Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Stars for Boyz II Men's excellent tribute
It's disgusting and disheartening that a great group like Boyz II Men even has to MAKE a tribute album or that their last full-length album was released exclusively online and in Japan.

Worse yet is the seemingly rampant idea that the Boyz should stop recording because they "just don't sound the same" without Bass (Mike McCary).

Unforgivable is the...
Published on November 15, 2007 by Salih C. Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but its Boyz II Men
This album of covers has some shining points. If you're a Boyz II Men fan, you can't be too mad at hearing the guys again (minus Michael). If you're a fan of their harmony (and who isn't) some of these tracks really do show off the harmony that made this group so distinct and why their name lasts even though they're way past the prime of their careers. Check out the...
Published on October 23, 2008 by Promisedland


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Stars for Boyz II Men's excellent tribute, November 15, 2007
By 
Salih C. Alexander (Woodbridge, Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
It's disgusting and disheartening that a great group like Boyz II Men even has to MAKE a tribute album or that their last full-length album was released exclusively online and in Japan.

Worse yet is the seemingly rampant idea that the Boyz should stop recording because they "just don't sound the same" without Bass (Mike McCary).

Unforgivable is the statement by one idiotic reviewer (who, incidentally, can't even spell or use proper grammar) that this sounds like something a "soccer mom" would make and that it was cheesy because of Randy Jackson's involvement.

The fact of the matter is that people went out and made Ja Rule's remake/sampling of Stevie Wonder's "Do I do" (featuring Case-CASE!!!) a multi-platinum hit. No one complained about a classless rapper "tainting" an old song.

No one pointed out that Lauryn Hill's vocals on "Killing me Softly" were, well, SOFT and nowhere NEAR the original version.

I mean, really...PHARRELL comes out and gets FEATURED as a GUEST VOCALIST on rap songs...and people just laugh it off.

J. Lo, Britney Spears, Mya, Ciara...the list goes on and on of artists who are WHOLLY unworthy to even think about sampling great artists.

And let's not even THINK about forgetting good 'ole Mary J. Blige, who jacked a whole album worth of classic soul songs to PUT HERSELF ON THE MAP.

And with that, I begin my short argument.

First of all, Boyz II Men is--hands down--the greatest male vocal group of the past 17 years of R&B. It's not even close. ONE--JUST ONE--of their albums--II--sold more records and won more awards that Jagged Edge's and 112's ENTIRE CATALOGS PUT TOGETHER...

Second, before the Boyz even endeavored to make this and Throwback, they had already come out with FOUR studio albums, a Spanish album, a platinum Christmas album (that remains the best Christmas album of this generation), and a remix album. This doesn't include chart-topping or near hits that did NOT appear on their albums like "End of the Road", "One Sweet Day" with Mariah Carey, and "I Will Get There" (Prince of Egypt).

The Boyz didn't NEED to ESTABLISH themselves with this record. They merely RE-INTRODUCED some hits from Motown WHILE RE-INTRODUCING THEMSELVES.

Who else could sing "War" like the Boyz did here? Who else could do an acappella version of "End of the Road" featuring the incomparable singer (more comparable song-WRITER, lol), Brian McKnight? With whom else would Patti LaBelle perform "Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing" by Ashford and Simpson?

112? Not together.
Dru Hill? Too many personality issues...not together or on hiatus...
Jagged Edge? PLEASE. They sing WELL together, but there is NO HARMONY.

Who else IS there???

I realize that attrition is not the strongest argument, so how about this one...The album is actually a 4 1/2 star album.

The production is SUPPOSED TO SOUND DATED because the SONGS are from the 60's and 70's.

I'll admit that the only song I wasn't feeling was "Reach Out". The Boyz' voices don't fit that song. I also think that the Ribbon in the Sky acappella version was beautiful, but loses the individuality of the original and may upset some fans.

However...

"War" (what is-a good for, absolutely nothing) may make some newer listeners think about "Rush Hour"...but that song is SOOOOOOOO appropriate for the times.

"Got to be There" was a very beautiful song.

"Ain't nothing like the real thing--very soulful (actually this whole album has a lot more soul than we are used to from the Boyz and THAT IS GOOD.)

"Easy" was just magnificent--it's a tie between that one and "War" for the best song on the album.

"End of the Road"--yes, it's different without Mike, but he was never the centerpiece of the group...the other members sang all of the leads and his presence, while missed, is not fatal.

"All My Love"--wow...just WOW.

No, the album isn't perfect, but neither was "II"--which is considered the group's best.

It's more in line with "Nathan Michael Shawn Wanya", which was considered a very good album.

Pick it up and listen to it all the way through...This album made me think of my childhood (I'm 31) growing up with Mom (RIP) and Dad listening to these classics...what will it remind you of??

4 1/2 stars...Very good album--WAYYYYYYYYY better than any other male vocalists out there.

P.S. Please do not be so spoiled by the relative greatness of Boyz II Men's airtight vocals that you can't appreciate living (and still young--mid-thirties) legends. People do that with Take 6.

John Stephens may call himself a legend, but the Boyz don't have to--Let's stand up and give them the ovation they deserve--as LIVING LEGENDS.

Salih Alexander, Esquire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II Men is without a doubt the greatest R&B group of this generation, November 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
Their vocals are beyond amazing, and if you've ever heard them sing live, a capella (like I had the pleasure of doing not so long ago), then you can't deny their talent. They are true vocalists, and something the music industry is SORELY lacking. This album is wonderful, and listening to the old classics in their familiar voices was a pleasant treat. I hope I have the next 20+ years to enjoy their beautiful harmonies and soul stirring songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Harmony Kings Are Back, November 13, 2007
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
At one point Boyz II Men were the biggest R&B group in the world but as Hip Hop and Rap took over, four part harmony and good old fashioned R&B sadly disappeared from the charts. With their eighth CD and second cover album, the Boyz II easily provides the listener with plenty of ear candy. The CD opens with an amazing cover of The Temptations' "Just My Imagination" where Shawn Stockmen's vocals are easily on par with Eddie Kendrick's classic falsetto. Other notable covers include Debarge's All This Love, The Commodores Easy and one of my personal favorite's Smokey Robinson's & The Miracles' The Tracks Of My Tears. Although impossible at this point to add anything to the likes of "It's the Same Old Song," "Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing," or "Money (That's What I Want)" -- no matter how well they are handled, the Boyz easily get the listener's attention again with acapella covers of Ribbon In The Sky and their classic slow jam End Of The Road. All in all a great album for the young and the young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Fans Will Love This CD, November 25, 2007
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
I saw Boyz live last night in concert and let me tell you, they are still as good as ever! They sang a few songs from this new cd and the audience was blown away. They even did old school dance moves to them. My hubby and I bought the cd right away! This is a much recommended cd to any true Boyz II Men fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i'm glad, November 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
That the guys are even still out there doing their thing...yes Mike McCrary will be missed and he was the part of the group that solidified Boys II Men's singing. But it's cool that they released a collection of Motown covers now i didnt enjoy everyone of the songs. I did find that i enjoyed the vast majority especially the Ribbon in the Sky (A Capella) and All This Love to name a couple.

It's a collection that most Boyz II Men fans should check out even if you only listen to it here and download a song or two. Give this one a try if you don't like it. Its all good its something that takes a few listens to appreciate a bit more.

Solid effort by the guys but i would prefer a new cd of their songs to this anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOOOOOOOO worth the wait!!, November 22, 2007
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
Ever since I saw them live in Mississauga singing these Motown Hits I was waiting for this album to come along. I picked it up the day it released just before my Tuesday 3 hour commute and those 3 hours flew by like nothing!! Their voices are incredible and that acapella "End of the Road" is just such a treat. Beautiful... it's perfect, simply put. Whether you're in the mood for something smooth and soulful or something upbeat that you can move to - this is it. This is the album. It's been playing in my car since November 13th and I am not planning on taking it out anytime soon... unless my car breaks down!! I've never heard any amount of voices come together so perfectly - no one can come close to these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, November 13, 2007
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
Boyz II Men did a good job with this album. I would not be surprise if it's number 1 on the chart. Their harmony is magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God they're back!!!!, November 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Boyz II Men since "Cooleyhighharmony" and I was 10 yrs old when that CD was released! Although all of the original members are not on this CD, it is still a wonderful collection. It has that true harmony that Boyz II Men fans have come to know and love! I heard "Just My Imagination" on the Steve Harvey Morning Show this morning and I KNEW that when I got home this evening, I HAD to download it! This was a great purchase...and it's a good idea to download it from iTunes b/c there is a bonus track ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motown Men, December 18, 2007
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
When Motown deteriorated into psychedlic, and later, disco music, I stopped listening to popular music. Thirty-seven years later, Boyz II Men not only revive "classical" Motown, but sing with beautiful harmonies.
The cd is a loving and mellifluous tribute to my Motor City.
My only quibble is that I did not recognize every song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comeback for Boyz II Men!, December 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA (Audio CD)
Boyz II Men's new album undoubtedly demonstrates their musical talent. Their previous album the Remedy was horrible. They need to stick to producing music like they have done on previous albums (such as CooleyHighHarmony, II, Evolution, Nathan Michael Shawn & Wanya, Full Circle, and Throwback). I'm a huge fan of classic R&B and Soul, and albums like Throwback and Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA are remarkable. What I like the most about Throwback and Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA are how Boyz II Men put their own musical style into it, but stay true to the original songs. Now a day's too many artists are recreating classic hits, and are butchering them! If you want to enjoy an entertaining and easy listening CD then Boyz II Men's Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA
Motown A Journey Through Hitsville USA by Boyz II Men (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.