Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Mountains at the Bottom of the World (Avon SF, 21402) Mass Market Paperback – December 1, 1974


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$369.00 $0.83

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Spectrum by Alan Jacobson
FBI profiler Karen Vail's current case takes readers back to the beginning, with flashbacks to her rookie days as an NYPD patrol officer. "Spectrum" is a great way for new readers of the series to jump into the action. Learn more

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 191 pages
  • Publisher: Avon Books; 1st paperback edition (December 1974)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0380001845
  • ISBN-13: 978-0380001842
  • Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 4.2 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,659,331 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Rob Robinson on April 20, 2006
Format: Mass Market Paperback
An exciting tale in the same tradition as the Lost World. It's about a young college student/adventurer, whose grandfather sees a large ape like creature in South America, who journies to the mountains of South America in search of the Vulcan Videma and a large undiscovered ape like Bigfoot and the Yeti. The story never slows down and is as well written, if not better than the Lost Ones, as any Jules Verne novel. It would be great to see this book made into a movie. This book will take you away from your surounding and place you in the forests, montains and lakes of South America. A great story for young readers.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 26, 1997
Format: Hardcover
A simple adventure story written to be translated to the big screen. Mountains is the sequel, but not continuation, of the better known Island at the Top of the World novel that was made into a movie.

If you like an adventure story in the vein of Verne or Cussler, than you will probably like theis book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By G. Quinn on May 11, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A fine story, with plenty of action, but I was very troubled by the excessive "inspiration" the author received from Arthur Conan Doyle's "Lost World." The scientist is an obvious copy of Professor Challenger. But there are whole passages lifted almost word for word from Doyle's novel. Perhaps this was meant as homage, but it was very troubling to me. It's worse in the opening chapters, and disappears for much of the later portions of the book, to reappear at the end.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By randy on January 10, 2013
Format: Hardcover
best book ever read, 36 years ago in high school, just read it again, once you start you can't put down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again