Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good source of potassium!
Many people have difficulty obtaining enough potassium from their normal diet. Potassium is an electrolyte, very important for normal heart function, nerve function and for the immune system. Your kidneys regulate your serum potassium level, but they need something to work with. The minimum daily requirement is 3500 mg, which is actually difficult to achieve since...
Published on November 14, 2009 by S. Lance

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Molasses but bad choice in plastic jars. Chemical leaching plastic.
The molasses taste great but the jars they have it in is terrible. Its a number 1 plastic, not meant for re-use nor long term use as number 1 plastic leach chems into food. Number one plastic also leaches very high amounts of chems when temps hit 99 and higher. In summer shipping temps are going that high.Water bottles for on the go are often a one but they are usually...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good source of potassium!, November 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
Many people have difficulty obtaining enough potassium from their normal diet. Potassium is an electrolyte, very important for normal heart function, nerve function and for the immune system. Your kidneys regulate your serum potassium level, but they need something to work with. The minimum daily requirement is 3500 mg, which is actually difficult to achieve since potassium leaches out of many foods when they are prepared, often being replaced with salt (sodium chloride) to restore the taste, since the sodium ion tastes similar to potassium. This produces a sodium/potassium imbalance in the body, increasing blood pressure, neuropathy etc.

Potassium tablet supplements are generally potassium chloride, which is very hard on the stomach, since in the stomach the chlorine increases HCl (stomach acid), often leading to acid reflex problems. The potassium added to canned soups and vegetable juices (to replace 'salt') is also potassium chloride. The potassium in molasses is attached to a sugar molecule instead of chlorine, so it's easier on the stomach, although this extra sugar should be offset by reducing sugar intake from other sources.

This Mother Hubbard brand of black strap molasses is labeled as having 504 mg potassium per tablespoon. This is much more potassium than most brands of molasses, although I've found one brand from Paraguay that exceeds it, at double the cost. Another good source of potassium is orange juice, although it has a little more sugar per 500 mg potassium. (Orange juice has about 450 mg potassium per 8 oz.)

The amount of potassium in the molasses is controlled partly by the soil, but primarily by the number of boilings. Each time the cane juice is boiled down, the sugar is scraped off, water is mixed with the residue, and the mixture is boiled again. This is repeated, with the sugar removed each time, until nearly all of the valuable sugar is removed. The final residue is called black strap. Sometimes sugar is added back to the black strap for acceptable (marketable) taste.

One major company, NOT this one, uses salt water between boilings, leaving a black strap that is high in sodium. Anything to make a buck, I guess.

Interestingly, doctors generally proscribe potassium chloride tablet supplements for pregnant women, but pregnant cattle are instead fed molasses as a supplement, which is much healthier but doesn't generate revenue for drug companies. When the women complain about the acid reflex, the doctors proscribe yet another medication. $$ This seems a crime to me. Also, potassium tablets are actually much cheaper to produce than molasses, since the tablet source material costs only a couple cents per bottle. The prescription potassium tablet supplements are labeled in obsure units, which in my case converted to 233 mg potassium per tablet. This is equivalent to less than half a tablespoon of Mother Hubbard molasses.

I like it in coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Molasses but bad choice in plastic jars. Chemical leaching plastic., August 3, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Shanti" (Brodhead, WI, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
The molasses taste great but the jars they have it in is terrible. Its a number 1 plastic, not meant for re-use nor long term use as number 1 plastic leach chems into food. Number one plastic also leaches very high amounts of chems when temps hit 99 and higher. In summer shipping temps are going that high.Water bottles for on the go are often a one but they are usually consumed very quickly after opening. Molasses is usually consumed over time so using such a bad quality plastic IMO is a bad idea. I immediately poured all my molasses in a appropriate and recommended number 2 food safe container.
So the molasses taste great. The container is lousy.
They also seeped in shipping even though they are foil sealed. The cheap plastic is so thin and flimsy that I think it doesn't take all the banging around in shipping causes it to loose its seal. No big messes, just fresh leakage under the loosened caps. All the caps were loose. That too is probably because of the flimsy plastic jar that flexes to much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mother Hubbard Molasses, July 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
My shipment of Mother Hubbard Molasses arrived quickly through Amazon Prime, all six plastic jars arrived in great condition with no visible damage or leaking seals as some reviewers experienced with other brands, even though it was a hot humid 110 degrees outside the day of delivery.

I use Blackstrap molasses to flavor drinks and in cooking gingerbread. Blackstrap molasses is a natural sweetener that is actually healthy. Unlike corn syrup or refined white sugar which has no nutritional value, blackstrap molasses is a healthy sweetener that contains a wide range of vitamins and minerals like manganese, copper, iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium, vitamin B6 and selenium that are good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't find a better product for a better price, September 2, 2010
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
Unsulphered blackstrap is the most important and overlooked sweetener/vitamin source created. I have no complaints about the product itself and I'm happy about this find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful...., January 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
I bought 2 cases of this (makes good gifts). It's got just the right amount of "bite" to it, in contrast to that dumbed-down, "white people's molasses" that they sell in Wal-Mart and the like. My only complaint was that for some reason the vendor Amazon used couldn't think to turn the lids tight, so some of the jars actually leaked in transit and made a mess out the shipment. Still, Amazon promptly made things right (shipped free replacements) and it's hard to find good, dark "real" molasses like this where I live (Savannah, GA). Plus the free shipping on $25 worth of this stuff made it a good deal. I'll buy more when my 2-year supply gets low. Good job, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEALTH HELPER, July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
About 6 months ago there was an article on health issues in The Dallas Morning News about hemmoroid problems. It recomended a tbsp. of blackstrap molasses (unsulphured) daily to help relieve the problem. At this point I would have tried anything. I noticed my condition improved after a couple of weeks. I take a tsp. full with a glass of water every morning and the taste isn't that bad. Some mornings I take more or less depending on my system. This product is absolutly wonderful and I never want to be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
And at a super price. Gave 3 jars to family because we all cook with molasses and my mom takes a teaspoon everyday on cereal, oatmeal, or in a drink to build her iron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
Excellent product with rich flavor and nutritional value, I highly recommend this product. I see the price has increased quite a bit when I purchased mine so glad I bought mine when I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful find...., December 9, 2012
By 
Cumbriaval (Winter Garden, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
I tried to find 'Treacle', but not too much of it around here in the part of the USA where we are and what there is, was quite expensive!. Found this on Amazon, the 'Blackstrap' was advertised as the closest to treacle, so bought to try. I was really happy when I opened the jar, it is 'treacle' as we know it in the UK, so very happy with this purchase, will certainly be ordering more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6) (Grocery)
I enjoy molasses, and Mother Hubbard was a product
that I remember in our family cupboard when I was growing
up. I hope it hasn't changed much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mother Hubbard Molasses, Blackstrap, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6)
$30.25
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.