Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior (Applications of Motivational Interviewing (Paperback))
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 29, 2008
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care By Rollnick, Miller and Butler

As an experienced neurologist (read 'old')I have spent decades and read many books about interviewing: neurological, psychiatric, difficult, challenging, etc., etc. In serial publications over 20 years or more, Dr. Miller and others have refined the process of how to converse to effectively motivate patients to do what (you think) they should do.

Doctors know that figuring out what a patient needs is only the beginning of the overall process. Selling the patient is important in medicine if optimum results are to be attained. This book is a communication guide. This book shows you how to convince the patient he needs and really wants to buy your product for his own good.

In an intelligent and logically organized fashion, this thin book (2-3 hours max to get through, but then more time later to restudy and refine technique) provides a matrix from which to work to induce your patient to internalize wanting and needing to do what he should do for optimal health. It shows physicians or counselors how to begin therapy after making a diagnosis and reinforces a teamlike approach where resistance or escapism can often show up.

If you recall the book The House of God, one of the first rules proferred was that the patient is always the one with the problem. This book guides the doctor to show the patient why he needs to take on his problem and be motivated to handle his part optimally for his own good.

As I improve my use of these straightforward techniques, I am considering jettisoning the ballpeen hammer I used to use for the same purpose. There is nothing earth shattering here. I have and likely we all have used these techniques at times, but this book puts it together as I suspect few of us have done as concisely independently.

I recommend this book strongly, and I would not buy any of the preceding ones (not that I have read them all, but it seems this book must be the denoument). This would be excellent reading in medical school and any time after. There is nothing this old dog likes better than learning and improving efficiency. Counseling is a big part of our job and one cannot help but improve technique and outcomes with these insights. My patients will fare better because I read this book and, well, what else is there?
11 comment|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2008
Most patients feel rushed and not heard in their encounters with health care providers. This clearly written "how to" book provides principles and examples of conversation that can improve the quality of communication around life style change between provider and patient. Listening rather than telling, and guiding rather than directing or preaching are difficult skills for health providers. Giving the patient "a voice and a choice" in making changes in their unhealthy behaviors is essential to successful outcomes. This practical guide to health behavior change has made a difference in my practice when patients give me permimssion to discuss their drinking, smoking, drug use, over eating, fitness and seat belt use with them.

Edward Bernstein, MD
Board Certified in Emergency Medicine and Family Medicine
Professor and Vice Chair for Academic Affairs
Department of Emergency Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
11 comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2008
A necessary read in my opinion! There are many practitioners that use a dominant directive style in patient education whos outcomes could benefit from this newer type of interviewing. It offers an approach that is empowering to the patient and allows the patient to discover their own will to work towards change. MI offers an approach that is more productive and it does not take more of the practitioners time. It is no quick fix though. MI takes time in practice for proficiency but, it is definately worth implementing! This book is an easy read.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 20, 2009
MotivationalMotivational Interviewing is emerging as a best practice approach for a variety of conditions. It has been studied in addiction treatment, peer support, chronic disease management and a plethora of other settings. As a social worker over the years I have been exposed to many Motivational Interviewing trainings. This book is the best reference book I have found to explain motivational interviewing. If you are experienced in motivational interviewing or if you are new to the concepts this book can provide insight, tools and explanations for all levels. I think this book does a wonderful job talking about different styles such as directing, following and guiding. If you are new to MI and looking for a place to start this is a great book. If you have been using MI and are looking for inspiration to take your practice further this book will also be of help.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2007
This is an excellent training manual for motivational interviewing for health behavior change. It is an improvement over the previous books.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2008
I enjoyed reading this book and learning about motivational interviewing. I was able to integrate some of the techniques into my weightloss counseling position. It is pretty magical when done right. I am going to take a class to further my skills which can best be done with practice and many more examples. However, I was still pleased with this book.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2008
I have really enjoyed this book. The foundation of the book encompasses two obvious principles that come together in a way that gives easy guidelines for assisting people with change. The first principle is that people who are not changing are stuck in ambiguity, where they are in a balancing act between reasons to change, and reasons to stay the same. The second principle is that people believe what they hear themselves say. So, if you approach a change by only giving the positive reasons that they should change (you should eat fewer simple carbohydrates because it will help your blood sugar stabilize), the person will voice back the balancing view point (but sugary stuff tastes really good!). Now that they have voiced the negative, the pull of not wanting to change has been stuck in their brain even more. This book gives definite strategies on how to get out of this cycle. It really has helped motivate some of my patients- and even my children on occasion! Buy the book to find out how!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2007
This is an excellent introduction to using MI in health care. Psychologists and trained therapists may find this a bit basic, but it is a useful tool for anyone wanting to work in behavioral health.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
Discusses what is motivational interviewing, breaking down its key components and outlining how to practice it. Heavy on the examples (at least a whole chapter's worth), gives you a good idea of how to run a motivational interview w/ patients.

Has been a worthwhile read as I prep for my exam.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
As an exercise physiologist, I found this book to be invaluable. Most of us health care providers know what to tell our clients and patients to do, but we have a hard time getting them to actually do it. If that rings a bell with you, this book is for you. I only wish I would have had this knowledge years ago.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse