Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource and comfort, April 22, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
I found this book to be an excellent comfort, as well as a great practical resource. The book sensitively and honestly addresses the wide range of emotions I experienced after my child's birth--many of these emotions I didn't expect, and some scared me. I recommend this book to any expectant parent--I found it reassuring to turn to for support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding info and support for new mothers!, October 2, 2000
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
This book really helped me after the birth of my first child. So much info and support for all the things that nobody prepares you for. All the birth prep focuses on the actual birth, nothing for the feelings and challenges afterwards as a new Mom. This book does that. Especially helpful to me was the section on PPD.
Read it, before you need it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of postpartum needs, May 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
As a new mom and as a therapist specializing in postpartum issues, I highly recommend this book. It's an excellent resource for families expecting a baby, covering important topics such as postpartum depression and anxiety, building a support network, and how to plan for the postpartum period in order to make a smooth transition into parenthood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely helpful, November 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
I read this book for my postpartum doula certification. It is so helpful and really makes me feel more confident in working with new mothers. An excellent book that is a wonderful resource for anyone who has a friend or family member who is having a baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Perspective on Becoming a New Mother, August 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
I felt this book was insightful into some experiences that new mothers have. It was helpful to read that other mothers have experiences that were similar to my own at times. The book also gives a good perspective for partners, friends, doulas, or other family members about what a new mother may want/need during those first several weeks/months of development into a new parent.

Sometimes we think of the birth or pregnancy as the development into a parent and forget that the first year is quite the transformation as well. This book discusses that transformation from the perspective of women that have gone through it. A very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old, but good read!, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
It was written awhile ago, but Highly recommend this book! It is a good read doulas.. midwives.. anyone thats in education..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, May 13, 2014
By 
Rose Hill "rosehill_32" (Nacogdoches, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
This is a great resource for doulas to use. I would recommend reading it for anyone who wants to know more about post-partum period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for expectant parents, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
I wish every family expecting a baby could read this before the birth of the baby! No need to be super mom after the baby is born--mom needs help! Someone needs to take care of the new mom so she can take care of her baby. Make her some meals, clean the house, hug her, help change the babies diapers etc etc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intensive read, October 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide (Paperback)
This book is an intensive read for the post partum time. I have found it helpful, though the resources are not as helpful as I hoped;not a lot for the west coast. It's very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mothering the New Mother: Women's Feelings & Needs After Childbirth: A Support and Resource Guide
$19.99 $15.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.