Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Tribute Show for Jerry Garcia
Excellent tribute to Jerry on what would have been his 70th birthday. Justin Kreutzmann, son of Dead drummer Bill Kreutzmann, has done a spectacular job putting this video together. Many of the players do not come from the Jam Band scene like you would expect, but each and every one of them does a stellar job of bringing something to Jerry's music.

Ironically I...
Published 9 months ago by dddrock

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor!
This is a fun and interesting concert film with some good interviews, but Deadheads beware! The list of stars of the film includes Bill Kreutzmann (who does not play at all, but contributes a couple good stories), Mickey Hart (who also does not play, but has one ~20 second comment), and Phil Lesh (who plays on one song only). I think that the listing of these folks as...
Published 8 months ago by David Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Tribute Show for Jerry Garcia, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent tribute to Jerry on what would have been his 70th birthday. Justin Kreutzmann, son of Dead drummer Bill Kreutzmann, has done a spectacular job putting this video together. Many of the players do not come from the Jam Band scene like you would expect, but each and every one of them does a stellar job of bringing something to Jerry's music.

Ironically I had just watched The Last Waltz before this movie, and the cinematography is strikingly similar. That speaks volumes for this movie since The Last Waltz is widely regarded as one of if not the best concert movie of all time. The camera angles, catching the performers as they are getting into the groove, and largely ignoring the audience are all great techniques that were employed here.

Much thanks and credit must go to Bob Weir for creating this dream studio called TRI. It was designed for digital broadcasting and recording so it was ready from the get go. Bob was also the master mind behind this gathering and served as the musical guru for the performances. Thanks Bob!

You'll be glad you bought this for your collection and repeated watching pleasure... I sure am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music and warm memories, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A terrific concert film, with many of my favorite Garcia/Hunter tunes. Also a great assembly of indie musicians who came together to drink from the wellspring of Jerry Garcia and the Grateful Dead. Members of Phish, Furthur, Black Crowes and others join in. Outstanding musicianship and great engineering from TRI studios, which streamed the concert live. My only regret is that the disk didn't include "Ripple", which would have been appropriate; but there are many other favorites, all played well, and with heart.

Bob Weir led the concert, with Phil Lesh and Donna Jean Godchaux joining in. Interviews with Bob Kreutzmann and Micky Hart rounded out the rest. Justin Kreutzmann directed, and discussed his introduction to directing through discussions with Jerry while on tour with his father and the Dead, and the ideas that led to the Grateful Dead movie.

This is also a warm look at Jerry the person, with interviews with Carolyn (Mountain Girl) Garcia and individual interviews with their kids, short clips of Jerry, and lots of photos. Rounding it out is a poem, authored by David Crosby.

I bought the blue ray edition, which has absolutely perfect sound in both stereo and surround.

Move Me Brightly: Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bluray version review: Obviously a MUST for Deadheads. And an hour of BONUS performances too!, November 20, 2013
This review is from: Move Me Brightly: Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have to admit that I’m not into the Grateful Dead as much as many of my friends but I always liked their classic hits. I’ll leave to to get the “expert” opinion of some other reviewers but will try to give you some useful info on this Blu-ray disc. (IMPORTANT NOTE: Amazon groups all reviews of ALL formats of a video together. This is a review of the BD. Note on each review WHICH format the reviewer is commenting on.)

The concert is presented is HD and runs just over two hours. But you should know that it is not just music. There are interviews inserted throughout the program. The BONUS material includes another 6 songs (including “Friend of The Devil”, “Tennessee Jed” and “Ship of Fools”. which were not in the broadcast version. This alone, makes it a must for fans who saw the streamed version.

I hope this addition info and review was both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
“Anything Phonographic”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really glad I watched. One of the best concert films I've seen. Feels like you are there, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great production. The whole film is really well done. Lots of interesting interviews and so much talent. Franklins tower, mission in the rain and terrapin station stand out. Top notch musicians really jamming and pumping new energy into dead classics. Make sure and watch the bonus performances. It's almost as good as being there. Not tacky or cheesy at all, a real honorable tribute to an amazing performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A loving tribute!, December 9, 2013
By 
Oregon selkie (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Move Me Brightly: Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An absolutely beautiful tribute to Jerry! Jerry would have especially loved the young talent playing his material, the "passing the torch on" so to speak. Some of the renditions of these timeless songs were really quite touching and showcase what truly great songs these are. As I've said many times to non-Deadheads, this is material that will stand the test of time. The lyrics speak of basic human truths and touch us in our hearts. To hear so many fresh interpretations did my heart good and I know Jerry would be immensely happy to know that his spirit is alive and well. Kudos to Bob for putting together such a loving tribute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic internet event, October 11, 2013
For any DeadHead, this was a fun event that was broadcast 2 days after what would have been Jerry's 70th Birthday. Truly inspiring seeing, young singer's collaborating with Bob Weir. The two best songs of the evening for me was the "Mission in the Rain" and the "Terrapin Station" and both are on this official release. The day after this show was rebroadcast on Sirius/XM and I hoped that it would be released as a CD set but it looks like they did one better with this DVD.
Oh and knowing that TRI is on the cutting edge of audio and visual broadcasting I anticipate that this will be impeccable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor!, December 27, 2013
By 
David Ellis (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fun and interesting concert film with some good interviews, but Deadheads beware! The list of stars of the film includes Bill Kreutzmann (who does not play at all, but contributes a couple good stories), Mickey Hart (who also does not play, but has one ~20 second comment), and Phil Lesh (who plays on one song only). I think that the listing of these folks as stars is disingenuous, and an obvious ploy to get Deadheads to part with their well-earned money. Having said that, I think that Bob Weir does a great job with the songs he is involved with, especially "Days Between," which he has really taken the time to make his own, despite the fact that it will always be a "Jerry song." I also enjoyed the interviews and a number of the cover songs are well done by the folks involved. It is nice to see the younger generation of performers who were raised on these songs do them justice. This is a good film that was almost ruined by bad marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice film...great interviews, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This would be a great addition to any grateful dead fan's collection! Very interesting interviews I haven't seen before. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy birthday, Jerry!, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Move Me Brightly: Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great tribute to what would have been Jerry's 70th birthday! Clear audio sound and good interviews. I would have liked to continue listening to some of the songs when they faded to the interviews, but as a tribute to a great man, this was a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Sunshine!, January 30, 2014
By 
Any head is guaranteed to love this video. Great music, great atmosphere, great studio (way to go Bob!), etc. I got a Blu-Ray player soon after buying this, and considered exchanging it for the Blu-Ray version but decided not to. I can't know how much better the Blu-Ray might look, but the image on the regular was great.

The version of Mission in the Rain is absolutely fantastic, and made me an instant fan of Jonathan Wilson, who I have since researched and will be buying his albums. Another artist I was not aware of is Jim Lauderdale, and I'm looking forward to picking up some of his work as well. The only thing I wish they had done was maybe create as an extra a place where each contributing artist was spotlighted - name, band, etc. - because there are a lot of people on the scene, but only those who get interview time are named on screen.

Other than that one, minor, complaint, it's about perfect! Buy this asap - you absolutely will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Move Me Brightly: Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray]
$19.98 $13.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.