Robin non-member

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$8.53 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Sold by SNUBS2011.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Mr. A-Z
 
See larger image and other views
 

Mr. A-Z

Jason MrazAudio CD
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (200 customer reviews)

Price: $9.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 12 Songs, 2005 $7.99  
Audio CD, 2005 $9.99  

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
listen  1. Life Is Wonderful 4:20$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  2. Wordplay 3:06$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  3. Geek In The Pink 3:55$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  4. Did You Get My Message? 4:00$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  5. Mr.Curiosity 3:55$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  6. Clockwatching 4:23$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  7. Bella Luna 5:02$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  8. Plane 5:13$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  9. O. Lover 3:54$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen10. Please Don't Tell Her 4:37$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen11. The Forecast 3:45$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen12. Song For A Friend 8:08$1.29  Buy MP3 


Amazon's Jason Mraz Store

Music

Image of album by Jason Mraz

Photos

Image of Jason Mraz

Biography

We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things. comes six years after Jason Mraz saw his major label debut, Waiting for My Rocket to Come explode off the success of such hits as “Remedy (I Won’t Worry),” “You & I Both” and “Curbside Prophet.” Shortly thereafter, he returned with his Grammy-nominated, critically acclaimed Mr. A-Z, which continued his chart ... Read more in Amazon's Jason Mraz Store

Visit Amazon's Jason Mraz Store
for 23 albums, 5 photos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Mr. A-Z + We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things + Waiting for My Rocket to Come
Price for all three: $30.98

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 26, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Elektra / Wea
  • ASIN: B0009WJ3HU
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (200 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,137 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Jason Mraz's breakthrough 2002 hit, "The Remedy (I Won't Worry)" established him as a funnier, funkier version of John Mayer, custom-built for The O.C. set. On Mr. A-Z, the Virginia singer-songwriter continues mixing up folk melodies and hip-hop beats. He also keeps making heroic stabs at humor that would have gone down like a storm in his coffeehouse days but typically backfire on record. Fortunately, producer Steve Lillywhite (U2, Dave Matthews Band, Peter Gabriel) is on hand to clean things up, giving even the most bumbling lyrical experiments, such as "Wordplay" and "Geek in the Pink," at least the illusion of a newfound maturity. --Aidin Vaziri

Product Description

Jason Mraz presents his latest offering and his second studio album Mr. A-Z. Produced by the legendary Steve Lillywhite (U2, Rolling Stones, Dave Matthews Band, Peter Gabriel, Talking Heads, et al) at Allaire Studios near Woodstock, NY, Mr. A-Z is Mraz's most inspired and thoughtful record to date. Elektra. 2005.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
158 of 170 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
With his second studio album, the humorously titled "Mr. A-Z," Jason Mraz has delivered a fine collection of tunes that will solidify his popularity with his dedicated fanbase, yet manages to broaden his horizons in terms of song arrangements and subject matter.

The pensive "Life Is Wonderful" is the opening track, where Mraz makes a series of commonsense observations about life that nevertheless challenges listeners to think outside the box. Lead single "Wordplay," however, immediately follows, injecting the disc with a shot of levity.

"It's all about the wordplay/Ah la la la love/The wonderful thing it does because/Because I am the wizard of ooh's and ah's and fa la la's/Yeah the Mr. A-Z/They say I'm all about the Wordplay."

His astute sense of humordoes not obscure the fact that he is most definitely a singer/songwriter in the classic 70's sense. Fine examples are "Plane", an intense, melodramatic selection where he proclaims from high above the ground that, should he come crashing down that he will "remember where the love was found," and "Bella Luna," where he softly croons of the mysterious allure of the moon, creating a relaxing, tranquil atmosphere with his chilled observations.

"Please Don't Tell Her" reflects the conflicting emotions of looking back bittersweetly on a former love. He repeats "I don't" in response to the idea he might still care about her, although the listener is clearly meant to question his confidence in that declaration. Other tracks, such as the completely enrapturing duo of "Forecast" and "O. Lover," the latter of which will grip listeners tightly with its frantic, wild-abandon vocal performance, explore similar themes.

Mraz also explores the art of self-loathing in "Mr.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alpha - Omega and everything in between July 31, 2005
Format:Audio CD
It's been a long time coming, but Jason Mraz doesn't disappoint in this follow up to 2002's "Waiting For My Rocket to Come". A little mellower, a little more introspective, and a lot more polished, this is a great album for easy listening and relaxing.

First single "Wordplay" from this Mechanicsville VA native picks up where "Rocket" left off, with clever lyrics, a versatile range of notes and a catchy chorus that will stick in your head.

"The wonderful thing it does because

Because I am the wizard of ooh's and ah's and fa la la's

Yeah the Mr. A-Z

They say I'm all about the Wordplay"

Another clever track is "Geek in the Pink" which is almost pop-hop lyrics-wise, and one of my favorites. The chorus of "Did You Get My Message" brings up some ELO memories, but this album is all about Mraz from alpha to omega, as he puts it, hence the title Mr. A-Z.

More great tracks are "Clockwatching", the lead off ballad "Life is Wonderful", and "Mr. Curiosity" with its standout piano work. The retro "Bella Luna" showcases Mraz's acoustic guitar work, and "O Lover" drifts to the Latin side. "Please Don't Tell Her" has one of the best opening riffs on the album, and there isn't a bad song on the album.

Grading alphabetically, this one's an A.

Amanda Richards, July 31, 2005
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
With his second studio album, the humorously titled "Mr. A-Z," Jason Mraz has delivered a fine collection of tunes that will solidify his popularity with his dedicated fanbase, yet manages to broaden his horizons in terms of song arrangements and subject matter.

The pensive "Life Is Beautiful" is the opening track, where Mraz makes a series of commonsense observations about life that nevertheless challenges listeners to think outside the box. Lead single "Wordplay," however, immediately follows, injecting the disc with a shot of levity.

"It's all about the wordplay/Ah la la la love/The wonderful thing it does because/Because I am the wizard of ooh's and ah's and fa la la's/Yeah the Mr. A-Z/They say I'm all about the Wordplay."

Despite his astute sense of humor, Mraz does not obscure the fact that he is most definitely a singer/songwriter in the classic 70's sense. Fine examples are the "Plane", an extremely intense selection where he proclaims from high above the ground that, should he come crashing down that he will "remember where the love was found," while in "Bella Luna" he softly croons of the mysterious allure of the moon, creating a relaxing, romantic atmosphere with his witty observations.

"Please Don't Tell Her," which reflects the conflicting emotions of looking back on someone fondly despite the intense pain they brought your life, finds him repeating at the song's end "I don't" in response to the idea that he might still care about an ex-flame, although the listener is clearly meant to question his confidence in that declaration. Other tracks, such as the completely enrapturing fare of "Forecast" and "O. Lover," which will grip listeners tightly with its frantic vocal performance, explore similar themes.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit down, Relax and enjoy some Classic Mraz! August 4, 2005
Format:Audio CD
Master wordsmith Jason Mraz is back at the mic, lips dancing as fast as ever with his new self-titled album, Mr. A-Z. It is, well, all about the wordplay. No if's, but's or fa la la's about it, the album provides a full daily dose of introspective humor. As with "Wordplay" and "The Geek in the Pink", his lyrics are like lucid dreamers: aware of themselves. His stream-of-consciousness lyrical babble is as energizing as his soulful resonance in this album is heart-wrenching.

Although his new single has gotten a lot of radio time lately, by far the best number is "Life is Wonderful". Mraz side-steps his lyrical rap for this passionate pure-hearted piece about the ironies of life. "It takes no time to fall in love... but it takes years to know what love is...". His sound is somewhat folksy in this piece sounding almost like Sting in certain phrases. The mixing could have been a tad tighter but the background music really brings out the lyrics. This song will resonate in your soul.

"Wordplay" is Mraz at his prime self with a steam train of consciousness lyrical rap. The song is word play, teasing with the song and poking fun at his sophomore effort. His voice recalls Queen. It's highly catchy and up beat and one of my favorites. "Geek in the Pink" comes off as an amusing naughty parody of a club music sub-set. Listen, and you'll know what I mean. "Did You Get My Message" is a frantic swing/blues influenced piece with artful repetition of `did you get my message' (apparently a neurosis brought on by a previous girlfriend). Mr. Curiosity is example of another prime cut of Mraz. You'll enjoy a creative nod to opera as Jason pulls out an amazing falsetto. Buy the album so that Jason can buy some looser jeans, okay? Wow!
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
comes up with some real good songs
Published 14 days ago by bob hale
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr A-Z
His music is amazing. When I need too calm down Jason's music does it for me every time. Mr. A-Z did not disappoint
Published 24 days ago by D Diamdondsssss
5.0 out of 5 stars MY LOVE AFFAIR WITH JASON MRAZ...SPIRITUALLY
THIS WAS MY 3RD CD... BUT EVEN WITH THE 1ST SONG BEING, " LIFE IS WONDERFUL" IT STRIKES ME AS BEING. A BIT SAD IN PARTS....SOME BEAUTIFUL SONGS ON HERE... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Bruce L. Rogers
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Mraz - Mr. A-Z
The disk came in perfect condition and was mailed fast. I received the disk in 2 days and began listening to it instantly. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Bruce Baker
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD if you like Jason Miraz
Bought this as a gift for a good friend of mine and she just loves it. Jason is a great new voice in popular music. The recording quality if very good.
Published 5 months ago by Robin E. Brown
4.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but a Goodie
What more can I say? I really like it. Go ahead -- check it out, and if you don't like it, back it goes. ;-)
Published 6 months ago by ABthree
5.0 out of 5 stars This song is absolutely beautiful! Love it!
The lyrics of the song, the voice of the singer Mr. A Z, all is touching my heart every time I am listening. Thank you very much, for the joy.
Published 11 months ago by Nellya Burdan
5.0 out of 5 stars The most pleasing CD so far
Got the chance to listen this album three years ago. Finally get a CD copy to play on my car.
Published 11 months ago by Don Smith
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond stunning. Simply breathtaking. A pop album you definitely need...
I've heard Jason Mraz's first three studio albums in full and this is by a mile his best and most interesting offering. I highly, highly doubt that his new album is this good. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Adrian Cooper
5.0 out of 5 stars Covering the alphabet of life - one glorious letter at a time...
Oh Jason Mraz. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. You sparkle and glimmer while you remind us "Life is Wonderful" (Track One). Read more
Published 13 months ago by D. Pawl
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category