Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Overview of Movie Industry for Everyone
My wife and I are movie fans...though not like those hard core guys who hang out at independent film festivals...and we love this book.

It's a wonderful introduction to all the ins and outs of the movie business. The writers talk about film as a business and how the business side of film influences their creative choices. Revenue streams, copywrite issues, and...
Published on August 27, 2004 by Eric Nelson

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have the extra time, otherwise its a lot of jibberish
Much of what they say is true but the anoying usable of fancy wording, and the need to create such ellaborate ways to make a point or explain something was almost rediculous.
This book could have been 200 pages had they limited all the "mumbo jumbo".

The book is very jewish friendly if anyone you have any idead what that means. The memoire style was a bit...
Published on March 19, 2012 by Chase


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Overview of Movie Industry for Everyone, August 27, 2004
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
My wife and I are movie fans...though not like those hard core guys who hang out at independent film festivals...and we love this book.

It's a wonderful introduction to all the ins and outs of the movie business. The writers talk about film as a business and how the business side of film influences their creative choices. Revenue streams, copywrite issues, and how to "make it in Hollywood" are all discussed thoroughly in this book.

The authors were obviously choosen because of their expertise, but most of them are surprisingly good at conveying information in a way non-industry people can understand. I was expecting that each chapter in this book would be filled with Hollywood jargon...like when you read an article in Variety, but that is not the case.

If you love movies and REALLY want to understand how they work, this book is a must. Other books are great at explaining the artistic side (for example, How to Read a Film is a great title), but The Movie Business Book is wonderful since all of its contributors understand that modern film cannot be fully understood as a work of art unless you understand how the economics of Hollywood influence how the art is shaped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, November 25, 2004
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
I have recently bought over ten movie business making books, all starting with this one. I would have to say that out of all of the books I have read thought, this would have to be the best out of them all. Not only do they have chapters written by different people, they are all people that are in the business. They break down hollywood lingo and include a basic pay structure. This book is the most informative of the film books I have read. This is the book you buy if you want a break down of movie careers, but not for how to personally make it yourself into the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the movie enthusiast, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
Great book. Easy read with lots of interesting information from seasoned professionals. Great for those interested in the field for hobby or business.

My only complaint/issue is that the book is now (2013) over 8 years old (2004 latest edition) and we all know that the past 10 years especially have completely changed in the movie industry from billion dollar block busters, to evolution of the online world, to netflix, expansions of the "Trilogy" movements, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an absolutely fantastic book., November 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
This is an absolutely fantastic book. It is a series of essays from very well known industry professionals and will help anyone to better understand the perspective of the other people you're working with on the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for background and deep knowledge, March 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
I work in home video content in the back office. This book gives a great overview of the industry and how it works. I own a copy and bought another for a new employee. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decades of movie biz lore, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
Very well curated. Even though it probably needs an update, mainly because it is so useful and there are things to add to the industry analysis, there are solid, articles here by top industry people. Experienced advice and analysis of the biz from the horse's mouth is golden no matter what decade it's coming from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sort of a Bible, May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fantastic book for anyone who wanted to know about the low down of Hollywod business and filmmaking in general. It's a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading this book, October 23, 2014
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book. It features authors with industry experience, avoids jargon, and is an all-rounder. A sequel, if I can make a wish, should be trying to provide more representative facts on the matters discussed in addition to key individuals' insights. It's hard to tell how unique these experiences are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Buying for One Chapter Alone, October 2, 2014
By 
Mr. Lucky (Bakersfield, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
An excellent book overall, made a must read solely for the chapter written by the inimitable Mel Brooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 15, 2014
This review is from: The Movie Business Book, Third Edition (Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Movie Business Book, Third Edition
The Movie Business Book, Third Edition by Jason E. Squire (Paperback - July 6, 2004)
$18.00 $16.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.