Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mounting Storm (Kate Conway Book 1)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 26, 2012
Tom Ong's new book is a pleasure. The combination of action, plot twists not possible to predict and real people acting in completely understandable ways is a winner. There are indeed evil people in the world -- Ong has obviously met some of them. But let's not forget there are also genuine heroes and they are here in this book as well. Both so true to life they jump off the pages!

The narrative moves quickly from the 70 year past unpleasantness in Europe to today's breakdown of corporate and Wall Street morality. Accurately portrayed, telling -- and compelling.

And last -- but perhaps it should be first -- the use of language and vocabulary here is first rate. In contrast with much of what we read now-a-days that is so casually written, Mr. Ong is clearly a true wordsmith -- the real deal.

Have to hope we don't have to wait too long for the further adventures (or misadventures?) of the smart and sexy Kate Conway and her sidekick Freddie. One has to wonder, with the proliferation of forged or counterfeit masterpieces, is the Monet really gone for good?
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
"The Mounting Storm" moves like a bullet train on a straightaway, with the reader pulled inexorably into the story. What I found remarkable was the excellent use of the English language by a first time author. I felt I was in the presence of a great writer.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
At this point, 89% of the reviewers give "The Mounting Storm" 4 or more stars! This book was so irritating, the only reason I gave it as many as 2 stars is because the plot had unrealized possibilities. I shall list.

1. On page 7, our heroine Kate does a rant on philandering husbands and makes it clear she's a lady, thinks they are pond scum and will have nothing to do with them. She then meets married multi-billionaire Winston and on the 2nd or 3rd meet, hops into bed with him without requiring any persuasion on his part. She knows he has a wife and 2 young kids and she never has a scintilla of doubt about the right and wrong of it. It threw me so much, I had to flip back to remind myself that she knew about his family.

2. Kate escaped a rape attempt wherein her father's partner knocked down her front door, ripped her clothes off and attacked her so roughly that she was badly bruised on her legs and thighs. Her supposedly doting father still sees this cretin as potential husband material! Am I supposed to believe this?

3. Kate has done extensive research on Winston's entire family pursuant to writing an in depth interview piece on his mother. Page 17 Winston's mother tells Kate she'd named her son Winston. Page 35 she was introduced to Winston Winship. Page 36 he tells her to call him Winston and her reaction is as though that's the first she's heard of his first name. Page 36 still, she goes home, takes a shower, and starts fantasizing about him. The married father of 2 whom she just met. She feels all warm and fuzzy.

4. Page 144 Winston's MOTHER tells Winston's father that his married family man son has been "seeing" Kate. Page 176, on their way to meet Winston's father, Winston's MOTHER warns Kate "for God's sake, don't mention that you are seeing Winston." Uh, sorry lady, the cat's out of the bag and you're the one that did it! Again, I had to flip back to 144 to verify I wasn't misremembering.

5. The villain is so EVIL he becomes a cartoon character, metaphorically twirling his mustache while chortling "mwahaha". There's not one trace of humanity in this guy and at the point we truly loathe him beyond tolerance, more icky stuff gets piled on. It exhausted me. If there's evil to be done, this guy has done it. Ridiculous. Even Hannibal Lecter was given a sense of humor for crying out loud and they pretty much don't come more evil than he. That smidge of humanity is what makes him believable.

I wound up skimming the last 3rd of the book just to see the plot resolution. With the exception of Kate's grandmother, I just couldn't tolerate these people anymore.

Simply having a literate friend go over this book before publication might have caught these major points and SEVERAL minor ones so that a bit of a rewrite would have made this a 4 star book. At least some logic might have been inserted. As it is, I cannot recommend this to anyone. I will try the 2nd book simply because I stupidly bought them both and maybe the next one will be better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
Welcome to the cliche mine of naughty Nazis, doughty New York Irish cops, georgous blondes in Givenchy dresses plus, for some strange reason, a cameo appearance by the author's high school memory of Sir Oswald & Diana Mosley. The specifics of life in England and Germany are riddled with inaccuracies whilst the scenes relating to the 1930's offer an illuminating short course in literary anachronism. The novel's finest moment comes when our gorgeous heroine removes her bra at an awards dinner to prove that her breasts are smaller than the table had assumed. Asinine.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
Somewhere there must be a video game called KATE CONWAY because the heroine of Mounting Storm is a two dimensional caricature, with only a superficial resemblance to a flesh and blood woman. It doesn't matter if Kate is blown up in a gas-filled house, attacked by thugs, done wrong by incest or discovers the truth about her family - she reacts in exactly the same way: a stiff-upper lip, brushes herself down in one paragraph before moving on to the next two-dimensional setup with dialogue more suited to a comic book than a novel. These 0.99cent books from Amazon are a great opportunity to research new writers but for every hit there are about 99 misses and this is one of the latter.

Fans of video games may enjoy, but Mounting Storm is not a book for readers who look for good writing.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
This was one of the stupidest books I've read in the last year. I did finish it, why I'm not sure. As some other reviewers have observed, the writing is fine. But the plot is incredibly silly, as are most of the characters. I had the sense that there were several scenes that were written for the sole purpose of providing excitement if the book were ever made into a movie. The gratuitous torturing and killing of cats made me sick. Don't bother with this one.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
This is far fetched but the hatred and insanity it presents is not. A young German is groomed to become someone powerful in the States even before WWII has started. This young man weds a happy blond German girl who is acceptable to his superiors as she is malleable and clearly loves him very much. She is somewhat confused by his hatred of Jews but figures she can just pretend to, as she does not hate anyone.

They are in a car crash on their honeymoon and she is permanently disfigured on one side of her face, for this she is placed in custody in quarters which will later be part of a concentration camp, with some gypsies and foreigners and is to suffer their fate on her husband's orders. That she does not die but is saved and loved and lives and that her "husband" succeeds (with another unwitting but loving woman) is what makes the bones of the story. The good may not be all perfect but are decent, the bad are just evil. Good Read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
This book was an easy read. The characters were well defined. Having been raised post war and remembering the conditions in the world, the story line is not far from the truth of the times. Sad to say the evil and deception depicted in this book were and are present in the world. I don't believe in chance, the escape from Dachau was God's plan as I see it. I enjoyed the book and at times felt sad as I said because these situations existed for so many.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
Kate Conway is an intrepid reporter who is Irish red haired seductive, tough, and overly suspicious. She had once finagled her way into the Chinese Mafia. She can, and will, exaggerate, prefabricate, or compliment. When she's intent upon uncovering facts, she's artful, inventive, and indubitably a worthy opponent.
Kate is assigned to interview the attractive wife of billionaire, Stirling Winship. He's an elusive, reclusive mogul with a right wing ideology, and constantly covered by the blanket of anonymity.
Water lilies floating on a pond touched by soft light are unmistakable. This artwork left Kate's mind ablaze with emotion. Her emerald green eyes spun off syllables.
Paul Conway, an ex-cop with a slug in his right lung, loves to cook, but he misses the camaraderie of the station house. He cooks an elaborate dinner for his family. Their grandmother, Hannah, decides it is time to return to her house and her memories. She is self-reliant and has never needed a confident. The Siegfried Project still hovers in the back of her mind.
Mysteries unfold. We can imagine walking into these perfected landscapes. We are captivated by suave characters and intriguing dialogue. The reader never feels as if they had breached the security of demure elegance pieced together within this novel. Tom Ong's book is intensely fertile, reaching out to grab unexpectedly.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
This is the first of his books I have read. Incredible story. And, you can see it really happening.
I would recommend it to everyone. Wonderful reading. In fact, I plan to look for other books he has written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.