Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a required upgrade
I bought this hose because I wanted to maximize the safety, usefulness and economy of the propane Portable Buddy heater by Mr Heater. You can't go wrong buying this hose!

1. It allows the use of a larger LP tank (I have a 20 lb cylinder). I am certain the savings from buying LP fuel in bulk will pay for the hose.

2. You can locate the bulk tank a...
Published on November 10, 2003 by Daniel Rutkowski

versus
58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problem with hose not pressurizing - solved
I, like a number of others, had the problem where the hose did not seem to allow propane through it (or at least no more than to keep the pilot light lit). I confirmed it was not the heater by using a 1 lb can which heated just fine. I also have two 20 lb tanks on my cargo trailer, and neither one would keep the heater lit other than the pilot light.
This made me...
Published 11 months ago by RaySC


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a required upgrade, November 10, 2003
By 
Daniel Rutkowski (Wernersville, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
I bought this hose because I wanted to maximize the safety, usefulness and economy of the propane Portable Buddy heater by Mr Heater. You can't go wrong buying this hose!

1. It allows the use of a larger LP tank (I have a 20 lb cylinder). I am certain the savings from buying LP fuel in bulk will pay for the hose.

2. You can locate the bulk tank a good distance away from the lit heater. I use the heater primarily in my garage, and with the hose I can put the heater up on a shelf or on the workbench, off the floor, and still have the bulk tank in a convenient and safe spot.

3. The hose can be used with any propane appliance that uses disposable propane cylinders.

Here's an essential safety tip when using this hose: be sure to shut/close the valve on the bulk tank BEFORE you remove the hose from the tank. It's possible to remove the hose end from the bulk tank without closing the tank valve and you will quickly find out that liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) is another name for stinky, oily mess when it comes squirting out of the valve as I've done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent add on for Mr. Heater, January 10, 2005
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
I bought two of these hoses to attach to two 20lb propane tanks. Attaching to 20lb propane tanks is a huge savings over using the individual 1 quart propane cyclinders. Hoses work very well. The only thing to remember when attaching the hose to 20lb propane tanks is that the couplings are left hand threaded (i.e. you must turn to the left to tighten).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problem with hose not pressurizing - solved, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
I, like a number of others, had the problem where the hose did not seem to allow propane through it (or at least no more than to keep the pilot light lit). I confirmed it was not the heater by using a 1 lb can which heated just fine. I also have two 20 lb tanks on my cargo trailer, and neither one would keep the heater lit other than the pilot light.
This made me think that the 20lb end was not going in far enough to engage the valve on the tank.
However, after doing about 1 hour of research, I found a factoid on the propane check valve, which is required on all propane tanks after 1998.
According to this article (just search for "reset propane check valve"), what happens is if you have a high-pressure line hooked up to the propane tank and just "quickly" open the valve on the tank, the check valve will "burst" (open) and gas will not be allowed through the tank into the line. (I think the tank thinks there is nothing connected to it, so the valve shuts off the gas)
Once this happens, you need to "reset" the valve:
a. Turn off the valve on the tank, leaving it connected to the heater/grill, etc.
b. Disconnect the hose from the propane tank, but not the appliance.
c. Turn on the appliance (or leave it running before step a), and let the pilot light or burner stay lit until it extinguishes (This will purge the remaining gas from the hose.
d. TURN OFF THE APPLIANCE.
e. Hook the propane tank back up, ensuring the valve is closed.
f. With the hose now hooked up to both the appliance and the tank, SLOWLY open the propane valve a 1/4 turn, and you should hear the hose pressurize. This has told the tank that there is something hooked to it, and the check valve did not engage.
g. Once you hear the hose pressurize, you can open the valve on the propane tank all the way.

Following these steps (simplified below), I was able to use the suspect hose on both propane tanks. I am a little perturbed that the manufacture of this hose does not tell you these cautionary notes, as the hose is solely used for bulk tank to throwaway can appliances. I wonder how many others have thrown away this hose because they too, did not know about the check valve? I have placed a sign on the Little Buddy Heater with the simple steps so I never have this problem again...

Here are the steps above summarized:
a. Turn off the propane tank with the appliance running and the hose disconnected from the tank so it burns all the propane in the hose.
b. Turn off the appliance. Connect the hose back to the (closed) tank valve
c. Crank the LP valve 1/4 turn with hose completely connected, listen for the hose pressurizing.
d. Slowly open rest of way. Appliance should light now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately a needed add on.., December 27, 2001
By 
Brian M. Leighton (Bedford, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
If you are buying the Mr. Buddy Heater, this hose (or the 5' model) are definately needed. By using the larger (20lb or bigger) tanks you have many more hours of operation without having to change the disposable tanks. This hose will also allow you to use bulk tanks with any propane appliance that accepts the disposable tanks (stoves, lantern, etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good hose, February 1, 2012
By 
Mike (Douglas, AK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
This is the hose you need to hook up your Buddy heater to a larger (20 lbs) propane tank.

This hose is all you need. You don't need anything else. You don't need a regulator. However, adding a fuel filter wouldn't be a bad idea.

Both ends of this hose are suggested to be hand-tightened. Fine. However, I couldn't get mine to pass gas. The fitting going into the heater needed another 1/8" of turn at which point the gas flowed freely. Apparently the fitting is quite sensitive. This required a wrench as I had tightened it as much as possible, by hand. You may, or may not, need to do this.

The hose itself is of good quality, and so are the brass fittings. Nevertheless, the hose needs protection from abrasion and assorted abuse. As a reminder, recall that the fitting going into the propane tank must be turned counter-clock-wise to tighten, as opposed to normal threading which is turned clock-wise to tighten. Finally, remember to turn off the gas at the propane tank, and letting the heater burn off the gas in the line, so as not to turn the Plasticizer in the hose into gunk, which would clog up your heater.

(There is another hose, without the Plasticizer being sold by Mr Heater, but of course, having no Plasticizer, that hose will be stiff as heck.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a direct fit for MH40LP, November 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
I bought this extended hose to keep the radiant heater hanging on the ceiling in my garage while allowing the tank to be a good distance away. While the POL style fitting worked fine for the 20Lb propane tank I have but the other end does NOT fit in the MH40LP gas inlet. It would've been nice to know what parts I needed before hand, now I will have to go to homedepot and do research on the parts I need or having to once again order off the internet and wait...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hose, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
I have bought about 60 of these hoses from Amazon and 100’s from other dealers, and have had zero problems. It is absolutely an excellent hose. For those of you who are leaving one star because you can't get gas to go through the hose, it is not the hose causing this. It is the safety check valve inside your tank. All new tanks now have a safety check valve inside the tank inside the main shutoff valve. If there is ever a large break in a gas line, and a large amount of gas is escaping, this check valve will close, preventing gas from escaping. When you first pressurize this hose, that initial rush of gas into the hose can trip the check valve inside the tank, preventing gas from further exiting the tank. To solve the problem, close the main tank valve. Allow the hose to depressurize by using whatever gas is in the hose. Then, open the main tank valve again very slowly so gas can fill the hose slowly. If you hear a “click” at the tank shut off valve, you’ve tripped the check valve again. Depressurize again and open the shut off valve slower next time. Once the hose is pressurized, open the tank valve all the way. The small amount of gas that you will use for appliances will not trip the safety valve inside the tank. Your appliance should work properly.

For those of you who are leaving low feedback scores because the ends of the hose are not correct for what you’re working on, is that really a fault of the hose? Not really understanding that. My suggestion is to ask first if you are unsure. There is plenty of info on this hose all over the internet. It is sold by many dealers. So you don’t need to make the mistake of buying it incorrectly and then blaming the hose for not having the ends you needed. Hate to see an excellent product like this degraded because of a consumer mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect High-Quality, High-Pressure hose, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
This is the perfect "Propane Accessory" for survivalists, campers, and outdoors-people! I got it today and tested it out on my Coleman Propane Camping stove. I connected it to the metal regulator that would ordinarily connect to a one-pound, disposable bottle of propane (and this regulator to the stove) then the opposite end to my 20 lb BBQ/Grill propane tank. I just cracked and shut the valve to pressurize this line as it was only a test.

In about 10 seconds of opening the burner control on low and holding a flame next to it the air was purged from the line and the burner ignited perfectly. It burned for about a minute with just the air pressure in this hose before flaming out. I know 100% for sure now in the next power outage my family and I will be able to heat up food, boil water, and even simmer black-beans for hours. Think about it... a disposable one-pound bottle will last about 3 to 4 hours on low (one burner)... A BBQ sized tank will last 60 to 80 hours for only $15 in Propane Fuel! What do you want when your lights go out?

I should mention the hose has the legacy left-handed threads. I think they should upgrade to the newer right-handed threads like my BBQ. It might also be smart to add a small high-pressure regulator set to maybe 60 PSI; since, no appliance is ever going to use that as the working pressure (they all have their own low-pressure regulator). Long term 60 PSI would be a lot easier on the hose than up to 250 PSI in the summer directly from the tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extra long hose, February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
The only thing to be aware of is that it will take longer to light your pilot with this hose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The connector is too deep, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702 (Kitchen)
Unfortunately, the connector is too deep and the pin in my appliance will not activate the gas flow. My appliance is not a Mr Heater product, but a portable patio heater.The description indicated that it should work with any device that connects to a portable propane canister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr. Heater 75,000 BTU 12-Foot Propane Hose Assembly #F273702
$36.80 $27.99
In stock. Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.