subject on September 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
There's a dense magic at work in this inventive mix of genres: where prose poetry meets spell and novel morphs into prayer this wonderful book transforms expectations and takes readers on an astonishing voyage through a shimmering landscape as personal as it is political. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector and Max Frisch, as well as Virginia Woolf, Maso makes something all her own of our obdurate, difficult, moment, slowing time and expanding possibilities until, when you set the book down, experience feels, once more, fresh and real and rich... This is one of our great story tellers: "and the world in its wonder and violence entered her and she did not flinch."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?