Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
9
Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$299.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 5, 2008
This radio has the solid quality that you expect when you buy a Motorola Business Radio - with more flexibility at the user level than Mot has offered in the past. I ordered the radio with GMRS and Amateur frequencies programmed into it. With the FREE software from Motorola's website, I can select which 16 of 99 frequencies I want to use, I can change the CTCSS codes, and save different configurations. Since it can be programmed to work with repeaters, it is perfect for the 'ham' and GMRS repeaters while offering MUCH more reliable radio operation than the typical consumer radios offer. You get what you pay for...no excuses.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
I ordered this product for emergency purposes for our family.

Unfortunately, after multiple calls with Motorola and the FCC, the FCC says that this radio can only be used with a business license, and for business purposes. That means it's a complete no go for personal use (even if you are a business).

The FCC also noted that the information in the Motorola manual was incorrect wrt licensing: You cannot apply directly for a license, but instead need to work through an aggregator to purchase a license.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
though I am not a fan of carrying a radio I was charged with ordering a bunch (30) for staff including myself.
These radios work great in a large, heavy brick and steel high school that defeats cell phone reception attempts.
Versatile and intuitive frequency/channel/group selection and the ability to be cloned easily are among several of the great features of these radios.
After a full days use i have only lost a single bar of battery power by the end of the day, and these are built motorola radio tough so i know that they are durable enough for the long haul.
compact and lightweight, these radios are just the ticket for a school or business.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
This is a great radio for GMRS. All you have to do is contact Motorola and send them your frequency list and your license and they will send you the code plug. Buy the programming cable and download the free software from their website. You can set this radio up to use GMRS repeaters. Once you load the radio with your frequencies you can change the PL Codes from the front radio just like a bubblepack radio so you can use differnt repeaters that use the same frequency pair. Or you can just do it all from the software. The speaker is supper loud and clear for its size. Even if you turn it up all the way it's still clear. I was very impressed with its clarity. The mic is clear also and can be adjusted to three differnt mic gain levels. You can switch from repeater to direct easily by programming one of the buttons on the radio to do that. You can switch it from high to low power to conserve power. You can also set a scramle mode so that only other radios set to that same scramble code will here you. This radio comes with a high capacity Lithium Ion battery 2400 milliamps. I bought the rapid rate charger because it only comes with the slow charger.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
GREAT RADIO BUILT TO LAST, I WAS VERY PLEASED THIS RADIO WAS BUILT WITH THE END USER IN MIND, FUNCTIONED WELL AND PRICE WAS FAIR AND WORTH IT
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2012
I use this at a club (I'm a DJ) it is really loud and clear! Really good durable quality. I recommend If you are planning to use a two way radio outside in the rain or snow get one without a lcd screen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
After doing some research on the radio and seller..only authorized resellers can distribute this radio and RKW is not an authorized radio dealer. Do not buy this product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
I have problems charging the battery (new battery ) it takes forever to charge the battery.
Approximately 36 hours for full battery charging.
Too much time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
Great radio, range and toughness all in one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.