Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Channeling Peace, Beauty and Spirit
It's not often the words "work of art" and "biography" go together in the same description. In fact I'd have to say that up until recently I was of the general opinion that children's biographies tended to be dull and uninteresting-mostly written for the purpose of providing children with the pedestrian facts they require on research assignments. Authors/ illustrators...
Published on January 24, 2006 by Shanshad

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My copy is NOT in color!!
I am really angry to have received a copy of the book which is black and white. It looks like a photo copied version inside a color paperback cover. In fact, the very last page has print which says, "Made in USA, Lexington, KY, 27 August 2012". What a dishonest way to sell a book!! Nothing in the product description says this will be a black and white copied version of...
Published on August 29, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Channeling Peace, Beauty and Spirit, January 24, 2006
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
It's not often the words "work of art" and "biography" go together in the same description. In fact I'd have to say that up until recently I was of the general opinion that children's biographies tended to be dull and uninteresting-mostly written for the purpose of providing children with the pedestrian facts they require on research assignments. Authors/ illustrators like Demi have served to change that opinion drastically. And her latest title, Mother Teresa, is a picture book biography that is also a true work of art.

Those readers who already know Demi will immediately recognize her stylistic and vividly colored illustrations in this book. Rich gold ink and brilliant scarlet make the pages come to life with a dramatically Eastern flair. Each illustrated page is a marvelous picture in its own right. Its no wonder Demi is an award-winner illustrator. She's illustrated more than 130 books for children, and her artwork appears not only in books and galleries, but also in the dome of St. Peter and Paul's church in Wilmington. I can only say that she truly brings the biography to life. This picture book account provides young and older audiences alike with the story of Mother Teresa, her mission to help the poor and her influence around the world. While the actual text is fairly brief, due to the format, it provides dates and events highlighting the turning points and important themes of Mother Teresa's life. Added to the text are prayer quotes, biblical quotes and quotes from Mother Teresa herself. These help to break up the life events, and add perspective and beauty to the book.

At the very end of the book, Demi includes a listing of what is necessary for Mother Teresa to be declared a saint as well as a list of awards and honors that she was given in her lifetime. While, as I have said, the format prevents this from being an exhaustive account, it is an excellent introduction to Mother Teresa and the life she lived. The religious and spiritual aspects of the biography are handled with grace and respect without the book becoming preachy or judgmental about how that faith is expressed. And Demi's masterful art pulls the text together to create a wonderful tribute to a woman who had such a profound influence on the world.

This book will probably be a bit complex for younger readers, unless a parent chooses to read it to them. The site recommends this book for ages 4-8, but I would amend that to closer to ages 6-12 with the added suggestion that this is a book that adults can appreciate as well. For more thorough exploration of the subject, readers may want to look for other books, but this is a good starting point. Those of you who enjoy this biography may want to look for Demi's other biographies that include such figures as Gandhi, Muhammad, and Buddha. I don't think you'll be disappointed!

Happy Reading! ^_^ Shanshad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My copy is NOT in color!!, August 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am really angry to have received a copy of the book which is black and white. It looks like a photo copied version inside a color paperback cover. In fact, the very last page has print which says, "Made in USA, Lexington, KY, 27 August 2012". What a dishonest way to sell a book!! Nothing in the product description says this will be a black and white copied version of the book. There are no copyright pages or title pages. This is the worst purchase from Amazon I have ever made, and I will be returning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book celebrating life!, August 8, 2005
By 
Mari (Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
This was such a wonderful book to read and share, her story is beautifully told and prayers are inspirational. The artwork takes you to a place that brings the emotions of her story to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, September 17, 2007
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
This was a great purchase! The pictures are wonderful and the biography was very interesting. The only drawback I found was that it was too long and detailed for the audience I was reading to-8-10 year olds. Definitely one of my favorite subjects and will continue to be read in my home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Book!, April 18, 2005
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
Demi has written a beautiful book about this saintly woman. It is well written and beautifully illustrated, especially with the use of Indian prints. It is a fine tribute to a woman who will some day be canonized a saint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not a short book, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
long book, not a short bedtime story for children, this would take several days to read through (or hours). Pretty art of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Demi, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
I love all of the books Demi has written. The words and illustrations flow so beautifully together. Everyone should add Demi,to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a beautiful book that tells the life of MT. I bought it for my girls when we went to the Final Profession of my good friend becoming an MC. She read it and enjoyed it, but told me that MC's had never pulled buggies in India!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thorogh but Boring, July 21, 2011
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
A good gift or adult keepsake-type book, but rather boring for the under ten crowd. Too much info crammed in there for younger kids, combined with dry story-telling.

Again, a nice book with beautiful illustrations, but not very engaging for younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carol D. Reiser Book Award 2006, October 20, 2006
This review is from: Mother Teresa (Hardcover)
This book was awarded one of the top two recognitions for 2006 by the Metro Atlanta Corporate Volunteer Council. This award honors children's books that inspire community service and volunteerism in children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mother Teresa
Mother Teresa by Demi (Hardcover - February 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.