Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great 50's Series
I recently ordered this set from Barnes & Noble. As you know, some of Timeless
Media Group's series, have been less than good. This one however, makes it.
The picture quality is very good, and the audio is even better. The only reason
I didn't give it a better grade is because some of the episodes are a little
darker than others. But the picture is...
Published 20 months ago by Barry D. Andrews

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PICTURE QUALITY IS DREADFUL
Was really looking forward to this, but the result is deeply disappointing. The picture quality is dark and washed out, while the sound quality is often warped and distorted. Sad.
Published 20 months ago by Steve Vertlieb


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great 50's Series, October 22, 2012
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
I recently ordered this set from Barnes & Noble. As you know, some of Timeless
Media Group's series, have been less than good. This one however, makes it.
The picture quality is very good, and the audio is even better. The only reason
I didn't give it a better grade is because some of the episodes are a little
darker than others. But the picture is crisp, no jumps, no dirt. A worthwhile
purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT AND UNDERRATED SERIES, October 23, 2012
By 
Nick Kitt (Woodstock NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
It is about time this excellent series was finally released on DVD. What a gem! Now, I remember this series growing up, but when it aired, I was only 10 years old. I always enjoyed the action (always a fist fight), and some of the more subtle things might have gone over my head. But, seeing it again made me realize that this show more then stands the test of time. The characters are timeless and really do stand up. Many posthumous kudos to John Vivyan and Ross Martin as Lucky and Andamo and to creator Blake Edwards. In fact, in my opinion, much better then PETER GUNN and I think that series is still good and was also created by the talented Mr. Edwards. MR LUCKY is better overall. You gotta LOVE the cars alone !!! Another great thing is that each episode is a tight half hour episode telling the story and accenting it with action at the end. I've heard some say that the plots were a little shopworn, but I disagree. It was just the nature of the character of Mr Lucky to have friends AND enemies always knocking on his door.It added to the somewhat mysterious past of Lucky who's real name we never learned and whose past was never really revealed. Perhaps more would have come out if there was a second season. Now, in this day and age, it's hard to imagine that this show was a bona fide hit and not renewed. But,in those early days, networks really did care about what people thought. In the South Bible belt, there were complaints that the series glorified gambling and so much pressure was applied that the sole advertiser, Lever Bros, demanded that gambling been taken out in favor of a dinner club. The series complied, but at the end of the first season, Lever Bros pulled out and, incredibly,CBS could not find another sponsor for the show to continue. It was a top twenty show for the year !! That would never happen today and as such, the show went WAY too soon. But,nonetheless,it's really good to finally have this vastly overlooked program in as pristine as you're going to get it. This IS the best collection I have seen of this show, having stupidly bought a couple over the years which all sucked compared to this. The picture is really very good throughout with just a couple a little dark,but considering the nature of the series,it doesn't really work against your viewing pleasure. The sound is also very good, with only the episode, "BUGSY", where the voices sound a little tinny and strange. But, basically, the audio is excellent, loud and clear. That's a real plus because the musical soundtrack is a classic!! The music was a standout by the great Henry Mancini and the show also produced not one, but TWO, hit LPs, MR LUCKY and MR LUCKY GOES LATIN. And they STILL canceled it !!! However, with this wonderful set released by Timeless Media,they added a bonus disc,the LP MR LUCKY for your listening pleasure. This is a fabulous buy no matter how you look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PICTURE QUALITY IS DREADFUL, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
Was really looking forward to this, but the result is deeply disappointing. The picture quality is dark and washed out, while the sound quality is often warped and distorted. Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Episodes Fun, Later Not So Muck, February 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
The Mr. Lucky series suffered a problem midway when producer Blake Edwards was forced to change the lead's floating casino to a floating restaurant. Edwards had created one very successful series, Peter Gunn, with a lead who resembled the actor Cary Grant in dress, haircut, voice pattern -- bottom line, every way legally possible. Mr. Lucky was based on the Cary Grant film of the same name. In it Grant operated a gambling ship. The actor portraying the TV Lucky, John Vivyan, isn't quite as successful as Gunn's Craig Stevens at aping Grant, but he is properly droll and rugged, and he has the added advantage of Ross Martin's comedic backup as his nearly omnipresent assistant Andamo. That works well until the powers that be knuckle under to the anti-gambling complaints and take the edge off the series by converting the boat to a night club-restaurant. Still, it's fun seeing youthful actors (like Jack Nicholson) pop up on their way to stardom. And those early shows are worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Lucky The Complete Series a one season show, January 30, 2013
By 
Bruce Burke (Baltimore, Maryland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
This series I purchased without ever seeing one solitary episode for a few reasons. It's another Blake Edwards creation who created one of my other favorite series Peter Gunn. The music again like Peter Gunn is done by Henry Mancini. The styling of Blake Edwards for this show is the same stylish quality although different from Peter Gunn. Also the costar is Ross Martin who played Artemus in The Wild Wild West. I never new Ross Martin did any other tv series besides West and he was a great actor. The star John Vivyan as Mr. Lucky is a good actor too and these episodes are complete. This show ran for one season. I have not seen all episodes yet but I have liked each one I have seen. This show aired 1959 to 1960 black and white half hour shows. The stories move quickly and there is action a plenty in the ones I have seen. If you really like the old crime shows of the 1950's to 1960's era, and if you are definitely a Peter Gunn fan, you won't be dissapointed, you can't beat the price for this set and I believe you will appreciate this show as a short addition set to go along with Peter Gunn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Lucky, a nightly compadre., July 26, 2013
By 
Gene Cisco "Moon Man" (Alameda, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
This series finally got the re-do it deserved for being one of the most infectious, late-50s, series that sadly, was short-lived. The picture for the most part (exception in the opening pilot episode with Nehamiah Persoff and the next one)is well-contrasted with good sound. Why would you want to botch the incredible soundtrack of Henry Mancini, so exceptionally cool and swinging as a martini on a hot night? The series was well controlled by Blake Edwards throughout, with scripts so sharp and dead-on you feel in just 25 minutes that you experienced an hour. When I first saw this series, I thought it had run over 3 years. The camaraderie between Mr. Lucky (John Vivyan) and his compadre (Ross Martin) is unequalled and much imitated throughout the following decades. In fact when Ross Martin was in "Wild, Wild West" 6 years later, on occasion, he lampooned what he did so smoothly in "Mr. Lucky." You will see the likes of Jack Nicholson, Richard Chamberlain and Barbara Bain (pre-Mission Impossible)and Gavin Macleod if you are so observant. In fact, the resemblance of John Vivyan to Cary Grant was so obvious, cleft chin, tall and handsome, so comedic that I thought he was Grant. Unlike Grant, who disdained violence as a last resort, both Vivyan and Martin get very physical in every episode in cuffed tuxedoes most of the time, almost Bond-like. (another imitator: The Saint)The other signature mark restored in this collection is Lucky's pulled stopwatch that signaled the call of Lucky in each episode. All in all it is a supreme joy to see and hear this stylish series that stands apart from the many series to come (Starsky & Hutch, Miami Vice) that never quite reached the flair and sophistication of this Blake Edwards charmer. Action, adventure, danger, gun play, gun molls, gamblers, grifters they all make their parade in the action aboard the Fortuna II, for awhile a gambling casino, then later, a bona fide restaurant-at-sea. Enjoy with a glass of champagne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MR LUCKY SERIES, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
I am just thrilled this came out on DVD. There was a product available, years ago on VHS, but it
only had about 8 episodes. This DVD contains every eposide. WOW!
If you like late '50's early '60's TV, I highly recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great series Rotten Quality., December 7, 2013
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
Familiar with this Great series, only to be Disappointed with the choppy strobe like effect on the fast action scenes. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic series!!!!, June 8, 2013
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
Really loved the series and the music by Hank Mancini. This and "Peter Gunn" were my two favorites! I've only watched the the 1st 2 episodes, but in the second, the video is obviously sped up a bit. Mr. Lucky's voice sounds almost chipmunk-like at times, and the action sometimes looks like an old time movie. They probably did this to fit everything on a DVD. Please respond if anyone else notices this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vintage Romp, January 20, 2013
By 
This review is from: Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series (DVD)
Several television series have stayed close to my heart through the years, going all the way back to my earliest days. Two in the sophisticated crime caper vein that dominated my life during late grade school were Peter Gunn and Mr. Lucky. (Later, T.H.E. Cat would form with them a personal holy trio.) Fortune has now smiled and made Mr. Lucky available in a full run. The quality of the transfers is uneven and not what I'd call excellent, with occasional distortion and cuts in picture and audio, but it's all good enough for me. Although the stories often hinge on coincidence and improbabilities, I always found the story telling to be excellent, with engaging and memorable characters experiencing frequent reversals of fortune that occurred in delicious ways. The combination of drama with an overall tone of light-hearted joy was and is irresistible in its somewhat Damon Runyonesque tone. My main complaint is with respect to packaging: The four discs are arranged in two pairs, each pair socketed to one side of the interior with one overlapping the other. Thus, if you want play the disc that's underneath, you have to first pull out the one one top, keep it safe and take out the desired one, then keep it safe while you put back the first. Oh, and to top it off there is a compact disc of music from the series which is loose in a paper and plastic sleeve. But all this aside, I heartily recommend this set, technical and packaging shortcomings and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series
Mr. Lucky: The Complete Series by Alan Crosland Jr. (DVD - 2012)
$34.93 $21.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.