Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Delivers The Goods Well
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care By Rollnick, Miller and Butler

As an experienced neurologist (read 'old')I have spent decades and read many books about interviewing: neurological, psychiatric, difficult, challenging, etc., etc. In serial publications over 20 years or more, Dr. Miller and others have refined the process of how to converse to...
Published on June 29, 2008 by M. Epstein

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being supportive is one of the most powerful ways to Inspire.
The big idea of this book is how you communicate with clients can greatly enhance their outcome of treatment. The book describes different styles, with many many examples of each style. Being supportive, compassionate, and empathetic is the most effective in inspiring behavior change.

Three things I learned from reading this book:
I learned that the...
Published on March 9, 2012 by Investigative Mom


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Delivers The Goods Well, June 29, 2008
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care By Rollnick, Miller and Butler

As an experienced neurologist (read 'old')I have spent decades and read many books about interviewing: neurological, psychiatric, difficult, challenging, etc., etc. In serial publications over 20 years or more, Dr. Miller and others have refined the process of how to converse to effectively motivate patients to do what (you think) they should do.

Doctors know that figuring out what a patient needs is only the beginning of the overall process. Selling the patient is important in medicine if optimum results are to be attained. This book is a communication guide. This book shows you how to convince the patient he needs and really wants to buy your product for his own good.

In an intelligent and logically organized fashion, this thin book (2-3 hours max to get through, but then more time later to restudy and refine technique) provides a matrix from which to work to induce your patient to internalize wanting and needing to do what he should do for optimal health. It shows physicians or counselors how to begin therapy after making a diagnosis and reinforces a teamlike approach where resistance or escapism can often show up.

If you recall the book The House of God, one of the first rules proferred was that the patient is always the one with the problem. This book guides the doctor to show the patient why he needs to take on his problem and be motivated to handle his part optimally for his own good.

As I improve my use of these straightforward techniques, I am considering jettisoning the ballpeen hammer I used to use for the same purpose. There is nothing earth shattering here. I have and likely we all have used these techniques at times, but this book puts it together as I suspect few of us have done as concisely independently.

I recommend this book strongly, and I would not buy any of the preceding ones (not that I have read them all, but it seems this book must be the denoument). This would be excellent reading in medical school and any time after. There is nothing this old dog likes better than learning and improving efficiency. Counseling is a big part of our job and one cannot help but improve technique and outcomes with these insights. My patients will fare better because I read this book and, well, what else is there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improving Communications in the Health Care encounter, March 30, 2008
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
Most patients feel rushed and not heard in their encounters with health care providers. This clearly written "how to" book provides principles and examples of conversation that can improve the quality of communication around life style change between provider and patient. Listening rather than telling, and guiding rather than directing or preaching are difficult skills for health providers. Giving the patient "a voice and a choice" in making changes in their unhealthy behaviors is essential to successful outcomes. This practical guide to health behavior change has made a difference in my practice when patients give me permimssion to discuss their drinking, smoking, drug use, over eating, fitness and seat belt use with them.

Edward Bernstein, MD
Board Certified in Emergency Medicine and Family Medicine
Professor and Vice Chair for Academic Affairs
Department of Emergency Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motivational Interviewing, February 15, 2008
A necessary read in my opinion! There are many practitioners that use a dominant directive style in patient education whos outcomes could benefit from this newer type of interviewing. It offers an approach that is empowering to the patient and allows the patient to discover their own will to work towards change. MI offers an approach that is more productive and it does not take more of the practitioners time. It is no quick fix though. MI takes time in practice for proficiency but, it is definately worth implementing! This book is an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I finally get it, March 20, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
MotivationalMotivational Interviewing is emerging as a best practice approach for a variety of conditions. It has been studied in addiction treatment, peer support, chronic disease management and a plethora of other settings. As a social worker over the years I have been exposed to many Motivational Interviewing trainings. This book is the best reference book I have found to explain motivational interviewing. If you are experienced in motivational interviewing or if you are new to the concepts this book can provide insight, tools and explanations for all levels. I think this book does a wonderful job talking about different styles such as directing, following and guiding. If you are new to MI and looking for a place to start this is a great book. If you have been using MI and are looking for inspiration to take your practice further this book will also be of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent training manual for health behavior change, December 30, 2007
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
This is an excellent training manual for motivational interviewing for health behavior change. It is an improvement over the previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, July 26, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed reading this book and learning about motivational interviewing. I was able to integrate some of the techniques into my weightloss counseling position. It is pretty magical when done right. I am going to take a class to further my skills which can best be done with practice and many more examples. However, I was still pleased with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear, focused, helpful, December 3, 2007
By 
C. Stevens (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to using MI in health care. Psychologists and trained therapists may find this a bit basic, but it is a useful tool for anyone wanting to work in behavioral health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, makes a lot of sense, October 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
I have really enjoyed this book. The foundation of the book encompasses two obvious principles that come together in a way that gives easy guidelines for assisting people with change. The first principle is that people who are not changing are stuck in ambiguity, where they are in a balancing act between reasons to change, and reasons to stay the same. The second principle is that people believe what they hear themselves say. So, if you approach a change by only giving the positive reasons that they should change (you should eat fewer simple carbohydrates because it will help your blood sugar stabilize), the person will voice back the balancing view point (but sugary stuff tastes really good!). Now that they have voiced the negative, the pull of not wanting to change has been stuck in their brain even more. This book gives definite strategies on how to get out of this cycle. It really has helped motivate some of my patients- and even my children on occasion! Buy the book to find out how!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars helping clients w behavioral change, May 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
this book is excellent for anyone who works wit clients that would benefit from lifestyle changes, such as weight loss, quitting smoking, ect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, August 23, 2009
By 
SMS "SMS" (Springfield, MO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Paperback)
Very informative book to help guide patients to realize they have the power to change their lifestyle. A great communication tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.