Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Motorola Vehicle Power Adapter micro-USB Charger
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Color: Black/Blue|Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 11, 2010
There are so many sketchy sellers selling phone chargers out there, that it can be a bit scary. The problem is that if the charger is poorly made, the output of the charger can be out of spec and can, in some cases, fry the phone you connect to it.

For that reason, when it comes to phone chargers, you should stick to name brands. (They are all made in China, but the name brand ones are usually subject to stricter QA).

When I found this charger on Amazon, SOLD BY AMAZON, I jumped on it. It's a MICRO USB car charger, made for Motorola and sold under the Motorola name, in retail packaging. The rated output is 4.75-5.25V and 950mA.

This charger should work fine with most any phone that uses the MICRO USB connector. The key number to pay attention to is the second one, the rated amperage. This is the MAXIMUM amount of current that the phone can request from the charger. A typical USB port on a PC provides as little as 100mA, and few provide more than 500mA. So this charger should charge your phone faster than when it's connected to a PC. A few phones out now can use up to 1000mA. But that just means they CAN use that amount. If 950mA is provided, they'll still charge, just a bit more slowly.

Note that the amperage (second number) merely tells you how much the charger CAN supply, if requested. The phone itself is responsible for asking for the current. That is to say, if this charger can provide 950mA, but your phone can only use 300mA--no problem. Your phone asks for 300mA and the charger provides all of what is requested. If, on the other hand, your phone can use 1000mA, this charger will provide all it can, which is 950mA--a wee bit less than the max asked for. That's also not a problem; it just means your phone will charge a little bit (not much in this case) more slowly. The rated voltage for this charger is presented in a range of 4.75-5.25V. The "ideal" voltage for a USB charger of any type if 5V. And most chargers for home use are rated right at 5V. But car chargers work in a noisier environment and thus you have the range. This is where a cheapo charger can really do damage, as some of them are poorly regulated and can provide voltages that are WAY out of spec. Again, when you can get a name brand charger from a seller you can trust (Amazon) for such a reasonable price, it's very foolish to consider the cheapo no-names.

This is an excellent quality name brand travel micro USB charger at a price that beats the no-name junk from third party sellers. What's not to like?

BE SURE TO ORDER IT FROM AMAZON AND NOT ONE OF THE THIRD PARTY SELLERS, as some of those have been known to make mistakes with respect to what they ship relative to the listing. I can confirm that Amazon is shipping the P513 /89143N charger, as pictured.
6969 comments| 1,824 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2010
I use my Droid Incredible as my primary GPS car navigator, so I needed a car charger that could keep up with the power needs of Google Maps with the GPS running. The Belkin USB adapter says it puts out 1A, but my Incredible showed that is was only getting a trickle-charge (500 mA) from it, because the Belkin charger does not implement the latest USB charger standard (short the data pins for a fast charge).

This charger shows up as an AC charger on my Incredible, and it is able to charge my phone even while I am using it for GPS navigation. Recommended for any newer phone that uses a micro-USB connector.
55 comments| 265 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2011
The version of this charger shipped to me is a knock-off. There is no Motorola sticker, the micro-USB connector end is a snap-together part, rather than overmolded like the real version. The PVC cable overmold is mis-shaped, the contact springs are weak and the fit and finish of the plastic parts are low quality. So, it is just a car charger, right? Maybe. But what if the electronics are sub-standard also? What if the PVC overmold is contaminated as well? I am going to return this item and not plug it into Wife's phone.
7979 comments| 958 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
*I have included pictures comparing the "fake" and real car chargers (see customer images on product page).*

Unfortunately my first purchase of this product was not from Amazon (From: DC_Tomes) and I received the "fake" version. I was able to determine this based on Scott Somers "Scott" video review. I then bought a second charger (making sure Amazon was the seller)to see if there was a difference. I did not use this first "fake" charger due to the fear of harming my phone. Upon arrival of my second (Amazon sold) charger I noticed that there was indeed many noticeable differences between the two.

Differences:
-The sticker on the bottom of the real one was in a brown color and many of the symbols have a dotted texture to them. The "fake" one has silver writing and no textures whatsoever.
-The part where one would grasp to insert the charger into a phone was substantially different. The real one has a Motorola Symbol and some texture on the top. On the bottom of the real one there is a holographic sticker. The "fake" version had none of these qualities but it was a little bulkier and is visibly held together by plastic clasps on the side.
-The part reinforcing the wire where it comes out of the charger is also thicker on the real one.
-The clear Motorola Symbol (that lights up blue) on the real one seems to be made up of tiny raised dots while the "fake" one resembles frosted glass.

The real version of this product is Great! I use it for my Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Verizon) and it does the job very well. It also works very well with my Girlfriends HTC Inspire 4G. The real version charges my phone much faster than a Griffin Dual USB port Griffin Powerjolt Dual Universal USB Micro that I had bought for my car.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 1, 2011
First things first: IF (and that's IF) you get the genuine OEM Motorola charger listed here, the SPN5400/P513/89143N, it works great with modern smart phones like the Motorola Droid, The Incredible, The Google Nexus One, etc. Basically, if your phone has a micro USB connector (and almost all of the newer generation smart phones do), then this is the charger for you.

That said: Not every seller is selling the right item. There are lots of reports of people getting the wrong charger (I've had this happen myself). Your best bet: Amazon, who not only IS selling the correct charger, but has the best price, when you factor in shipping, provided you qualify for free shipping from Amazon (either with Prime, or if your order is > $25).

The Amazon-as-seller listing for this charger can be found here, at least at the time of this review. Search through the sellers to find Amazon. Their price, if you get free shipping from Amazon, is the cheapest, or close to it. And you are guaranteed of getting the correct item, brand new, retail.

OK, that said, here's the rest of my review:

There are so many sketchy sellers selling phone chargers out there, that it can be a bit scary. The problem is that if the charger is poorly made, the output of the charger can be out of spec and can, in some cases, fry the phone you connect to it.

For that reason, when it comes to phone chargers, you should stick to name brands. (They are all made in China, but the name brand ones are usually subject to stricter QA).

When I found this charger on Amazon, SOLD BY AMAZON, I jumped on it. It's a MICRO USB car charger, made for Motorola and sold under the Motorola name, in retail packaging. The rated output is 4.75-5.25V and 950mA.

This charger should work fine with most any phone that uses the MICRO USB connector. The key number to pay attention to is the second one, the rated amperage. This is the MAXIMUM amount of current that the phone can request from the charger. A typical USB port on a PC provides as little as 100mA, and few provide more than 500mA. So this charger should charge your phone faster than when it's connected to a PC. A few phones out now can use up to 1000mA. But that just means they CAN use that amount. If 950mA is provided, they'll still charge, just a bit more slowly.

Note that the amperage (second number) merely tells you how much the charger CAN supply, if requested. The phone itself is responsible for asking for the current. That is to say, if this charger can provide 950mA, but your phone can only use 300mA--no problem. Your phone asks for 300mA and the charger provides all of what is requested. If, on the other hand, your phone can use 1000mA, this charger will provide all it can, which is 950mA--a wee bit less than the max asked for. That's also not a problem; it just means your phone will charge a little bit (not much in this case) more slowly. The rated voltage for this charger is presented in a range of 4.75-5.25V. The "ideal" voltage for a USB charger of any type if 5V. And most chargers for home use are rated right at 5V. But car chargers work in a noisier environment and thus you have the range. This is where a cheapo charger can really do damage, as some of them are poorly regulated and can provide voltages that are WAY out of spec. Again, when you can get a name brand charger from a seller you can trust (Amazon) for such a reasonable price, it's very foolish to consider the cheapo no-names.

This is an excellent quality name brand travel micro USB charger at a price that beats the no-name junk from third party sellers. What's not to like?

BE SURE TO ORDER IT FROM AMAZON AND NOT ONE OF THE THIRD PARTY SELLERS, as some of those have been known to make mistakes with respect to what they ship relative to the listing. I can confirm that Amazon is shipping the P513 /89143N /SPN5400 charger, as pictured.

One last note: This charger is alternatively sold as the P513, the 89143N OR the SPN5400. These numbers all refer to the same charger. A different product number is assigned depending on the channel through which the charger has been sold. But they are all the same.
33 comments| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2011
It worked great at first, but stopped charging about 6 months into owning it. It seems to be an issue with the cord. If I bend the cord a certain way, it will charge for a brief moment, then stop.
3030 comments| 94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2009
This charger is so much better value than the overprice charger Verizon sells for the Droid. It's a standard micro USB port on the Droid and this charger charges the phone flawlessly. Nice blue light, very well made, professional look, great price.
11 comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
I searched and searched for an affordable car charger for my new Samsung Galaxy S3 and then I stumbled on this one. I read the reviews to see if anyone tried it with an S3 and I saw quite a few positive reviews. I bought it for less than $5 and gave it a try. It worked great and charged my phone pretty quickly, even while using GPS and streaming music. I think that this device puts out about 950 mah, which is adequate for most phones. One of the reasons it works so well is because my phone detects it as an AC charger allowing for a better and faster charge. Plus, this device looks nice and lights up blue when plugged in. I would definitely recommend it. I actually just bought a second one because I like it so much.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2012
I bought this direct from Amazon (Prime shipping, 2-day was free), and received the charger in OEM packaging (not retail packaging) the next day. (I love Prime!) The inner bag identifies it as a SPN5400A, part #11224-0817337; both numbers are on the charger, though the second is 11224-CC-0817337, and also has CHR-0291 imprinted on it. (Check the image gallery.) The outer bag carried the part #PVN1616, and a barcoded number, 760492-013772, I don't know what those are, stocking codes?

As demonstrated in another buyer's video review, the MicroUSB plug has a holographic QA sticker (doesn't have Motorola logo, just a "check mark" graphic). The obverse of the plug has the Motorola "M" clearly and cleanly molded into it. The plug is molded as one, solid piece. The charger portion is okay, nothing fancy or super-solid, but it holds together. Part numbers are clearly printed on it. It also has a handy little clip on the cord (visible in the first product image) that lets you keep the cord together, either in storage or in use.

Pardon the pun, but the proof is in the plug-in. As measured on my HTC Amaze 4G, this charger provides up to 800mA of charging current while plugged into an AC adapter, compared with 400mA from a similar Duracell car charger. In my car, the charger provides slightly less, but still sufficient to charge the phone while Waze is working (which uses the display, GPS receiver, and 4G network for maps). This is what I've been looking for, as other lesser chargers actually let the phone's battery drain down due to insufficient charging current. A charger that provides ~800mA - 900mA means the difference of an hour or so LESS to completely charge up, compared with a ~300mA - 400mA charger, if the phone is not in use.

Because so many buyers of this and other chargers complain of counterfeit or substituted products for what are listed as OEM replacements, I urge you to buy only direct from Amazon. Ensure the transaction is covered by Amazon's usual product return guarantee, so that if you do get a substitution or fake, you can return it for a full refund, without paying for shipping. Until Amazon cracks down on sellers' misleading listings, you are really walking into the lion's den slathered with A-1 sauce when you take a chance on a third party seller, just to save a few dollars.
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
This charger works perfectly on my HTC Evo 3G and my Samsung Galaxy S3. In addition to a sporty look, it lights up the the entire floorboard with an awesome blue LED light at night. I bought two of these, one for the wife and I. Both arrived perfectly and we love them

Thanks!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 606 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.