Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, illustrations now available for Kindle
This is a great book, obviously, and has been the mountaineering bible for years. The Kindle edition, however, is a bad purchase. It lacks all of the charts that accompany the text! Want to view the Equipment checklist, figure 2.3? Think again! You're SOL. Feel like I was ripped off.

EDIT 4/1/12
Unclear if the publisher updated the book, or if I have an...
Published on March 9, 2012 by R. Giuliani

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good all-around book - but better is anow available IMHO
This book has long been considered 'The Bible' of Mountaineering and climbing skills, techniques and info. However, the think that the Mountaineers Outdoor Expert series of books on all facets of climbing (Alpine Mountaineering, Rock Climbing, Gym climbing, Mixing Ice & Rock climbing,Knots, Anchors, Sport climbing, etc. are better books with more thorough sections and...
Published 13 months ago by Scoobiedoo6559


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, illustrations now available for Kindle, March 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mountaineering: Freedom Of Hills - 8th Edition by The Mountaineers Books
This is a great book, obviously, and has been the mountaineering bible for years. The Kindle edition, however, is a bad purchase. It lacks all of the charts that accompany the text! Want to view the Equipment checklist, figure 2.3? Think again! You're SOL. Feel like I was ripped off.

EDIT 4/1/12
Unclear if the publisher updated the book, or if I have an updated Kindle for iPad app, but all of the charts and illustrations now are appearing so purchase away, and I've changed my rating. Perfect timing too, since I'm going climbing in Denli National Park in June.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without hyperbole, the greatest book on mountaineering in the history of human civilization!, January 25, 2011
By 
Peter Norgaard (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Someone once told me "Mountaineering is just like backpacking with less margin for error". Of course the reality is that there are additional skills, concepts, and so on that you absolutely need to know before hauling yourself onto a rock face or glacier. This book contains all of that - the accumulated wealth of knowledge based on the experience of more than 40 of the world's best mountaineers. What makes this book so unrivaled?

- Topics are effectively separated into chapters that allow you to find what you need fast
- Information is presented with photos and diagrams to clarify each and every detail
- The writing style is pleasant to read - neither frivolous nor obfuscating
- Everything you ever wanted to know (about mountaineering) is in the book

Buy several copies, sleep with one as a pillow in the hopes the information will naturally osmose into your brain, love mountaineering, be safe, and in your many travels please respect our natural resources!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "bible" of Mountaineering, April 18, 2012
This review is from: Mountaineering: Freedom Of Hills - 8th Edition by The Mountaineers Books
There's not much to say about this amazing work that hasn't already been said. However, it is important to recognize what goes into this work - particularly the 8th edition. This is the 50th year of The Mountaineers producing this work, but really started with the handwritten notes of Wolf Bauer (and later typed up by Mary and Lloyd Anderson - founders of REI) seventy five years ago. In that time it has helped launch the climbing careers of thousands upon thousands of mountaineers. Every time a new edition is crafted, a select group of volunteer climb leaders and instructors come together to gather the collective wisdom of everyone who used the previous edition and how to make it better. For new climbers, for experts, and for those who are looking to improve certain skills.

I keep a copy on my bookshelf, and very dirty and well used copy under the seat of my truck. Guess which one I use more often, and in more fun places?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide to the great outdoors, July 6, 2012
By 
Brenton Richards (Idaho Falls, ID USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was first introduced to mountaineering in the Boy Scouts at age 12; Mountaineering: Freedom of the Hills was in it's fourth edition, I believe, and my scoutmaster recommended I read it. I consider it not only the most helpful boy scout manual on the planet, but the best manual for anything that involves trails, hiking, camping, backpacking, technical climbing, and beyond. It covers all of the aforementioned as well as proper technique, safety, trail etiquette, gear (which has been updated in this version to include new materials offered to to public - Gore-Tex was brand new and prohibitively expensive when I was younger, but membrane jackets and clothing are common place nowadays), survival, menu planning, climbing gear and technique, and a boat load more. I recommend it for anybody and everybody who wants to get off the tarmac and enjoy the wilderness. Many sections include illustrations so it is easier to visualize. Just about every time I go camping or hiking, I use some tip, technique, or principle found in the book (from digging a proper snow cave or avoiding bears to preserving body heat while stranded at 12,000 feet on a rock ledge on the Grand Teton after the sun went down with only a rain jacket and beanie). Seriously, if you are considering it, buy it! Best $20 you'll ever spend on camping gear. It's not just for the hardcore mountaineer, either, but for ANYBODY who ventures off the paved road. It is several hundred pages, but it is well organized and easy to find information pertinent to your interests and abilities, plus some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review by GearFlogger.net, November 14, 2010
Remember Steve Martin in The Jerk? "The new phone books are here!" He was excited, but he's got nothing on mountaineers everywhere who are rejoicing at the 50th anniversary 8th Edition of Mountaineering: The Freedom of the Hills. It's at least 3.7 percent better, 596 pages for the 8th Edition versus a mere 575 pages for the 7th Edition from waaaay back in 2003. That's pre-Facebook for you punks who won't get off my lawn.

FOTH has sold over 600,000 copies since the first edition in 1960, and it is without question the bible for those who would rather be in the mountains thinking about God than in church thinking about the mountains. Over thirty experts worked for Seattle based nonprofit publisher Mountaineers Books to update all 27 chapters, including completely redoing the conditioning chapter and producing major updates to rescue and first response, aid climbing, and waterfall and ice climbing. One example of the updates is a treatment of equalettes in the anchors section of the fundamentals chapter.

FOTH is a solid grounding in the basic rules of mountaineering, with only the occasional omission, e.g. clipping through on a running belay. FOTH recommends the middle climber unclip from the rope in front and then clip in the rope behind, but this is less safe than grabbing both strands of the rope, on either side of the middle climber's harness tie-in, and clipping them simultaneously into the anchor carabiner. Likewise sport climbing is given short shrift, with a few paragraphs detailing the dangers of not tying in the belayer but no mention given to the advantages of a dynamic belay, e.g. a softer catch.

But these are minor quibbles with the master text, and Mountaineers Books provides many complementary volumes of advanced learning in the mountain arts through its Outdoor Expert series. OK, so here's what you do: click on the link below to go to Amazon. Add FOTH to your cart. Then add The Mountaineering Handbook by Craig Connally to your cart. Connally's book is the edgy, fast and light version of FOTH, so for about 33 bucks you get free shipping and two books that complement each other very well. The truly discerning climber will add Glacier Mountaineering by Andy Tyson, with its excellent illustrations by Mike Clelland, for a mere 12 bucks. That's a Ph.D. in getting high for under a Ulysses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first read, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are inexperience in the outdoors this is a great first read. If you have a good base of training, not just days hiking, this may not be for you.

Having had many experiences with trained guides, hikers, climbers, and mountaineers this book was a little basic but still spot on. If you are contemplating serious outdoor activities this book will help prepare you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the bible for mountaineering, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great read for anyone interested in mountaineering. You don't have to be an enthusiast like myself just someone interested in the call to mountains. The tips and techniques are practical and presented well. I would combine this book with some on site training from a expert any day. But again it is just fun to read and learn as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Freedom of the hills is a great book, with most anything you would want to know about outdoor fun and excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense instruction and information, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The majority of this book is geared toward more serious, time consuming or technical climbing than I participate in. However, for the questions I had concerning the modest level of climbing I do, Freedom of the Hills is an amazing reference. It is clearly written by and built on the knowledge of very reasonable, solid climbers who enjoy the life of climbing mountains so much that they enjoy passing on the knowledge of how to do so. Thus reading it, even descriptions of things I have not and probably will never do, is a pleasure. It is like that elusive textbook that is packed with info but is still an solid, pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, December 16, 2013
By 
Mike (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written and very informative. I'm a novice, so for me this book is full of things I really need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.