Customer Reviews


5,013 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,513)
4 star:
 (697)
3 star:
 (239)
2 star:
 (201)
1 star:
 (363)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,675 of 1,711 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Motorola charger in retail packaging. 4.75-5.25V 950mA output, works w/ most micro-USB phones like Incredible, etc.
There are so many sketchy sellers selling phone chargers out there, that it can be a bit scary. The problem is that if the charger is poorly made, the output of the charger can be out of spec and can, in some cases, fry the phone you connect to it.

For that reason, when it comes to phone chargers, you should stick to name brands. (They are all made in China,...
Published on June 11, 2010 by David Pearlman

versus
851 of 925 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Fake" version of this charger was shipped to me
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:10 Mins
The version of this charger shipped to me is a knock-off. There is no Motorola sticker, the micro-USB connector end is a snap-together part, rather than overmolded like the real version. The PVC cable overmold is mis-shaped, the contact springs are weak and the fit and finish of the plastic parts are low quality. So, it is just a car charger,...
Published on May 8, 2011 by Scott Somers


‹ Previous | 1 2502 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,675 of 1,711 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Motorola charger in retail packaging. 4.75-5.25V 950mA output, works w/ most micro-USB phones like Incredible, etc., June 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are so many sketchy sellers selling phone chargers out there, that it can be a bit scary. The problem is that if the charger is poorly made, the output of the charger can be out of spec and can, in some cases, fry the phone you connect to it.

For that reason, when it comes to phone chargers, you should stick to name brands. (They are all made in China, but the name brand ones are usually subject to stricter QA).

When I found this charger on Amazon, SOLD BY AMAZON, I jumped on it. It's a MICRO USB car charger, made for Motorola and sold under the Motorola name, in retail packaging. The rated output is 4.75-5.25V and 950mA.

This charger should work fine with most any phone that uses the MICRO USB connector. The key number to pay attention to is the second one, the rated amperage. This is the MAXIMUM amount of current that the phone can request from the charger. A typical USB port on a PC provides as little as 100mA, and few provide more than 500mA. So this charger should charge your phone faster than when it's connected to a PC. A few phones out now can use up to 1000mA. But that just means they CAN use that amount. If 950mA is provided, they'll still charge, just a bit more slowly.

Note that the amperage (second number) merely tells you how much the charger CAN supply, if requested. The phone itself is responsible for asking for the current. That is to say, if this charger can provide 950mA, but your phone can only use 300mA--no problem. Your phone asks for 300mA and the charger provides all of what is requested. If, on the other hand, your phone can use 1000mA, this charger will provide all it can, which is 950mA--a wee bit less than the max asked for. That's also not a problem; it just means your phone will charge a little bit (not much in this case) more slowly. The rated voltage for this charger is presented in a range of 4.75-5.25V. The "ideal" voltage for a USB charger of any type if 5V. And most chargers for home use are rated right at 5V. But car chargers work in a noisier environment and thus you have the range. This is where a cheapo charger can really do damage, as some of them are poorly regulated and can provide voltages that are WAY out of spec. Again, when you can get a name brand charger from a seller you can trust (Amazon) for such a reasonable price, it's very foolish to consider the cheapo no-names.

This is an excellent quality name brand travel micro USB charger at a price that beats the no-name junk from third party sellers. What's not to like?

BE SURE TO ORDER IT FROM AMAZON AND NOT ONE OF THE THIRD PARTY SELLERS, as some of those have been known to make mistakes with respect to what they ship relative to the listing. I can confirm that Amazon is shipping the P513 /89143N charger, as pictured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


239 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-charges the HTC Incredible, August 19, 2010
By 
David C. Veeneman (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use my Droid Incredible as my primary GPS car navigator, so I needed a car charger that could keep up with the power needs of Google Maps with the GPS running. The Belkin USB adapter says it puts out 1A, but my Incredible showed that is was only getting a trickle-charge (500 mA) from it, because the Belkin charger does not implement the latest USB charger standard (short the data pins for a fast charge).

This charger shows up as an AC charger on my Incredible, and it is able to charge my phone even while I am using it for GPS navigation. Recommended for any newer phone that uses a micro-USB connector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


851 of 925 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Fake" version of this charger was shipped to me, May 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola Vehicle Power Adapter micro-USB Rapid Rate Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Length:: 1:10 Mins

The version of this charger shipped to me is a knock-off. There is no Motorola sticker, the micro-USB connector end is a snap-together part, rather than overmolded like the real version. The PVC cable overmold is mis-shaped, the contact springs are weak and the fit and finish of the plastic parts are low quality. So, it is just a car charger, right? Maybe. But what if the electronics are sub-standard also? What if the PVC overmold is contaminated as well? I am going to return this item and not plug it into Wife's phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Motorola charger. 4.75-5.25V 950mA output -- be sure to buy from a reliable vendor like Amazon, January 1, 2011
This review is from: Motorola Vehicle Power Adapter micro-USB Rapid Rate Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
First things first: IF (and that's IF) you get the genuine OEM Motorola charger listed here, the SPN5400/P513/89143N, it works great with modern smart phones like the Motorola Droid, The Incredible, The Google Nexus One, etc. Basically, if your phone has a micro USB connector (and almost all of the newer generation smart phones do), then this is the charger for you.

That said: Not every seller is selling the right item. There are lots of reports of people getting the wrong charger (I've had this happen myself). Your best bet: Amazon, who not only IS selling the correct charger, but has the best price, when you factor in shipping, provided you qualify for free shipping from Amazon (either with Prime, or if your order is > $25).

The Amazon-as-seller listing for this charger can be found here, at least at the time of this review. Search through the sellers to find Amazon. Their price, if you get free shipping from Amazon, is the cheapest, or close to it. And you are guaranteed of getting the correct item, brand new, retail.

OK, that said, here's the rest of my review:

There are so many sketchy sellers selling phone chargers out there, that it can be a bit scary. The problem is that if the charger is poorly made, the output of the charger can be out of spec and can, in some cases, fry the phone you connect to it.

For that reason, when it comes to phone chargers, you should stick to name brands. (They are all made in China, but the name brand ones are usually subject to stricter QA).

When I found this charger on Amazon, SOLD BY AMAZON, I jumped on it. It's a MICRO USB car charger, made for Motorola and sold under the Motorola name, in retail packaging. The rated output is 4.75-5.25V and 950mA.

This charger should work fine with most any phone that uses the MICRO USB connector. The key number to pay attention to is the second one, the rated amperage. This is the MAXIMUM amount of current that the phone can request from the charger. A typical USB port on a PC provides as little as 100mA, and few provide more than 500mA. So this charger should charge your phone faster than when it's connected to a PC. A few phones out now can use up to 1000mA. But that just means they CAN use that amount. If 950mA is provided, they'll still charge, just a bit more slowly.

Note that the amperage (second number) merely tells you how much the charger CAN supply, if requested. The phone itself is responsible for asking for the current. That is to say, if this charger can provide 950mA, but your phone can only use 300mA--no problem. Your phone asks for 300mA and the charger provides all of what is requested. If, on the other hand, your phone can use 1000mA, this charger will provide all it can, which is 950mA--a wee bit less than the max asked for. That's also not a problem; it just means your phone will charge a little bit (not much in this case) more slowly. The rated voltage for this charger is presented in a range of 4.75-5.25V. The "ideal" voltage for a USB charger of any type if 5V. And most chargers for home use are rated right at 5V. But car chargers work in a noisier environment and thus you have the range. This is where a cheapo charger can really do damage, as some of them are poorly regulated and can provide voltages that are WAY out of spec. Again, when you can get a name brand charger from a seller you can trust (Amazon) for such a reasonable price, it's very foolish to consider the cheapo no-names.

This is an excellent quality name brand travel micro USB charger at a price that beats the no-name junk from third party sellers. What's not to like?

BE SURE TO ORDER IT FROM AMAZON AND NOT ONE OF THE THIRD PARTY SELLERS, as some of those have been known to make mistakes with respect to what they ship relative to the listing. I can confirm that Amazon is shipping the P513 /89143N /SPN5400 charger, as pictured.

One last note: This charger is alternatively sold as the P513, the 89143N OR the SPN5400. These numbers all refer to the same charger. A different product number is assigned depending on the channel through which the charger has been sold. But they are all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great With Motorola Droid From Verizon, November 23, 2009
This charger is so much better value than the overprice charger Verizon sells for the Droid. It's a standard micro USB port on the Droid and this charger charges the phone flawlessly. Nice blue light, very well made, professional look, great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only lasted 6 months, May 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola Vehicle Power Adapter micro-USB Rapid Rate Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
It worked great at first, but stopped charging about 6 months into owning it. It seems to be an issue with the cord. If I bend the cord a certain way, it will charge for a brief moment, then stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works with Samsung Captivate, August 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't really have anything to add about the charger other than noting another phone that it works with. This is just some information for those concerned since the Captivate has a recessed micro usb port covered by a sliding door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome at Night!, October 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola Vehicle Power Adapter micro-USB Rapid Rate Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This charger works perfectly on my HTC Evo 3G and my Samsung Galaxy S3. In addition to a sporty look, it lights up the the entire floorboard with an awesome blue LED light at night. I bought two of these, one for the wife and I. Both arrived perfectly and we love them

Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for HTC EVO 4g, January 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motorola Vehicle Power Adapter micro-USB Rapid Rate Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this for HTC EVO 4g. I like the blue light on this car charger and it charges my phone just fine Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some companies send garbage chargers, not the P513, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered the P513 charger (on the Amazon website, under Features the part number is listed as 89143N; this is the correct part number for P513).
However, instead of 89143N, I received instead charger 5400A, which is NOT P513 (according to Motorola 5400A does not exist).
Some of the small companies are dishonest. Stay away from such companies, and check the charger part number after receiving it.
Obviously, the wrong charger can damage your phone.
Too many crooks are selling through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2502 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.