Customer Reviews


540 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 155 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Special Edition DVD Upgrade
Many people have been ripping this release apart without so much as a glance at the product itself. While the DVD may fall short of other recent Collector's Edition DVDs, such as the Alien films, this is a superb presentation, with some genuinely interesting Special Features.

What has sparked the most debate about this release is easily the "Unrated" cut...
Published on May 29, 2006 by Carl Cannella

versus
105 of 117 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unrated review
Amazon seems to be mixing together reviews of this product and the regular, unrated version of it, so I will say right off the bat that my review is for the Unrated DVD edition of this movie. So please don't vote it unhelpful just because Amazon put it in the wrong place!

Basically, the unrated disc is a waste of money. For one, "unrated" only refers to less...
Published on August 4, 2007 by kaduzy


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

147 of 155 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Special Edition DVD Upgrade, May 29, 2006
Many people have been ripping this release apart without so much as a glance at the product itself. While the DVD may fall short of other recent Collector's Edition DVDs, such as the Alien films, this is a superb presentation, with some genuinely interesting Special Features.

What has sparked the most debate about this release is easily the "Unrated" cut itself. The film is largely the same, running only 6 minutes longer than the original cut. The added scenes are interesting - additional dialogue with the counsellor in the opening, a few extra dialogue sequences between Pitt and Jolie before they learn each others identities, and a handful of alternate takes for certain sequences. Perhaps the most notable - and most controversial - is the extended love scene halfway through the film. The scene is very steamy, but those expecting excessive raunch or skin from the gorgeous stars will be disappointed. This is a love scene, not a sex scene, and there is only the tiniest hint of skin from both actors, with Pitt (or Pitt's body double, as the shot in question is from the neck down) showing the most.

And far the the SPECIAL FEATURES go, the disc is very careful not to double-dip. It includes: (1) Deleted Scenes, including an alternate ending. None of the deleted scenes are repeated from the original reelase, and many are well worth a watch. (2) A feature-length commentary from director Doug Limon that, while informative, offers little insight not mentioned in the original release's commentaries. (3) Doug's Film School. This section is essentially a breakdown of abandonded concept and sequences that never made it on film. Of note is a lengthy alternate version of the Desert sequence, located at a snowy mountaintop and ending in a hand-to-hand battle between a masked Pitt and Jolie, as well as several animatics for various sequnces throughout the films. Also of note is the inclusion of the deleted "villain" sequences mentioned of the commentary of the first release's commentary. (4)Confidential Files. This is actually where the deleted scenes are located. Also included in the "file" is a 4-minute gag reel, and a hidden Easter Egg (another deleted scene). (5) Behind the scenes documentary. This 30-minutes featurette offers more insight than that of the original release, as well as a significat amount of B-Roll footage from several of the film's major set piees, including the in-house battle and the desert scene. (6) Photo Gallery. 2 dull on-screen scroll-through photo galleries.

While this reelase has met with much criticism, those who enjoyed the movie should be informed that this is one of the rare double-dips that doesn't FEEL like a double-dip. No features are repeated from the original release, and the unrated movie itself is different enough from the theatrical version that it is well worth owning both versions. Also, the picture is much clearer and less grainy, and the sound more crisp.

The disc also includes a DVD insert, with random facts about the film anda Chapter List (36 Chapters).

Grade: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 117 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unrated review, August 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazon seems to be mixing together reviews of this product and the regular, unrated version of it, so I will say right off the bat that my review is for the Unrated DVD edition of this movie. So please don't vote it unhelpful just because Amazon put it in the wrong place!

Basically, the unrated disc is a waste of money. For one, "unrated" only refers to less than a minute of previously cut footage from the big love scene. But for some reason, the people who cut this version of the movie actually cut OUT scenes from the original DVD -- scenes that actually added to the plot, whereas none of the restored scenes do. This is quite aggravating. In addition, none of the extras make this DVD worth owning. They should have made this cut of the movie available on the original DVD release instead of giving it its own release. This was an obvious ploy to make more money, and I'm quite sorry that I fell for it. Here's hoping my review keeps you from doing the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Director's Cut smoother than the Original Cut, December 27, 2006
If you haven't watched the theatrical version of this movie plenty of times, you may not notice the minute changes from that version to this director's cut version.

Some of the dialogue has changed and some scenes are extended. The Bogota Dirty Dance scene has been extended, as was the War of the Roses fight and love scenes. The Dance of Death towards the end is also slightly different. Also different was the hidden lives of both Smiths weren't revealed until much later in the movie.

I truly enjoyed the original cut, but this cut cleared up some minor foibles I had w/ the first. Adam Brody's scene was cut out of the beginning, which I thought worked better for the movie because in the original his introduction went nowhere, other than his reappearance toward the end. There appeared to be a lot more character development in this version as well. Of course more Bogota scenes are dreamily sexy as was the love scene after their big marital spat.

If you're a huge Mr. & Mrs. Smith fan, I would recommend buying both the theatrical release and the Director's Cut. If you don't want to buy both, I think the Director's cut is actually better than the original.

The only part I wish was that Brad & Angie to do some of the commentary. The commentary on this disk wasn't as interesting as the Original Version dvd, because Doug Liman is constantly talking about the cost of the production which is kind of boring, I would have liked hearing more about the plot, tidbits about the sets, bloopers, more on why some scene got added or removed---anything but the cost and days of production.

As far as the Bonus disc, there are plenty of deleted scenes to enjoy. I would highly recommend getting this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Movie: 10 Stars - 'Unrated' DVD - 4 Out Of 5 Stars, July 9, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First: I FINALLY get the Brad Pitt thing after all these years! He has aged marvelously and is both a great-looking guy, and an excellent actor and unexpectedly fabulous comedian, based on his performance in this movie. His facial expressions, body language, and dialogue delivery are superb, and complement those equally great ones by Angelina Jolie extremely well. Quite honestly, I can't remember when I've seen this kind of superlative chemistry between two leads in any recent movie. I had little expectations about this movie; after I'd seen it, I ordered the Unrated DVD so I could enjoy it again and again.

So here's the bad part: the Unrated DVD. Yes, I expected there to be a few more possibly graphic or explanatory scenes included, but it never occured to me that there would be DELETED scenes and dialogue from the original movie!!!! And there are several key pieces missing here, including but not limited to:

- The critical dialogue in the shed just before the end battle, where Jane says, "There's no place I'd rather be than here, with you." GONE

- Eddie awakening to the $400K bounties for the Smiths on his Blackberry. GONE.

- Jane saying, "We need a car," after their house blows up (you just see John say "The Colemans."). GONE

In addition, the Extras disc 2 isn't very intuitive about finding the extras. However, the Alternate Ending is great, and very prophetic given the current domestic situation of Brad & Angie.

I expected to get at least all of the movie I fell in love with and knew word by word, action by action, and this DVD version disappoints. Sad. And it will make me think twice about spending extra money on any future 'Unrated' DVDs from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high-brow action movie for married couples? You're kidding, right?, September 12, 2006
No, I'm not. And I'll tell you why:

When this was released, a lot of drama appeared in the tabloids regarding Brad and Angelina's then illicit affair. Many cynics (including myself) knew this was a cheap move on both actors' parts to promote a movie they felt insecure about letting stand on its own virtues.

Srangely enough, they didn't have anything to worry about, although I suspect nobody (actors, producers, marketing people, director) knew any better, except for perhaps the script-writers.

Many critics were distracted by the press storm Brangelina generated, and let that taint their opinion of this movie. And of course it drew the gossip-mongers and celebrity-worshippers among us to this movie in generous numbers.

What they found (and what you'll find, once you ignore the hype) is a well-thought out movie about couples therapy!

The clever writers of this movie managed to work into the plot an entire cycle of rebuilding the trust in a relationship back from nothing. Every requisite action sequence, sex scene, and conversation fits nicely within the context of an estranged married couple taking steps toward reconciliation.

For all the hype and unfortunatly unimaginative branding of this movie (suffering from luddite marketing, like "Mean Girls" only worse) this is a highly entertaining movie about the not-so-happy subject of repairing a relationship.

For this reason, I strongly recommend this one as a good choice for both male and female audiences, particularly married ones. At the very least, It's certainly a lighter take on mending a marriage than most other movies that stray into the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They should make a sequel, November 9, 2005
By 
F J (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just a fun movie from start to finish. This time the gossip mags didn't lie. The chemistry between John (Pitt) and Jane (Jolie) is real and practically jumps off the screen. From the beginning when we meet them in the therapist's office to the movie's climax (no pun intended) you just root for them. The action is great but the comedy is better. Biggest surprise? Angelina Jolie is hysterical. Who knew that she could do comedy? She can do more with a look than most actors can do with 10 pages of dialogue. Yes, the action sequences are over-the-top but the movie never tries to take itself seriously. Sit back and enjoy the eye candy, the humor, and the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old-fashion high class fluff, September 24, 2005
By 
This movie reminded me of all the old black and white dance-and-banter movies I used to watch, with loads of style and deadpan wit, and a good coating of gloss. There isn't much substance-this isn't the sort of movie to go in depth- but there's some really surprisingly good acting. Brad Pitt is a down to earth, old fashioned skills sort of killer; Angelina Jolie is slick, high-strung, part of a big-money-and-loads of neat toys assasination outfit. They do a brilliant job. I really enjoyed it. There's an attention to detail in some aspects that my friend the gun enthusiast would get a kick out of. (Those yellow sunglasses actually have a purpose in top-level competitive shooting; they make your vision ever so slightly better.)

My husband and I - both former military - watched it in the theater with a bunch of teenagers, and I think we laughed so hard we embarased them. It's really a good movie, it works on the blow-em-up level as well as a slightly more sophisticated one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action/comedy, June 15, 2006
It's one of Hollywood's freakier genetic experiments: inserting genes from a domestic comedy into the DNA of an action thriller. The real surprise is that the result is not only viable, but lively and enjoyable. The action sequences keep it moving, but the humor of the over-familiar couple is what makes this really worthwhile. Anyone who's been coupled for more than a few years will recognize all the signs: affectionate gestures so habitual they're almost invisible, not-quite-listening to most of what's said, and the daily routine (or rut).

And the little secrets we keep from each other. There's no ill intent there, just things we don't want our other to worry about, or things that would be harder to discuss than they're worth. Like, for example, the little thing about international assassinations for hire.

There are no grand themes here. It's just entertainment - lots of action, and enough wit to keep you paying attention. If you just want to kill a few hours, Mr. and Mrs. Smith are the ones to do the job for you.

//wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrated Differences, June 6, 2006
By 
SRWM4 (Mass., U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
The Unrated Collector's Edition is for anyone who saw the original in theaters and wished that there had been just a little less rushing. The Unrated edition adds more than ten minutes of extra footage -- mostly adding a couple of minutes to each of the big fight sequences (most noticeably, the car chase scene, where some extra dialogue is added). The second disc includes many behind-the-scenes bits on the cinematography and direction, as well as script development. Not a bad choice for those who don't own another version, and true fans of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick flick with a twist, March 27, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It starts off like a chick flick they are in therapy and you see the basic we love each other but we are miserable scenes. Then you find out that they both are assassins. Then it turns into a sexy dark comedy and action romp that never looses sight of the relationship.

The unrated version sticks more to exploring the relationship. Two examples, the scenes exploring the sparks when they meet are longer and the scene when you see them together after you find out they are both assassins is different. In the unrated version you see them both dressed for the neighbors party waiting outside the door a typical bored married couple with nothing to say to each other. In the theater release instead of this you have a shot of Angelina almost being caught in her sexy domanatrix costume. The unrated scene works better because the audience knows they have so much in common and would be connected if they only knew about their common profession.

This movie blends genres not unlike Beverly Hills Cop I and II or War of the Roses. It is well written on several levels dark humor, action and romantic comedy and it delivers well in each genre. You leave entertained and feeling like you witnessed the beginning of something spectacular.

If that is not enough you get to stare at Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt for two hours - for us it was a great date night my husband got to stare at Angelina and I got to stare at Brad. What a movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr. and Mrs. Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Smith by Doug Liman; Doug Liman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.