Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Deeds
This was an entertaining movie with a sound cast. The story didn't quite measure up to the original as the remake, but there were some funny shining moments. While this is supposed to be an Adam Sandler film, John Turturro literally steals the movie. He is hilarious as Emilio Lopez the "sneaky sneaky" butler. This movie showcases his well timed comedic talent. Without...
Published on March 22, 2008 by Kelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough To Recommend, but has some good laughs
Adam Sandler movies pretty much shoot for the lowest common denominator. Whether it's jokes about body functions or relationships or people, somehow Adam seems to find some way to make fun of it or to insult someone. In the case of this movie, Adam seems to insult just about everyone, including himself. While the humor is frequently very base, it does occasionally rise...
Published on March 5, 2003 by Lonnie E. Holder


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Deeds, March 22, 2008
This was an entertaining movie with a sound cast. The story didn't quite measure up to the original as the remake, but there were some funny shining moments. While this is supposed to be an Adam Sandler film, John Turturro literally steals the movie. He is hilarious as Emilio Lopez the "sneaky sneaky" butler. This movie showcases his well timed comedic talent. Without his contribution, it would have been just an okay remake of a 1920's classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Deeds makes the eyes smile and the heart chuckle, October 11, 2002
By 
Mr. Deeds is a great movie. It's not intelligent or powerful or anything so lofty. But it is a sweet, silly and very fun movie to watch. Adam Sandler is perfect as the kind-hearted small-town boy experiencing big city life for the first time. Winona Ryder is fantastic to look at and fun to watch. She shines. But the character who steals the show is John Turturo as the butler. His bit parts are big scene stealers. I liked this flick so much I saw it at the theater twice. It is a feel-good movie with some real tender parts and is filled with under-keyed hilarious moments. I like Adam Sandler's raunchy humor, but it is very cool to see him play such a great nice guy. And don't worry, some of the humor in this movie is downright "weird" like only Sandler can deliver. I loved this flick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandler's Best Movie Yet--- from a die-hard fan, November 7, 2002
Adam Sandler has always been my favorite actor. His movies are all similar, in which he usually plays a character who is either slightly retarded or a big loser. Nonetheless, his characters have all been hilarious. In Mr. Deeds, he strays from his normal character to a nice, small-town guy who owns his own business and is loved by everyone. Sandler proves that he can be just as hilarious when playing a completely normal character. When he is told that he has inherited 40 billion dollars from an uncle he didn't know existed, he acts as though nothing unusual has happened and remains the same guy who everyone loves. He goes to New York City with the managers of his deceased uncle's company and gets the rather stiff servants in his uncle's mansion to loosen up. You can't possibly have a sense of humor if you don't explode with laughter when an extremely old man yells, "BOOB!!!" in a hallway that echoes. John Turturro plays Emilio, a hilarious addition to the movie. His character is an adorably funny servant who befriends Deeds during his stay at the mansion. Besides being funny, the movie has a nice love story within it. Winona Ryder plays Babe Bennett, a reporter, and although she originally manipulates Deeds into thinking she is someone else in order to learn personal information about him, she falls in love with the compassionate small-town guy that he is.
Adam Sandler's movies are usually pure comedy, with the exception of few (such as Big Daddy) but in Mr. Deeds, he delivers just as much humor as we have come to expect from him, as well as a solid, wholesome plot. I give this movie five stars, and two thumbs up to Mr. Sandler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr.Deeds, June 15, 2007
A Kid's Review
Mr.Deeds is about a guy named long fellow Deeds(Adam Sandler).Who works and lives in a small town.But then goes to the big city New York CITY to get 40 billion dollors from an uncle who passes away.And lives in a mansion with a strange butler who sneaks up on you.Deeds falls in love with a school nurse.The school nurse really is a reaporter.She reports about his crazy behaviors as a rich man.

I think it is a great and funny and funny movie.Adam Sandler does a good job for the character long fellow Deeds.

I recommend this movie to people who like a good comedy.Another recommendation is for people who are 13 years or older because it is raded pg-13.People who love Adam Sandler will love the movie Mr.Deeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars who is deeds, May 17, 2007
A Kid's Review
WHO

IS DEEDS

It was a late February morning when Preston Blake was climbing mountain Everest when a terrifying and violent storm hits the mountaintop when Preston Blake's team has to turn back and has to go to the campsite. But Preston Blake keeps going on to the top of the mountain. But the tragic part is when he makes it to the top he gets frozen solid. But the video of him getting to the top and frozen was sent all over the world on TV.

When his closest living nephew gets all of his forty billion dollars and has to save all of his uncles company and all of the people working there that he have made his new friends. If you want to see this you should see the movie Mr. Deeds on video or DVD.

The main two characters in the movie are Adam Sandler and Wionona Ryder are two great actors that star in this movie. The director is Steven Brill has to be a good director to have made this movie. The rating for this movie is PG-13 for and violence. But to me the movie is a great comedy for the family and friends of all ages. If I was to give this movie a rating of a one to ten I would give it a ten because this movie shows no matter how rich a person is they can be a great person in side and to the other people around him and also be a good friend.

If you want to buy this movie for the family it is available in stores and DVD, video, widescreen, and full screen. This movie can also be found in a local blockbuster near you and or anywhere that they sell and rents movies to the public. This movie is some times shown on TV on channels like TNT, the movie channels on TV and on paper view on TV.

This movie has a price range about ten to fifteen dollars if you buy it at a store or online it would be about that price. But to me this is a good price for this movie this movie is its funniness of all comedy. It is a movie to watch over and over with the family. To me I strongly recommend this movie to all viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewer: Big Zach! NOT A KIDS REVIEW! although a kid!, August 22, 2005
A Kid's Review
THis movie is hilarious! I love it. I remember the first time I watched it I cracked up. I have no idea why you people are giving it bad reviews! Adam Sandler and John Turtorro where great in this movie highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough To Recommend, but has some good laughs, March 5, 2003
Adam Sandler movies pretty much shoot for the lowest common denominator. Whether it's jokes about body functions or relationships or people, somehow Adam seems to find some way to make fun of it or to insult someone. In the case of this movie, Adam seems to insult just about everyone, including himself. While the humor is frequently very base, it does occasionally rise to a level to give you a good laugh.
The story is pretty simple. Rich guy dies, leaving "poor" hick relative billions of dollars. The poor defenseless rube moves to the big city and is taken advantage of by all the immoral people there. The hick doesn't really care for money, and returns to his small town values where the buffalo roam and nary a cloud is seen except in blizzards and tornados.
So where's the twist? There aren't any. If you are watching this movie to see some grand new interpretation of "Mr. Deeds Goes to Town", then don't bother. This movie is another Adam Sandler movie, with the only variation being location, but! The biggest "but" is that Sandler generally avoids the most base and gross jokes in this movie. I can't remember once when Sandler used a four-letter word. The humor here is all slapstick, but doesn't (finally!) rely on four-letter words to be funny.
There are scenes in this movie that shouldn't be funny, but are. When Sandler opens the coffin at the funeral and the still-frozen body pops out, I was rolling on the floor. It was stupid, but it was funny. The foot fetish jokes were lost on me. A couple of times I found them funny, but the rest of the time I thought they were tedious.
I admit that I was glad I watched the movie. I might even watch it again. However, the movie comes across as more of a series of adlibbed scenes rather than a well-plotted movie. It seemed that there were only a couple of actors that took this movie very seriously, and their seriousness felt awkward compared to the clowning around. Winona Ryder was one actor who took her role seriously, and in scenes with Sandler and Ryder, they just struggled to achieve any chemistry.
While the movie is sufficiently light that it made a good one-time watch for me, I struggle to provide too much of a recommendation. I think some Sandler fans will find it less inspired that some of his former movies. Anyone that tries to compare it to "Mr. Deeds Goes to Town" will be thoroughly disappointed. I give this one three stars for the laughs I got, but keep your expectations low when you watch this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take incongruities with grain of salt, and it's entertaining, September 26, 2002
By 
...As the title character, Sandler is a hero we pull for, but his old screwball antics do get in the way at times. No real hero would clobber senseless a whole reataurant full of people because they ridiculed him. But here, Sandler as the title character does so in a return to his screwball persona. One might even argue that that persona goes over the top when he goes after a purse-snatcher and doesn't stop with merely subduing him but continues to beat him while he is down, with a seemingly sadistic glee. Perhaps a real hero should show some restraint in such a situation, even considering that the purse-snatching could actually be a setup, as it in fact is in this case. To buy into the heroism of Mr. Deeds, we have to do some considerable winking past these gratuitous farcically sadistic episodes. For those who can do that, the movie can be passably enjoyable. Sandler is entertaining, even when incongrously so. The movie is elevated considerably by the pleasant surprise of Winona Ryder's performance, even though her character starts out as a participant in that purse-snatching setup...MR. DEEDS should be remembered as one of the brighter spots in her uneven career. Here she puts forth a charm we haven't seen in a long time, and her acting fits well into the story. As a co-star to Sandler, she meshed with his character well, certainly the best since Drew Barrymore in THE WEDDING SINGER...She might just be the most uniformly good part of MR. DEEDS, and that gives hope for a more evenly successful career in her future. All in all MR. DEEDS is a watchable bit of entertainment for those not too put off by its incongrous swings between irreverent farce and heartwarming feel-good story and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam!!, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
can't get enough of Sandler!!
Even my Mom likes him. She loves Mr. Deeds. Her favorite! She doesn't like much in the entertainment feild so this is quite the compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better movie than the ratings indicate. I recommend it., March 28, 2014
This review is from: Mr. Deeds (Amazon Instant Video)
I wrote this review because Deeds was rated below many really poor movies. It is great movie and fun. Some stuff was dumb like his black foot. What purpose was that? Was it supposed to be funny? However, Greed losing out was great. A poor boy from the country whipping pompous city slickers is my kind of fun. Adam Sander is not my favorite kind of comedian. Leslie Nielsen is my kind of comedian. But, Deeds was good and I think much better than the ratings showed. I watched it twice and after watching two lousy new movies consecutively I tend to go back to my old but good ones. Happy Gilmore was a good Adam Sander Movie. I wish he would do a satire on Washington and their double standards. Why have we had so few movies depicting the double standards of Washington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr. Deeds [Blu-ray]
Mr. Deeds [Blu-ray] by Steven Brill (Blu-ray - 2011)
$19.99 $13.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.