Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No "I" in Team
And Charles Pierce says there is not much "I" in Tom Brady either.

In a professional sport with salary parity, logic says that it must be the Pats teamwork that sets them ahead. Bill Bellicheck, based on results, is the best coach in football, and Tom Brady is his team's QB. There are many great head coach - QB pairings in NFL history - Lombardi and Starr,...
Published on November 20, 2006 by GHT

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I like Tom Brady. I like the Patriots. I like Charlie Pierce. I hated this book. Mr. Pierce is a good sportswriter and a delightful panelist on the NPR news quiz show "Wait, Wait, Don't Tell Me," yet he hits a very sour note with this book. The problem, as other reviewers have mentioned, is that the book reads like it was written on the fly with minimal editorial...
Published on January 6, 2007 by Fan of Eddie G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No "I" in Team, November 20, 2006
And Charles Pierce says there is not much "I" in Tom Brady either.

In a professional sport with salary parity, logic says that it must be the Pats teamwork that sets them ahead. Bill Bellicheck, based on results, is the best coach in football, and Tom Brady is his team's QB. There are many great head coach - QB pairings in NFL history - Lombardi and Starr, Landry and Staubach, Walsh and Montana among them, and Bellicheck and Brady - despite their relatively brief history together - are now also inextricably linked, 3 championships in 4 years will do that.

Bellicheck figured out long ago that a football game is not about scoring touchdowns - it is about having more points on the board at the end of the game than the other team. He had the best kicker in football in Adam Vinateri, and in Brady has a QB that knows how to move the chains. When the Pats are playing their game, and they usually are, there is an efficiency to their execution, football the way it is meant to be played. Brady seems to stay within his limits of himself and his team while still pushing himself and them.

Sports as life metaphor books rarely work for me, but having read some of Pierce's magazine pieces previously, I was intrigued when I saw the book - and not at all disappointed. Not all sportswriters are writers, but Charles Pierce is. Instead of a fluff PR piece, we get a book about faith, character, family, team, and the human community - if all you want are the stats and the records, use the Google on the internets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an ordinary sports biography, November 13, 2006
What Pierce does in Moving the Chains is reveal the heart and soul of football by examining football's consummate team player, Tom Brady. Brady may not be the most talented current quarterback (Peyton Manning gets that honor), or the flashiest (Michael Vick gets that one), or most beloved (that might go to Brett Favre), but on any given Sunday in the post season he'd be the quarterback you'd want leading your team down the field. Pierce does an excellent job examining why this is the case: why on a Sunday in January you'd want Brady, the no-name quarterback from Michigan, leading your team down the field.

In the context of the ups and downs of the injury-plagued '05 season, Pierce dissects Tom Brady. Pierce examines the games and talks with teammates to highlight Brady's strengths and weakness. Pierce interviews old coaches, friends and family to understand how Brady's work ethic and style were formed. Pierce shows us how these early foundations have grown to make Brady the team player --and more importantly, team leader --who can lead a struggling team to the playoffs.

Pierce looks at football through a broad lens, bringing up interesting cultural and philosophical points that make this more than just another sports book. He understands that football is played in a larger cultural context and that one bleeds into another. He also knows that leadership and greatness in one area can exemplify leadership and greatness in others. With Pierce's style and awareness it is easy to extrapolate his observations of leadership in this book to other areas. This book gave me both a better understanding of the game of football and a better understanding of what it takes to lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, January 6, 2007
By 
I like Tom Brady. I like the Patriots. I like Charlie Pierce. I hated this book. Mr. Pierce is a good sportswriter and a delightful panelist on the NPR news quiz show "Wait, Wait, Don't Tell Me," yet he hits a very sour note with this book. The problem, as other reviewers have mentioned, is that the book reads like it was written on the fly with minimal editorial input. Mr. Pierce casts such a rosy glow on Tom Brady and his family, it quickly becomes cloying. I'm sure that they're all fine people, but we're talking about a football player, not the second coming of the Messiah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving the Chains, January 9, 2007
Being a staunch Patriots fan, this book seemed like a must read. I was a bit disapointed at the start. I felt it was "over descriptive" and seemed to attempt to be a literary masterpiece, when all I really wanted was a biography of Tom Brady. Pierce's choice of words when setting up the book seemed like I was in AP english again.

I can say though once your past the setup chapter and the chapters on Tom's father's relgious influences, it gets into the guts of football, Patriots and Brady history, which is what I wanted all along.

Information is genuine, book is solid, I'd say B+ due to the tough start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a mess., July 9, 2007
By 
No nice way to put it . . . this book is a mess. It seems like either an early draft was sent to publishing by mistake or that no editor was used. This is absolutely the most poorly organized book I've ever read. There are unfinished thoughts, quotes, etc. It feels like the "writer" tripped walking down the hall on the way to the publisher and all the pages of the book flew into the air and the pages were shuffled back to together and printed as is.
Avoid this book at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Topic, Subpar Writing, April 13, 2007
By 
SSK (Hoboken, NJ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some parts are interesting but for the most part not good. Too much fluff. Loaded with irrelevant facts and connections. If you are a New England fan, then buy Halberstam's book on the coach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Brady fans or football fans in general!, January 27, 2007
By 
S. Dizney (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a Tom Brady fan most of all, and a Patriots fan in general, so that is why I bought this book. It was everything I thought it would be, and more. Not only did it give great information about Brady, but it also gave a lot of very interesting information about various Patriots team members and coaches. I feel like I know so much more about the team and different people on the team than I did before! I'd highly recomment this book to anyone who's a football fan in general, and even more to any Tom Brady fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Brady on the Couch, March 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moving the Chains: Tom Brady and the Pursuit of Everything (Paperback)
This is undoubtedly one of the oddest biographies I have ever read. And one of the most intriguing.
Author Charles Pierce tries to uncover what makes Tom Brady tic. What makes him such a consummate team player and leader on the field? What made a player drafted in the sixth round, whom nobody but maybe Bill Belichick and Scott Piloli, thought would ever amount to much in the pros, become a Hall of Fame bound quarterback, one of the best to have ever played?

There are a lot of things.

First, Brady was never the most gifted athlete and he had to work for everything through high school and college. In fact, he was barely recruited and his father put together a video package and he ultimately ended up at the University of Michigan. He persevered despite not even being a full time starter, even as a senior, despite that he was a winner.

Second, in the pros his work ethic is infectious to his teammates. He is the first to arrive and the last to leave. His hard work put him in a position to take over for Drew Bledsoe when he was hurt during the 2001 regular season and progress. He became the team leader that despite his talents Beldsoe never really was.

Third, he is a team first player. He truly buys in to the Patriots' modern day credo, there is no "I" in team. He doesn't care about stats, he cares about wins. But that has propelled him to put up unbelievable stats.
And he his simply a nice person. He gives credit where credit is due. He doesn't do a lot of endorsements. And when he had the opportunity to do one for a credit card company he refused to do it unless his offensive linemen, his protectors, were involved. He wanted them to shine to.

Don't believe Tom Brady is a really good guy in a sport fraught with me first, selfish, athletes with an undertone of criminality? Read Charlie Weiss's book about his near death experience and how Brady helped him and his wife out in their time of greatest need. Read Tedy Bruschi's book that has a few anecdotes about what Brady's friendship means. Or simply read this book about to hear what his family, friends, and teammates have all said about his leadership skills. There is a reason his teammates and coaches have the utmost confidence in him.

The oddest aspect of this book is Brady himself did not participate in it and it really takes somewhat of a psychologist's approach at times in examining its subject. From the influence of his Catholic upbringing, the impact of his athletic older sisters who sometimes outshined him in his youth, to his perseverance in the face of sports adversity, you learn the inner workings of one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time.

This is a recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, October 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good perspective on what drives Brady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patriots' QB, December 22, 2007
This review is from: Moving the Chains: Tom Brady and the Pursuit of Everything (Paperback)
I found this book to be very interesting and a must read for every No. 12 jersey wearing Patriots' fan! It tells about the rise of Tom Brady and how he came to become the legend that he is through his hard work and dedication. It went behind the scenes of just what he does on the playing field and went into his personal life which I thought was interesting. It's a must read for every Patriots fan. It goes quick and I'm sure it will be enjoyed.

Gerard Zemek
husband of author of "My Funny Dad, Harry"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Moving the Chains: Tom Brady and the Pursuit of Everything
Moving the Chains: Tom Brady and the Pursuit of Everything by Charles P. Pierce (Paperback - October 16, 2007)
$15.00 $13.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.