Robin non-member

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

Buy New

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Like New See details
$17.71 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Sold by apex_media.

Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $1.50 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Mozart Piano Concerto 17 & Symphony 39 / Bernstein, Wiener Philharmoniker (1981)

Mozart , Wiener Philharmonic  |  NR |  DVD
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

List Price: $24.99
Price: $18.96 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $6.03 (24%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Frequently Bought Together

Mozart Piano Concerto 17 & Symphony 39 / Bernstein, Wiener Philharmoniker + Mozart: Clarinet Concerto - Symphony No. 25
Price for both: $37.92

Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Actors: Mozart, Wiener Philharmonic, Leonard Bernstein
  • Format: Multiple Formats, AC-3, Classical, Color, Dolby, DTS Surround Sound, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Euroarts
  • DVD Release Date: November 21, 2006
  • Run Time: 72 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B000IY0602
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #320,937 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

Leonard Bernstein conducts the Vienna Philharmonic and acts as soloist live at the Grosser Musikvereinssaal, Vienna, October 3-11, 1981.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bernstein at his Finest November 29, 2006
The video and audio quality are excellent. Bernstein, first time I've seen him at the keyboard, does a great job on the Piano Concerto 17 with the VPO. The woodwinds sound particularly convincing and realistic.

The 39th comes across just fine with little mannered conducting by Bernstein.

I am glad Unitel is now working with someone other than Deutsche Grammophon, whose releases are far too operatic for this lover of concertos and symphonies.

Please keep the Bernstein with the VPO coming!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernstein's Muscular Mozart December 10, 2006
The farther we get from the Bernstein era -- he died in late 1990 -- the more I'm inclined to accord him status as one of the greatest conductors of my lifetime. This 1981 performance with the Vienna Philharmonic from Vienna's Grosser Musikvereinsaal is an example of Bernstein at his greatest, although some might disagree largely because his manner with Mozart is more romantic than they might wish. I am of mixed minds about what is acceptable in Mozart performance. I like some of the HIP tenets but I also like rather more romantic, but unbloated, approaches when they are in the hands of such giants as Bernstein. And certainly here we get him at his idiosyncratic best.

Bernstein conducts the Piano Concerto No. 17 in G, K453, from the keyboard. His conception of the piece is very personal. There is hardly a phrase that doesn't have his stamp on it. This concerto is one of Mozart's sunniest, and we definitely get its joie de vivre as only Bernstein can convey it, but we also get drama aplenty. Bernstein's technical command is more than equal to the solo part, and he leads the VPO in an almost brash account of the outer movements. But in the andante middle movement there is such intimacy and tenderness as to almost bring tears to one's eyes. I literally became aware that I was holding my breath the first time I listened to it. I don't know that I've ever heard the wind solos taken more plangently. In other pianists' hands the left hand accompaniments in this concerto can be boring or mechanical; not so with Bernstein. If one listens, for instance, to the simple repeated chords accompanying that soulful long melody in II, one can hear Bernstein molding them with great precision and delicacy. The final rondo is joy incarnate.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile DVD March 7, 2008
By Muslit
Verified Purchase
it's nice that many of the vhs tapes of Bernstein and the Vienna Philharmonic from the 80's are being transfered to DVD - here the sound and video quality are quite good (occasionally the sound is a little brittle in the forte passages) -

amazing how Bernstein could suddenly appear as a soloist and play so well - his tone is beautiful - his technique is polished (perhaps a very few 16th-note passages are slightly uneven) - surprisingly, Bernstein's approach to the concerto is poetic and graceful, as opposed to muscular - the ensemble playing between the soloist and orchestra is right-on and natural, with exceptional woodwind playing (especially flute) - my only gripe is the tempo of the second movement - a bit on the slow side, with an occasional sluggishness setting in - but the interpretation remains very personal - the final allegro of the third movement is exhilarating - on the whole extremely gratifying -

the 39th symphony is another personal affair - the introduction to the first movement is done very dramatically - the extraordinary measures right before the allegro are suitablly strange and mysterious - the allegro contains a few added 'hairpin' dynamics which one might quibble about - the second movement is also very personal in interpretation - very flexible, romantic if you will (I didn't mind at all), with some very beautiful clarinet playing - the third movement is more conventionally approached, again the trio containing beautiful dynamic shading from the clarinets - the last movement utilizes the last repeat, making the movement three or four minutes longer than usual (I'm not sure it is in the best interests of the movement) - the tempo starts briskly, then settles into a slightly slower tempo - one can see Bernstein reigning in the energy of the orchestra for ensemble purposes, but also letting the orchestra play on its own volition -

all in all, a highly recommended disc -
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category