Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Move on Over: Eddie Buster Sides
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Move on Over: Eddie Buster Sides Import, Original recording remastered

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Original recording remastered, April 23, 2007
"Please retry"
$11.17 $65.93

Dawes Dawes

Editorial Reviews

Digipak edition includes Jazz saxophonist Sonny Stitt's complete recorded collaboration with the outstanding organist Eddie Buster, consisting of the two albums, both previously unavailable on CD: Move on Over (1963) and At the D.J. Lounge (1961). Stitt was one of the most well-documented saxophonists of his generation, recording over 100 records in his lifetime. He was nicknamed the "Lone Wolf" by Jazz critic Dan Morgenstern in tribute to his relentless touring and his devotion to Jazz. Although his playing was at first heavily inspired by Charlie Parker and Lester Young, Stitt eventually developed his own style, one which influenced John Coltrane. This package also includes a comprehensive 12-page booklet! 14 tracks. Jazz Beat.

1. Stormy Weather
2. A Natural Fox
3. Love Letters
4. Move On Over
5. My Mothers Eyes
6. The Lady Is A Tramp
7. Dexters Deck
8. Shut The Back Door
9. Im In The Mood For Love
10. Mckies
11. It All Depends On You
12. Blue Moon
13. Free Chicken
14. Jay Tee

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 23, 2007)
  • Original Release Date: 2007
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Jazz Beat Records
  • ASIN: B000OPP68M
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #119,175 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Caponsacchi HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on June 24, 2007
Format: Audio CD
"Move on Over" is one of the reissues on this deceptively titled Spanish import, which also includes the complete "At the D. J. Lounge." The title session is a studio date that nevertheless "feels" live. Alto saxophonist Nicky Hill is up to the task of challenging Sonny, and underrated guitarist Joe Diorio, who was simply unreal when I caught him live with Sonny in the 1960s (no one played "Cherokee" faster than Stitt, but Dorio could match him, with fat tones, aggressive attack, speed to burn), contributes mightily to the heat and swing. The other session was recorded live at McKie's Lounge (63rd and Cottage Grove in Chicago), and features stormy exchanges between Sonny and tenor saxophonist John Board. This is great inner-city lounge jazz by some "bad" players. Although neither Eddie Buster nor Jack McDuff was a match for Donald Patterson, Buster handles the B3 manuals and bass pedals like a master on these dates. Not a bad value, even at inflated import prices. One small highlight: a grooving version of "My Mother's Eyes," a wonderful old tune that, besides Stitt, Etta Jones sang and Monty Alexander recently revived (a brilliant rendition--on "Live at the Iridium").
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By chaz on October 28, 2011
Format: Audio CD
I first listened and transcribed several songs from this album in the late 70s' Sonny stitt is a great sax man and rated up high along with Parker,Gordon, Cannonball. I jammed with area musicians on several of these tunes.They bring back many fine memories of my life at that time.I was quite young then.Joe Diorio is a fine guitarist too.I studied from one of his books and it gave me some great incite on the various styles of jazz and soloing styles. It simply feels good to revisit these artists that I learned and developed from throughout my profession. I recently started teaching my guitar students blues heads and use Stitts MOVE ON OVER because it is a simple,yet tasteful blues head. I will definitely encourage others to listen to this music and learn and enjoy the great things it contributes to jazz music.......
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By James A. Vedda VINE VOICE on October 2, 2008
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Early in his career, Sonny Stitt was seen by some as an alto player overshadowed by Charlie Parker. Later, when I discovered his recordings in the 1970s, I thought of him as primarily a tenor man. This CD - two complete albums with almost 80 minutes of music - falls in between those two periods and showcases Stitt on both horns. In each case, he's joined by another formidable saxman and backed up by a rhythm section featuring organ. Overall, the 14 tracks present a nice mix of ballads, bop, and blues to show off Stitt's improvisational prowess.
The first eight tracks are the 1963 studio album "Move On Over." Stitt is joined on the last three of these tracks by Nicky Hill, who plays alto rather than his usual tenor. (The personnel roster that lists him as playing tenor is incorrect.) Listeners should have no trouble telling apart these two saxmen, but in case you do, Stitt is on the left channel and Hill is on the right.
Tracks 9 to 14 are the 1961 live recording "At the D.J. Lounge." The recording quality is not as clean as the studio album, but the performance is energetic and includes nice tenor solos by Johnny Board, whose big sound conveys a style that's a bit less technical than Stitt's but very melodic. This makes for some interesting interplay between the two.
Like most imports, this CD is priced higher than one would expect for a single disc. But it's filled to the limit with music and has good liner notes, including the original notes from both of the albums. This one is definitely worth adding to your collection.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category