Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Movement That Matters [Paperback]
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2004
Short and to the point this book teaches the reader to look at functional movements in a different way. By breaking movements down into primal patterns, or basic more generalized patterns of movement that our brain associates all movement with, we learn to more easily identify how to enhance our sporting ability by pinpointing the types of exercises needed for the specific sport we are conditioning for.
The book also looks at learning styles and how to best communicate with a student in order to maximize learning and elicit the quickest training response. For the layman this may help identify where your efforts to learn and excel will best be applies and which teaching style you should search for when seeking professional help.
Last but certainly not least the book discusses how to break down movements for more efficient learning, how much to train, when to rest, how to qualify one's self for a movement, how to identify the speed needed for sport adaptation to repetitions, and how to prepare your environment for optimal learning (helpful in all situations).
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2004
This small, neatly packaged, exercise text is well referenced, providing a concise view of how to effectively design functional exercise programs for yourself or for your clients.
As a lecturer in exercise rehabilitation, I find this an excellent reference book, both for myself and for my students. The Chek approach is the only approach I have found that successfully crosses the boundaries between exercise science, motor learning, athletic conditioning, neurological factors in training, as well as many other considerations, in a simple and comprehensive way.
For those of a more research-oriented background, references are cited, and the text is well illustrated to keep it understandable for all.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2004
How can such a small book give you so much information. This book provided me with new tools to create functional training program for my clients. It also provides an effective approach to assessing my clients movement skills. This book is a must for anyone in the fitness industry.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2004
I was very excited to buy this book because of Paul Chek's reputation as a top fitness expert. I also own his book "How to eat, move, and be healthy" which I have enjoyed. However,

This book is extremely disappointing. First of all, it is only 54 pages long, very short for the 24.95 price. It is less than 1/2 inch thick. Next, the book launches into highly complex language regarding concepts ranging from balance and reactions to open and closed chain exercises. Some of it can be understood, but most of it is so overly analytical it is hard to know how to apply it.

I was hoping this book would give me some clear information on how to improve my fitness routines and new concepts on how to exercise. However, it offers little or no diagrams of new exercises and only goes on and on with different scientific terms that are tough to memorize and tough to translate into your excercise program.

I am planning on returning this book to Amazon due to the reasons stated above. Do not waste your money on this book.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2004
If you do not know what do for exercise, this books breaks it down into easy functional movement patterns. It allows you to exercise without the use of big heavy gym equipment.
For the beginning fitness teacher it provides excellent information in an easy to understand format.
Though Paul Chek's approach is not the traditional to strength training - it certainly makes far more sense because of its application to daily living to the more advanced fitness individual.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2004
Paul Chek is the leader in functional fitness, rehabilitation, and innovative exercise principles for all athletes. Movement that matters is a blueprint for designing a workout based on principles that are proven to get results. Anyone serious about developing training programs based science and techniques proven "in the trenches" needs to digest the information in this book as well as all of Paul Chek's books and videos. Paul has a straightforward approach and has the ability to make very complex topics understandable and useable to all. His books and resources should be on the shelves and read by all fitness enthusiasts.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
Any person engaging in physical fitness pursuits should have this in their library. It is a logical, and easy to follow book on how to best prepare the human body to engage in the movement patterns related to any physical activity. Trainers can use the book to help them program workouts for their clients that will have them performing at optimal levels, and aid in injury prevention/ rehabilitation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2008
this is a amazing work by the author. the beauty of this book is that the book makes the concepts look so easy which is very tough to read in other texts this is my personal opinion if at all you are buying this book i would suggest visit the offical website of paul chek to understand what he stands for then buy it its worth the penny
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2004
The most common sense book on training I've read. Details the basic movements every human being should be able to perform and why. Every exercise professional/enthusiast should be required to read this information.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2004
They say that great ideas aren't Revolutionay so much as Evolutionary and Mr. Chek proves that true with this insightful book. Even after serving as a Fitness Professional and consutant for 6 years, the book produced several "AHA" moments. His approach to fitness looks at how we have developed as a species, and how little the current fitness industry does to address our needs. By using the guidlines in Movement That Matters, I've been exceptionally successful at helping clients develop the body they deserve.
Paul proves he's not just another "fitness celebrity" but one of the greatest technical minds in the often dissapointing fitness industry. I eagerly await his next book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse