Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 8, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In February, I purchased two Motorola T325 Wireless Bluetooth Car Speaker Portable Vehicle Visor Mount with Auto Pairing For All Cell Phones and Smartphones- BLACK- Non-Retail Packaging. for my wife's and my vehicles and gave those units a 5-star review.

I requested a review unit of this T225 because the limitation of our T325 per-vehicle solution has been that if my wife and I swap cars, we don't have hands-free calling unless the first person out remembers to also swap the speakerphone units.

This T225 speakerphone pairs with multiple cell phones so that more than one person can use it hands-free. The extra people might be in the vehicle (which would be a little weird, as the microphone would typically be on the driver's sun visor). But, in a multi-driver household, any driver would have hands-free operation.

What's not to like? Well, all of the features of the T325 that this speakerphone does not have which make the T325 more "hands-free" than the T225.

This is a very basic, 'dumb' unit. When a phone rings, it announces that the call is for Phone 1, Phone 2, etc. If two paired phones are in the car, you have to have some idea which phone is 1 or 2 (etc) to know if it is your phone that is ringing or someone else's. Doesn't sound like a huge deal, but...

What about when only one of multiple paired phones is in the car? This phone simply rings and says that there is an incoming call. You have no idea who it is from. The T325 announces the caller by name. If you don't want to answer the call on this T225, you have to somehow press both the volume UP and DOWN buttons at the same time. With the T325, you just press a single button.

How about dialing? Both support voice dialing using your phones own voice-dialing feature. So, the intelligence depends on your phone itself. But, what about calling your 'favorites' or frequently called numbers? The T225 offers nothing. The T325 memorizes a list of favorite contacts and easily lets you scroll through the list with one button, listening to the name being announced and then pressing the dial button when the name comes up.

Entering the car, the T325 announces "Connected to John Smith's iPhone. Battery level is high" (e.g.) - while the T225 announces "Connected to Phone 1. Battery level is high." Receiving a call, the T325 announces "Call from David Jackson". The T225 announces "Call for Phone 1".

The T225 is so limited - its only real feature is the ability to pair with multiple phones - that I just cannot recommend it, when I consider how powerful and useful the T325 is.

I've posted a photo showing both the T225 and T325 clipped to the sun visor to compare their sizes/shapes.
review image
0Comment42 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 22, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Open it up, turn it on. Pair your phone with it.

That is it. The device is simple, it does one thing, and it does it well. Sound quality is clear, people say they can't tell I'm on a speakerphone (but I use Sprint and their voice quality is not so good.

There are other models that do more, I read the three star review, but I put it to you this way: You want a device that does one thing and does it well, and you want the battery to last as long as it can so that you can use your phone as long as you can. The more features you load on to the device, the more the battery wears down, and the harder it is to use, or the more likely you are to get it into an odd state.

It really is a top quality device, and I have nothing bad to say about it. Voice instructions for hookup, you really do not need the instructions.
0Comment24 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In a different product review, I proclaimed the Supertooth HD as a near-perfect Bluetooth device for hands-free use. I came up with a list of 14 criteria items. I will post that list here and that will show why I rate the Motorola T225 as 2-stars.

What makes the perfect car bluetooth speakerphone?
==============
1. It should have caller-id that speaks the name of the caller
The Motorola T225 does not have caller-id.

2. It should automatically turn on/off as you are away from the car
The T225 is pretty bad in this department. While it seems to have an auto-off, it will never turn itself back on unless you purposely move the micro-power-switch off and back on again. I tested this multiple times and it simply has no way to turn itself back on automatically. It is waaay too inconvenient to have to remember to turn this device off and back on each and every single time you enter your car.

3. It should have ample volume while driving at highway speeds
Volume on the T225 is pretty pathetic. The Supertooth HD is probably 4x louder.

4. You should only have to press a single and easily accessible button to answer or place a call
This is a really bad design on the T225. It has a mute button and an answer call button, both are the same size and you have to remember which button to press or...take your eyes off the road and look up to see which button you are pressing. Sure you will memorize it eventually, but the device is so small, if you're off by 2 inches, you'll press the wrong button.

5. It should make use of your phone's built-in voice recognition system (if your phone has this)
Confirmed, this works.

6. It should be easy to pair and auto-download your phone's contacts
Yes, easy to pair multiple phones, but there's no caller-id name announce, therefore, it does not store contacts. This is a huge deal-breaker - why have the fancy technology of bluetooth, if it won't announce who is calling you ?

7. It should reconnect easily when you are in the car
Does not do this at all once it has auto-turned itself off. You must physically move the power switch off and back on.

8. Callers should be able to hear you clearly at highway speeds
Callers seem to hear me fine, but I couldn't hear them because of the low speaker volume, with volume turned all the way up

9. The charging port should not be obstructed when the device is installed on a sunvisor
Not obstructed

10. It should have a long battery life
Seems to be as advertised, but probably because it turns itself completely off, you must manually turn it on each time after it auto-powers off.

11. It should be reliable whether it is -40 degrees in Fargo or the internal car temperature reaches 140 degrees in Texas
Unknown at this time

12. It should have good documentation or manufacturer's website and support
Motorola has always been good about this.

13. It should be usable whether the sun visor is flipped down or up
If you flip your visor, you must remove and reposition the device and visor mount.

14. It should be reasonably priced
Compared to the *feature packed* T325, this T225 is over-priced - it simply has no real features. If you're going to spend the same amount of money, get the T325 on Amazon. If you want a bluetooth device that matches the 14 criteria items above closer than any other device out there, for a reasonable price, get the Supertooth HD.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is truly a universal product. I have a 5 years, old fashioned cell phone from Samsung provided to me by Verizon, which was never happy with any other Bluetooth device. It worked with this one like a charm. Very easy to pair and connect, almost like plug-and-play. The product itself has a very beautiful design and speakerphone is very powerful. Even if you drive with your windows open, you can clearly hear the voice from your call. Battery lasts a lot. This is an excellent deal for the price.
I am extremely happy with this product and I recommend it to all users who experienced problems with other Bluetooth devices in the past.

Amazon.com was kind enough to provide this product for me through their Vine Program for reviewing and I was not request to provide a positive review. Opinions expressed here are my own.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 18, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've had this unit for a few months now, and I'm still running off the initial charge! Battery life is amazing, clarity is good, and the bluetooth range is greater than I had anticipated.
Pairing was simple, and re-establishing the connection is as easy as turning it off and on again. Big talk button, easy to hit even with gloves on. No complaints, I wish I'd gotten it sooner!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 26, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The only type of Bluetooth device that I'd used before this one was the one that sets in your ear. Other than the convenience of not having the hold the phone to your ear, I'm not really a fan of them. They feel funny in my ear and just always seemed awkward.

I like this unit. It's small and unobtrusive, since you clip it to your sun visor. I've trusted the Motorola brand and it's quality for over a decade now. Motorola has always provided a good product at a decent price in my opinion.

You can charge the speakerphone while it's in your car, but the connecting the cord is awkward while the unit is resting in your visor. What I've done is pull the unit down, leave it in the console, and charge it there. Since you can turn the speakerphone on and off on the side of the unit, I just turn it off while charging, place it back on the visor (unplugged) when I exit my vehicle so a nosy passerby doesn't see it in the console, and turn it back on when I get back in the car. It holds a charge so it doesn't have to be plugged in constantly. It uses the same charger as my cell phone (and my kindle) so that's convenient to avoid a bunch of tangled cords in your car, and it allows me to have backup chargers just in case.

It was easy to set up (if you read the directions and turn on the Bluetooth on your cell phone before turning on the Speakerphone) and I was using it within minutes. When I get out of the car, but want to continue the conversation, I simply turn off the Bluetooth on my cell phone and the conversation automatically transfers to the cell phone handset.

The sound quality was much better than I expected. The people I'm conversing with have had zero complaints about the sound quality, and neither do I. I've used it on regular roadways and on the freeway and no one can tell the difference - and I'm not driving an expensive car with great noise-reducing capabilities. I do sometimes have to adjust the volume on my end if the other party is too loud or not loud enough, but that's easy to do since the volume buttons are large enough and prominent on the Speakerphone.

I think this allows me to be a safer driver since I'm now hands-free, but at the same time I can enjoy a good quality sounding phone call without straining to hear.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The T225 Bluetooth speakerphone is similar in many ways to the company's T325, which I bought at a higher price. Now that they are both about the same price, the T325 is a far better value. The controls are more intuitive, the speaker sounds a little clearer, the voice prompts are more sophisticated (announces name of caller, turns on/off when you enter and leave the vehicle and announces it is paired along with telling you the battery level). The T325 is designed with a bit of a wedge shape so the speaker is slightly angled toward your face when mounted on a visor.

What the T225 is touted to have over other models is extremely long battery life. Although the T325 seems to last for a long time on a charge, the T225 lasts a lot longer, making it great for traveling while I leave my T325 in my own vehicle. The shape of the T225 is easier to slip in my pocket after turning in a rental car as well.

Both are well-made speakerphones, I just can't see buying the T225 when the T325 offers more at about the same price.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
Good volume and connect quickly. Does not reconnect automatically after you get out of the car and then re- enter. Better for use with hearing aids
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 27, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great speakerphone for connecting your bluetooth phone when in the car. The battery life is great. Unless you talk on phone a lot in the car, this speakerphone will last a few weeks without charging. Volume is also very loud and adjustable. The charger is your standard micro usb charger. It comes with the car charger as well. I'm sure you have a home charger lying around as so many smartphones have adopted the micro usb standard. Buttons are big and setup was easy. You could also set up the speakerphone to remember two devices. Lending the speakerphone to your wife/husband/son/daughter without having it forget your phone afterward is a great plus. I see no flaws on how effective this device is.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 29, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Since I was initially so pleased with the Motorola Roadster Bluetooth In-Car Speakerphone (Retail Packaging) in my car, I got this for my wife's car. Unfortunately, this one doesn't connect as readily as the Roadster, and I usually have to turn it off and then on again to get it to wake up. The audio quality isn't quite as good, either. On the plus side - the battery life in-between charging seems to be a little bit better, but I just found out the Roadster will no longer hold a charge and has to be plugged in to even work anymore (it lasted less than a year), so hopefully this one will do better.
22 comments1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.