Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book really is required reading for strength coaches, personal trainers, physical therapists, and anyone interested in Human Movement that wants to be exceptional with the people they work with and serve.

The book is an ocean of valuable information to help you get the most out of your clients, patients, or athletes. There is so much detailed information and supportive data to provide a rock solid rationale to understand the importance of functional movement for screening, assessment, and corrective strategies. This is a book to be read, re-read, and practiced to develop the skill of screening and correctives to optimize fundamental movement, before everything else.

This is a book you will consistently refer to again and again to understand fundamental human movement patterns and how to apply sound principles to allow the people you work to have a strong foundation, before loading them with weights, for example. And the simplicity of that just makes perfect sense. As Gray puts it, "You can't put fitness on dysfunction." This is what is so remarkable about the FMS approach.

The information is this book will allow you to better serve your clients and meet their goals safely, based on proper screening and corrective strategies that may be necessary. If you want to be exceptional working with people, you simply must read and apply the material covered in this book. This is such a highly valuable book that I can't say enough about and one of the most important books in serving your clients and patients. It will likely change your perspective on how you work with people in the areas of health, fitness, and rehab.

Also, it's worth a mention that a great complimentary resource is movemementbook.com. Be sure to take advantage of that, as well, to maximize your own learning.
Highly recommend this book as your bible on human movement.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
If you are a physical therapist, athletic therapist, chiro...you need to read that book. Stop doing conventional manual muscle testing and isolation training, this is the solution to most of your patients. A new era in rehab sciences has started with that book, don't miss the train!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
I had this book in line on my reading list for months. It turned out to be a wonderful learning experience. The book is written in a way that allows non-exercise professionals to digest the substance and recommend this for parents, coaches, and general fitness enthusiasts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2012
Just a fantastic and comprehensive look at human movement and how to understand it,diagnose it, and fix it. This inofmation needs to be used to create PE programs for middle and high schools to build more functional longer lasting athletes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
This book literally has nothing to do with corrective exercise prescription, and is filled with the random beliefs / viewpoints of the author, Gray Cook. If you are seriously looking for a text to assist with your understanding of neuromuscular and biomechanical deficiencies and how to treat said deficiencies, then this text is not for you. The entire text is a shameless plug for his FMS system, and only offers the details which can easily be found online for free. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2011
After spending years sifting through journal article upon journal article on how we can systematically address movement limitations I found it difficult to be drawn to the idea that somehow gait retraining may actually not involve gait at all. This is what Gray's book presents ... not the same old same old name that impairment game. As a result, if you are not ready for a shift in thinking then I honestly recommend you wait to purchase the book until you want to see what else is out there. This is no different than a behavior change and if you are interested in losing weight but not interested in cutting calories I am not going to recommend to you to put the Ben and Jerry's down.

Fundamentally Gray's book talks about a system. A system that does uses movement as the language. How many tests/systems out there that can be individualized, conducted in less than 15 min (less time than that if you have more than one screener), and actually develop an individualized plan for the person being tested? We see in the adolescent and young adult injury literature that everyone is assumed to have a jump landing problem and so everyone needs a jump training program. As a coach and scientist this was difficult for me to sink my teeth into as I had an entire team to efficiently screen and they all looked different in their movement quality and efficiency, so a program for this variation just seemed incomplete at best. Gray does a brilliant job of correlating the common screens in medicine (e.g. blood pressure) with the movement screen. Yet we have a hard time grasping the individualization of movement pattern retraining when strategies to control hypertension are individualized (diet, exercise, pharmacolgic, etc.).

If all this book does is establish movement standards that can be considered basic movement competency then it has done a significant job in getting movement professionals (Physical Education teacher to Orthopedic Surgeon) on the same page. Why is it that a post op 14 year old ACL patient cannot squat past 60 degrees of flexion and it is considered typical while a 2 year old who can not do a deep squat is considered a medical emergency? As we continue to apologize for our poor movement strategies they will only be further integrated into our cerebellar patterns. Why is the deep squat so important... well I have never seen anyone perform a deep squat in valgus collapse yet the internet is littered with videos of people landing with a valgus collapse. So maybe the deep squat is a good place to start .... our typical neurodevelopmental patterning would suggest it is so.

The part that I am most drawn to in this text is that ... this is the movement blueprint. You do not need to buy anything else or attend any additional workshop ... just start screening and see what happens. I look forward to this paradigm changing the haphazard model by which we as a species are screened for our appropriateness for exercise. Hopefully this moves us closer to a model of fundamental standards for movement (based on not losing movements you had) so that health care professionals can stop arguing over models of intervention and spend more time on the person doing the movement ... the patient.

Finally, this is not bed time reading. It is dense. It is thorough and it takes a few reads and some espresso to grab it all. In the end if you work with movement retraining I think you will find it is well worth your time and so will your clients.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2011
There is Gray Cook, and then everyone else. Gray has taken the field of movement assessment and correction to an unparalleled level. He has given us a system to find, prioritize, and correct movement deficiencies. More importantly, perhaps, he has given us a baseline to recognize what isn't a problem. Coming from the standpoint of someone that trains athletes, this is invaluable.

The book "Movement" is both a great introduction to the FMS system, and a textbook for advanced practitioners. There is a wealth of information not only about authentic movement, but how to reverse engineer corrupted movement and return it's authenticity. It shares Gray's genius on the concept of quality movement before intense exercise. This book so important that it should be required reading for anyone who trains. It provides knowledge that is appropriate for everyone. It doesn't matter if you're beginning your first exercise program or training an olympic athlete. The philosophy and science shared by Gray is the guide for success. What's provided will help eliminate training mistakes that delay results.

The FMS is a principle based system has been proven both in the lab and the field. Failure to recognize this is simply shortsighted. The system has multiple tiers that fit the awareness and needs of anyone from new exercisers to top level trainers and clinicians. There is an answer or referral system for anything you might encounter. "Movement" is the philosophy, explanation, and process of applying the system. From the standpoint of training athletes, predicting and preventing unnecessary lost time injuries is the single most important thing for their success. Less time on the bench, and more time practicing makes for greater success. An athlete that can practice and train at full speed can get better. One that is merely surviving the practice or workout isn't likely to improve. If you or your clients goal is simply to "look and feel better", the same rules apply. Taking the time to, in Gray's words, "Move well and then move often" is always the key to long term physical improvement. "Movement" is the starting point. I recommend it without hesitation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
It's a great book for those really interested in movement patterns and with the experience to implement movement corrections. The downside is without some medical background or basic movement background, it may be too much for the beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
I have a ton of respect for Gray Cook. I previously had a poor view of his methods, but it was seeing his system put to use by practitioners who find it as an easier way to increase their volume. (Hand on PT takes time... Attention reduces net profits)

But as I am reading his book, it is apparent there are some other sound methods for looking at movement and tying that into better treatments.

I will always run a hands on practice, but this book with also change me for the better.

Thanks Gray,
Shawn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
The functional movement screen is the definitive guide to movement and how to assess and evaluate it's disfunction. This book is useless if you are trying to help yourself but if you are a coach or trainer it can help you better train and aid your athletes in their quest towards perfection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse