Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite Michael Keaton films
I remember seeing "Mr. Mom" in the movie theaters twenty years ago. It was a cute, harmless comedy. Whenever I think of Michael Keaton, I think of this movie. Michael Keaton stars as Jack Butler who falls victim to layoffs at the company he works for. His wife Caroline played by Terri Garr makes a bet with him over who gets a job first. Caroline manages to get a job at an...
Published on September 22, 2004 by Erica Anderson

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Movie is Great DVD is Disapointing
I love this movie. Being a Mr. Mom myself with 2 boys "and a Job" I relate to this movie very much. But I am dissapointed in the fact that MGM does not have a wide screen version of this movie. I am also disapointed in the special features or lack there of. I am a DVD lover and I look forward to the extras that DVD's offer. But if you don't have a widescreen...
Published on August 14, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite Michael Keaton films, September 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Mr. Mom (DVD)
I remember seeing "Mr. Mom" in the movie theaters twenty years ago. It was a cute, harmless comedy. Whenever I think of Michael Keaton, I think of this movie. Michael Keaton stars as Jack Butler who falls victim to layoffs at the company he works for. His wife Caroline played by Terri Garr makes a bet with him over who gets a job first. Caroline manages to get a job at an advertising agency headed by Ron Richardson (Martin Mull). The only drawback is that Caroline hasn't worked in awhile so she is like a fish out of water at the company until she comes up with a snazzy ad campaign for tuna fish. In the meantime, Jack has to take over the role of housewife and learn to clean the house, take care of the children, fix dinner, do laundry, and go grocery shopping. It takes Jack awhile to adapt to the role of Mr. Mom but he has the help of Caroline's friends. The results is hilarious especially when Jack goes to the grocery store and loses one of his children. Another favorite moments is when the women and Jack are playing poker with grocery coupons or when they end up going to a Chippendale's nightclub. "Mr. Mom" is good, clean fun. Nothing offensive so it is perfect for children to watch. I still enjoy watching it after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keaton is masterful, January 16, 2001
This review is from: Mr. Mom (DVD)
After he burst off the screen in Night Shift, Michael Keaton was given his first leading role in this film. He plays Jack Butler who designs and builds cars for a big Detroit auto maker. Due to cutbacks, he is laid off from his job. His wife, played by Teri Garr, has been a housewife to their three kids and hasn't worked in years. Jack and her make a bet as to who will get a job first. Of she does and Jack is forced to stay at home and watch the kids. He obviously has no idea how tough the job is and the film goes through his transformation from an inept house dad to a growing into the role. Some hilarious scenes include a trip to the supermarket gone awry, Jack's addiction to soap operas and his confrontations with his wife's smug boss played with oily charm by Martin Mull. Teri Garr is very funny as is Ann Jillian as her best friend. The real star is of course Mr. Keaton, who shows he cannot only be funny, but touching and caring. a first rate performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Your Doing It Wrong....", March 13, 2002
This review is from: Mr Mom [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This 1983 comedy is a real gem. No matter what the one star reviews below so ignorantly say. It's definitley one of the best jobs Michael Keaton has ever done. The movie has funny written all over it. It's too bad the people down below have no sense of humor. Keaton stars as Jack Butler, a man who is laid off from his job. As soon as he is, his wife(Teri Garr)decides to go back to work and gets a great job. Poor Jack is now home dealing with all of the normal,everyday things that you usually do. He is raising the kids, doing the dishes, laundry, making dinner. He has even started to watch soaps and hang out the neighborhood ladies. Grocery shopping is a nightmare for him. The review on this page stated that the movie is sexist. Please. People make arguments over something that's not even there. Sigh. This movie has many classic scenes as well as dialogue that you can repeat over and over. The supporting cast includes a number of familiar faces : Martin Mull, Jeffrey Tambor, and Christopher Lloyd. This is a wonderful family comedy that deserves a lot more attention than it got. Don't let the negative reviews sway you from seeing a sweet,charming comedy. Good and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still fun to watch even today, October 23, 2000
This review is from: Mr Mom [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Even though this movie was made back in the 80's, it's still an enjoyable movie to see(even for the family). Micheal Keaton is fun to watch as a father trying to adjust to his new job, being at home full time taking care of his kids and the house. The children in this movie are not to be forgotten. They add to the laughs and fun for this movie. Enjoyed in the 80's and still enjoyed it in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cute!!!!, August 2, 2000
This review is from: Mr. Mom (DVD)
Michael Keaton was really good in this movie. He plays Jack Butler who gets laid off from the car plant. His wife goes out and goes to work for an ad agency... Michael keaton shows a real kinship with the kids! Teri Garr was great as the working mother! She had to fight off a real sleezeball who wanted her to dump Jack so that she could marry him. Favorite Lines: "You ever talk to my kid like that again, I'm kocking you out!" "Where does Mommy keep the extra Diapers?" Happens after the baby gets into the can of chili. Other kids run from Jack! We see him go back in with the baby. Then we hear "Oh Meg!" Funny and classic comedy at its best!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, March 12, 2005
This review is from: Mr. Mom [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Loved this movie.. Michael Keatons best as well as my other favorite, Gung Ho. I have watched Mr. Mom a hundred times. Wish Michael would do another good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious!, April 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Mom [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie when i was a little girl and i loved it! Keaton is wonderful in it. He's a guy who gets laid off so his wife garr goes to work and keaton takes care of their i think 3 kids (sorry it's been a while). My favorite scene is when he's in the supermarket and one of his kids keeps making a mess and the overhead thing keeps going clean up on isle 10 or clean up on isle 5. You just got to see it to get it and i love when he fights with the vaccuum cleaner and the washing machine. Very good please watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Mom, July 4, 2007
By 
C. Walls (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Mom (DVD)
Purchased this for a friend of mine who is in fact a stay at home DAD. Perfect gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somebody must've died...there's a limosine out front., February 27, 2004
By 
Justin Jahnke (justin baton rouge) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Mom (DVD)
If you don't own this movie, get it. It is a classic. The characters are believable and real and the comedy is perfectly blended between real-life/palusible situations and that intanglible movie quality that makes movies like this great. Kenny and Alex remind me...of me...when I was their age. Jack Butler, Carolyn Butler, Ron Richardson, Joan...all fantanstic characters. In my opinion, movies of the 1980's (character/plot driven movies) don't get any better than this. My one critique is that the male stripper scense seem a little out of place. Yum Yum Tuna Bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Mom still entertains after 25 years ..., August 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: Mr. Mom (DVD)
I just saw this movie after not seeing it in many years. Hard to believe it's been 25 years since it was released. Times certainly have changed, but so many things have stayed the same.

Michael Keaton is Jack, a working, everyday white collar employee in Detroit working for the auto industry who finds himself out of a job. In a somewhat odd twist of fate for the early 80s, his wife Caroline (Teri Garr) finds a job and goes to work, leaving him to care for the house and kids. Jack is now a house husband, caring for the kids and giving into the hilarity of being a stay at home Mom. This goes on for months on end and Jack gives into the tedium of being a stay at homer. He gives into the endless hours of daytime television, letting the house go, letting the kids overtake him, not knowing or caring enough to learn the ropes of running a house, and having the tension mount between him and Caroline.

There are a series of screwball comedy antics between him, the kids, the household chores, and trying to keep it all under control, and the classic battle of the sexes theme is always there (a man trying to keep things under control in a woman's world). He adopts a clique of women friends, even being chased by a shark of a divorcee, Joan.

Funny how things have changed since then. With the poor economy and the changing gender roles in society today, it's not so uncommon to find a man staying at home with the kids. More women are working than ever before, and more than half of the married women are the breadwinners of their families. It might have been a little strange back then, but it's become more commonplace now. Who knows? Maybe someday we'll go back to these simplier times. I see a world of slightly more courtesy in their working worlds, well behaved kids, and little to no dysfunction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr. Mom
Mr. Mom by Stan Dragoti (DVD - 2000)
$14.98 $8.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.