Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little things mean a lot to bicyclists
Okay, it doesn't use batteries, it doesn't light up, and it doesn't cost a lot. But this headset/boom mic is an essential accessory for the TalkAbouts for this simple reason: TalkAbouts have voice-operated control (VOX) when used with a plugin headset/mic. We have also evaluated the earbud/mic combo for bike riders and found it almost unworkable (it picks up road noise...
Published on January 10, 2000 by M. J. Mccaffrey

versus
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited
The headset is useful and seems a good deal compared to the price of the earbud with microphone, but the bulkiness somewhat defeats the purpose of the compact radio. The highest sensitivity setting on the VOX is too low for quiet environments; it's better to use the PTT mode at those times. The PTT works better either way, because there's a slight delay before the VOX...
Published on April 23, 2000 by TS Liotte


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little things mean a lot to bicyclists, January 10, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
Okay, it doesn't use batteries, it doesn't light up, and it doesn't cost a lot. But this headset/boom mic is an essential accessory for the TalkAbouts for this simple reason: TalkAbouts have voice-operated control (VOX) when used with a plugin headset/mic. We have also evaluated the earbud/mic combo for bike riders and found it almost unworkable (it picks up road noise and, to me, the earbud causes excruciating pain after a day of use). The headset is a much better solution. The band actually fits OVER a safety helmet, and the closed-foam-cell rubber pad grips the plastic shell securely. The boom mic rejects most road noise, and soon becomes forgotten in the course of routine use. (It quickly comes back to the foreground when I try to sip from my water bottle!) If you purchase one of the TalkAbouts, consider this as your second accessory purchase -- your first should be a carrying holster or case. Now, if Motorola would only agree on a partnership with JABRA Technologies to produce a JABRA Earset for the TalkAbouts, my happiness would be complete ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited, April 23, 2000
By 
TS Liotte (Hauppauge, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
The headset is useful and seems a good deal compared to the price of the earbud with microphone, but the bulkiness somewhat defeats the purpose of the compact radio. The highest sensitivity setting on the VOX is too low for quiet environments; it's better to use the PTT mode at those times. The PTT works better either way, because there's a slight delay before the VOX circuitry kicks in and begins transmitting. Generally the VOX is handiest in those situations where it's really necessary; i.e. no hands available to hit the button. Note also that if the transmit button is accidentally depressed, it reverts to PTT mode and the radio needs to be powered off and on again to reset to VOX mode. The earbud without microphone is the most cost effective way to use the radio; it allows for private conversation and allows the monitoring of conversations without holding the radio up to the ear, while giving best audio quality by using the built in microphone. Either earbud can be considered a necessity, while the headset is for more limited use applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Accessory To Have, April 1, 2000
By 
P C A Amory (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
Although this is a good accessory to have i wouldn't recommend it over the Ear Bud/Mic for skiing, especially if you wish to conceal it. I used one for half a day under my ski hat and goggles. While comforatable with just the hat as soon as the goggles are placed over it the strap squezes the ear piece against the ear which became increadably painfull after a while. Another draw back with this is that if another person is talking and you talk/laugh or breath heavily against the boom it cuts out the other person. Which can be very anoying. It also takes a while to cut in when you talk so you have to repeat yourself or say something prior to the message you actually wan't to give. One reason this accessory would be good to have is if you needed to use your radio while both your hands were being used (like riding / Manual Labour/Climbing) as with the earbud you need to be able to press the PTT button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best for Quiet Environments, June 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
In my experience, too, the VOX feature of this headset/FRS radio is too sensitive for use in amusement parks, and the like. As noted by other reviewers, hiking and cycling may be the activities best suited for this product . . . but don't position the MIC too close to your mouth when using VOX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, long lasting headset for two ways, August 21, 2005
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
I used this headset for about 3 years, first using it on a t289, then upgrading to a t6400. It was used as a convinient way to listen to radio broadcasts in a crowded situation and with a touch of a button, I can easily respond to any transmissions I need to.

The only con about this product, is that sometimes I forget that there's a mic near my mouth. Case in point, when I drank from a water fountain or from a cup, sometimes the liquid hits the mic before my mouth, but after numerous times doing that it still works, picking up my voice whenever I press the button.

I did try it with the VOX option on, but since I'm a heavy breather it always sent my breathing over the air to other users, so I learned to disable that, but it didn't interfer with my usage of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GRR...., August 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
Couldn't purchase more than two at a time. Needed 6. Very frustrating. The unit doesn't work with "All" walkies. Used these with Motorola talkabout 5500 series, and they kept jumping into VOX mode. Had to turn off the radio, turn it back on, and hit the TALK button to turn it off. Not sure if the headset is supposed to be used with that series or not, the packaging does NOT list that model, however, this seller states that it's compatable with all series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No PTT, July 5, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
Not a bad item, but there is no push-to-talk button on it, forcing you to use that horrible VOX. Heavy breathing, talking to other people (not intending on talking on the radio), any anything else loud in the area will trigger it.

If you like VOX, it's okay. Otherwise, there are other options on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Match, February 19, 2007
By 
Timothy J. Mott (Arcade, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
These Motorola Branded headphones matched the TalkAbout radios I had and seem to hold up physically well for the price. This is the second batch I bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what I need, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
I bought these to use with motorola 2-way radios for officiating swim meets. They work as well as I expected. They are not professional level headsets; but, they are good enough to make communications between officials understandable in very noisy conditions. They are a good buy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 more time, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola 53725 SLK Headset with Swivel Boom Mic (Black) (Electronics)
Love these. We use them at our Community Theatre for our Techs. Comfortable,clear, and durable. This is our 2nd order.No other choice when we expanded. Highly recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.