Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sherman, I formally forbid you to fight in Trojan War!" "But Mr Peabody, all my friends fight in Trojan War!"
My daughters liked this film a lot and me I found it entertaining, clever and VERY amusing, especially the fragments in which discreet jokes for adults were included, like the wonderful cameos by Kirk Douglas and Bill Clinton (I lost half of my popcorn because of the latter). Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

The character of Mr Peabody...
Published 6 months ago by Maciej

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars IT IS AN ADOPTIVE RELATIONSHIP,
Having grown up watching the original cartoon, I was a bit disappointed in the film. That is not to say kids won't enjoy it, but an old guy like me will just shake his head. On the plus side of the coin is the modern animation. They managed to keep the pun aspect of the cartoon, although my selective memory believes the older cartoon was more intellectual in that regard,...
Published 5 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sherman, I formally forbid you to fight in Trojan War!" "But Mr Peabody, all my friends fight in Trojan War!", February 18, 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr. Peabody & Sherman (DVD)
My daughters liked this film a lot and me I found it entertaining, clever and VERY amusing, especially the fragments in which discreet jokes for adults were included, like the wonderful cameos by Kirk Douglas and Bill Clinton (I lost half of my popcorn because of the latter). Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

The character of Mr Peabody appeared first on "Rocky and Bullwinkle show" in the late 50s, before starring in its own TV series, "Peabody's Improbable History" in the 60s. Those series told about famous characters from the past being visited by a dog named Mr Peabody (world's greatest genius) and his pet boy Sherman. This film is a highly modernized version of this latter show.

Unlike in the series, Mr Peabody walks mostly on two legs, treats Sherman as his son and not as a pet and is also much funnier and more likeable - in the old series Mr Peabody was a colder, more distant, more cynical character. In the series Sherman was slightly dim - in the film however he is just a regular 7-years old boy, may be just more enthusiastic, cheerful and kind-hearted than most.

Raised by a highly civilized and peace-loving father, Sherman is a very gentle child - which, once he starts school makes him an ideal target for the the alpha bully in his class, the abominable Penny Peterson, a girl cute as a button, spoiled like month old steak, mischievous like a cohort of leprechauns and as mean as a rattlesnake...))) One thing leading to another, poor Mr Peabody is forced into peace talks with Penny's parents and tries to reconcile the two kids - and at that moment the REAL troubles begin...

As I already said, this is a delightful film, both for children and for adults. Children oriented fun is of course the main treat, but adults will also find a lot in this film, like some short lessons on followic topics:

"Definition of smell of victory in Bronze Age" by Agamemnon

"Comparative value of currency in American mating rituals" by George Washington and Benjamin Franklin

"Female sense of humour in Italian Renaissance" by Mona Lisa

"Everything you always wanted to know about eviscerating princesses but were afraid to ask" by King Tut

"Basic headology" by Robespierre

"Solving father issues with genocide" musical presentaiton by Greater Ajax (featuring The Achaeans)

"Pizza and ancient fortifications - analysis of a duality" by Ulysses

"Dog day afternoon - an earful" by Van Gogh

"Reflection on emptiness and fulfillment of timber" by Trojan Horse

"Raising a child - a dendrological new take on an old problem" by Leonardo Da Vinci

"Taming of a shrew - case study" by Sherman

But all of this is nothing compared to, sorry for repeating it once again, cameos by Kirk Douglas and Bill Clinton. Your children in principle will not understand them - but in the theatre where I saw this film the adults almost rolled on the floor at those moments...)))

My daughters liked this film a lot, I liked it A LOT TOO, and we are so going to buy it on DVD as soon as it is available! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TIME TRAVEL, PARENTING, ANCIENT EGYPT, RENAISSANCE, TROJAN WAR, FRENCH REVOLUTION and BULLYING.... all in one film, March 10, 2014
By 
Chris Kennison (Jefferson City, Mo United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Resurrected from the 60's television show "The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show", a brilliant dog named Peaboy and his adopted son Sherman are finally given their grand Hollywood introduction. The question is whether or not 21st century children will take to the two characters that defy convention in every way possible. Not only is Peabody a single parent, but he's a dog; a dog with an intellect that puts most or all humans to shame. Then you have a child, Sherman, who is faced with ridicule from kids that he may be a dog as well since his Dad is.

"Mr. Peaboy & Sherman" deals with a barrage of issues and information in a rapidly filled short amount of time; adoption, parenthood, bullying, George Washington, ancient Egypt, the Renaissance, the Trojan war, the French Revolution and many other notable figures. Many of the historical references may sail right over the heads of your child depending upon their age. Not to say that your child won't understand what is happening, but the movie moves rapidly and there is zero time spent explaining. So, those who understand the historical references I listed, will enjoy the trip much more than others.

Fortunately the infectious personalities of the characters will be relate-able to all ages. As Peabody and Sherman are preparing to convince a social service worker that Sherman biting a girl at school wasn't the actions of bad parenting or a confused human child who thinks he's a dog, Sherman decides to defy Peabody and show his new pseudo friend Penny their time travel machine 'the WABAC'. This is where 60's Peabody and Sherman get to do something they never could do before; 3D. There is no question in my mind that "Mr. Peabody and Sherman" is a much better experience in 3D. Not only are the time travel sequences ones that make you sway in your seat, but the frequent poking and jabbing of swords into your nose from multiple time periods is pretty effective.

The movie is a whole lot of fun, but that will vary depending upon age and intelligence. The movie moves very fast and younger children may not understand time travel or why the characters are significant in the least. Despite that though, the one thing that puts "Mr. Peabody & Sherman" over-the-top is the themes that carry over the film; parenthood, forgiveness and presumption. Just because somebody's parent is a dog doesn't mean that they are gonna bite, and just because you may dislike somebody doesn't mean that's always going to be the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Peabody and Sherman is a funny kid's movie!, March 12, 2014
This review is from: Mr. Peabody & Sherman (DVD)
Ty Burell is funny! I loved it. The movie was fun and good and funny! I went to see "Mr. Peabody and Sherman" In 3d with my mom this past Sunday morning. The movie is about how a talking dog adopt a boy name Shreman and they have a time machine that can take them to every time in the past.
I can't wait to get it on DVD once it comes out! This movie is so awesome! I think it is for ages 3 and up.
I give it 12 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Am A Dog" echoes "I Am Spartacus!", March 30, 2014
This review is from: Mr. Peabody & Sherman (DVD)
The tagline says "He's leaving his mark on history," which is funny when you remember that Mr. Peabody is a dog. Of course this is the brilliant dog who invented the WABAC ("Way-Back") Machine and adopted a little boy named Sherman.

This animated PG movie is based on the wonderful television series by the same name that started in the late 50s and ran in the 60s. By now, fans should have children and grandchildren to bring along...smile... They will be exposed to a smattering of history and will be entertained all the way. Much of the sly humor is aimed at the adults who buy the tickets.

Here are the characters:
* Mr. Peabody swears Sherman to secrecy, particularly about the WABAC.
* Sherman can't keep a secret, particularly from a big-eyed little girl.
* Penny Peterson is a cruel, cunning, curious little charmer.
* Patty and Paul Peterson are her parents.
* Marie Antoinette, Robespierre, Mona Lisa, Leonardo da Vinci, King Tut, George Washington, Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein (with a Rubic's Cube), Abraham Lincoln, and too many others to count, e.g., combatants in the Trojan War. Of course they were wasted on the little 'uns, but we recognize their names.

My VERY favorite segments:
1) A montage of Mr. Peabody adopting Sherman, then teaching him to walk, ride a bike, and many more lovely moments of parenting, with "Beautiful Boy" by John Lennon playing in the background.
2) "I am a dog," which echoes, "I am Spartacus!" of classic cinema.

This is a wild ride; I am positive the parents had a better time than the children, but I didn't hear any complaints. Me? I really enjoyed it. Amazon will notify me when the DVD is available so I can tell my JayFlix.net colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sly Humor Aimed at Adults, April 2, 2014
The tagline says "He's leaving his mark on history," which is funny when you remember that Mr. Peabody is a dog. Of course this is the brilliant dog who invented the WABAC ("Way-Back") Machine and adopted a little boy named Sherman.

This animated PG movie is based on the wonderful television series by the same name that started in the late 50s and ran in the 60s. By now, fans should have children and grandchildren to bring along...smile... They will be exposed to a smattering of history and will be entertained all the way. Much of the sly humor is aimed at the adults who buy the tickets.

Here are the characters:
* Mr. Peabody swears Sherman to secrecy, particularly about the WABAC.
* Sherman can't keep a secret, particularly from a big-eyed little girl.
* Penny Peterson is a cruel, cunning, curious little charmer.
* Patty and Paul Peterson are her parents.
* Marie Antoinette, Robespierre, Mona Lisa, Leonardo da Vinci, King Tut, George Washington, Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein (with a Rubic's Cube), Abraham Lincoln, and too many others to count, e.g., combatants in the Trojan War. Of course they were wasted on the little 'uns, but we recognize their names.

My VERY favorite segments:
1) A montage of Mr. Peabody adopting Sherman, then teaching him to walk, ride a bike, and many more lovely moments of parenting, with "Beautiful Boy" by John Lennon playing in the background.
2) "I am a dog," which echoed, "I am Spartacus!" of classic cinema.

This is a wild ride; I am positive the parents had a better time than the children, but I didn't hear any complaints. Me? I really enjoyed it. This DVD from Amazon will go in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By removing Peabody's egotism, the movie made him into a likable character! Amazing! And kept the funny cartoon elements, April 14, 2014
This review is from: Mr. Peabody & Sherman (DVD)
On the Bullwinkle show, the Fractured Fairy Tales and Peabody episodes are the ones I usually hate--and I would definitely skip over the Peabody cartoons on the DVDs if it weren't for the ridiculous characters he meets. Peabody on the cartoon show is so so obnoxiously egotistical. I almost didn't want to see this movie because I didn't think Peabody could actually be bearable for an entire movie. But the Peabody on this movie, while still a know-it-all, isn't egotistical like in the show. Ty Burrell does the voice really well, too. I love the pick they chose for Sherman, too, Max Charles. The movie has a lot of interest in its plot developments, and the way the action is dispersed throughout keeps it from getting uninteresting. Many movies today don't know how to slow down, but this movie does. I enjoy the selection of several time travel adventures, with some character development along the way. There's a neat part where Peabody actually learns from Leonardo da Vinci that he can't treat people like scientific case studies; people's responses can't be simply scientifically programmed. Peabody learning something from a character in history?! That would never have happened on the cartoons! It's really nice that the movie doesn't have Peabody saying self-aggrandizing lines, which made me hate the character on the cartoon show. Yet it retains his absurdly perfect problem-solving, making him more like a Sherlock Holmes genius than the annoying Peabody cartoon character.

The ridiculous spirit of the cartoons is retained, in that the characters from back in time are really really dumb. (I consider my favorite among the cartoons to be Beethoven, who needed to go everywhere to write pieces, like being on 5th Avenue in New York to write his 5th Symphony, and having to go into a cheese cellar to write the Moonlight Sonata because he thinks of cheese when he thinks of the moon, because they say the moon is made of cheese.) On this movie, Leonardo da Vinci has a creepy robot he built roaming the streets: that part is in keeping with the cartoons' regular use of anachronisms.

By the way, Sherman, who uses the word "apocryphal" on this movie to correct an urban legend/cultural myth, should also have learned that "Let them eat cake" was not spoken by Marie Antoinette. Mr. Peabody should know his history better :-) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Kids and Kids At Heart, March 20, 2014
In the trailer for "Mr. Peabody & Sherman," the hyper-intelligent dog learns that his adoptive human son and a classmate have hijacked his time machine. "You used the WABAC?" Mr. Peabody says. "Yeah. She was into it," Sherman says. Whoever edited this is a genius, creating a new joke by removing a few lines of dialogue from the final version of the actual scene (Sherman's friend was innocently "into" meeting George Washington) that had kids giggling at the characters' goofy expressions and adults laughing for a completely different reason. In the actual movie, sly double entendres like this aren't common, but there's still one type of humor aimed at kids and another aimed at the kids at heart in the audience.

"Mr. Peabody & Sherman" is a full-length extension of the "Peabody's Improbable History" shorts co-created by Jay Ward to pad out Rocky & Bullwinkle episodes. The last couple of decades have seen a slew of other movies based on Jay Ward's creations. They were all occasionally funny but ultimately failures. So what makes "Mr. Peabody & Sherman" such an unmitigated success? First of all, it's completely CGI, allowing it to stay true to its cartoon roots while giving it a more modern feel at the same time. Secondly, it broadens the humor of the original rather than just trying to imitate it, and it injects some real heart into the story.

Mr. Peabody is an almost flawless character. Not only is he a genius scientist, inventor, and action hero, but he's an exceptional host. (If you ever nab Mr. Peabody for one of your cocktail parties, be sure to have him mix up his specialty drink, the "Einstein on the Beach".) His skills are practically limitless. But when Peabody discovers Sherman as an abandoned baby and legally adopts him, he finds out it's his parenting skills that still need work. He creates the time-travelling WABAC machine as a teaching aid for Sherman.

On his first day of public school, Sherman is naturally eager to show off his first-hand knowledge of history. This makes him very popular with some of his classmates, and earns him the ire of others, particularly queen bee Penny Peterson. Soon a fight breaks out, bringing the dog's rights to legally raise a human child into question. (There are obvious socio-political metaphors that can be read into this, and with good reason, but I'd advise you to check your personal agendas at the door and not go digging too deeply into a kid's movie, so you don't miss something wonderful going on at the surface.)

In an attempt to smooth things over, Peabody invites the Petersons to his penthouse for a dinner party. One thing leads to another, and faster than you can say "Don't show her the WABAC", Penny's ditched Sherman somewhere in history, and it's up to Peabody and Sherman to travel through time and space to fetch her.

Penny, a new character invented for the movie, adds a great new dynamic to the classic duo's time travels. She starts out comically self-centered, but it's not long before Sherman and the bully who made his first day of class agony develop their first crush on each other. Sherman's humility and compassion rub off on Penny, even as Penny's boldness and adventurousness rub off on Sherman. It makes for a satisfyingly sweet character arc for Penny, a cute coming-of-age story for Sherman, and an interesting opportunity for Peabody to come to terms with his boy reaching that age when he's more interested in spending time with girls than with his old man--er, dog.

The main relationship of the movie, though, is between the title characters. The story is littered with some surprisingly poignant father-son moments. I found myself tearing up several times. My heart's not made of stone. But director Rob Minkoff strikes a perfect balance. Whenever the movie seems to be getting too maudlin, there's another great joke just around the corner to lighten the mood.

As expected with any Bullwinkle-related project, the movie's packed with plenty of groan-worthy puns. For example, Peabody's visit to Marie Antoinette becomes an excuse to quip, "You can't have your cake and edict, too." In a nod to how much humor has changed since the late 50's, Sherman invariably responds, "I don't get it." As I mentioned at the beginning of this review, there are different types of humor at play. For kids in the audience, Sherman is quick to point out in ancient Egypt that "King Tut" rhymes with "butt" and that you can't say "booby trap" without saying "booby." For adults in the audience, there's Peabody's puns, as well as some more clever wordplay. Also, recent pop culture informs both the film's humor and its kinetic action sequences. There's an homage to Zack Snyder's 300 (2006), set during the Trojan War, that I suspect is better than anything in 300: Rise of an Empire (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD UltraViolet Combo Pack), which was playing in the theater next door.

Ty Burrell does an appropriately brilliant job voicing Mr. Peabody, speaking with well enunciated syllables for as posh and intellectual of a cadence he can manage without slipping into a British accent, but also adding a warmth that radiates through every line. Max Charles' and Ariel Winter's naturally youthful voices keep them believable as Sherman and Penny. Stephen Colbert and Leslie Mann are both great as Penny's parents. Perhaps the film's only misstep is criminally under-using them. Patrick Warburton is hilarious as usual, with the movie's version of Agamemnon playing to his strengths as a likable meathead.

"Mr. Peabody & Sherman" is an amazing family movie. Don't have a family? A couple of the friends I went to see the movie with had their kids in tow, but I probably would have enjoyed it just as much if they weren't there. Not familiar with the source material? My memories of "Peabody's Improbable History" were vague at best. This reboot makes a great new introduction to the characters. It tugs at the heartstrings and tickles the funny bone. I just hope there are still plenty of adventures to come for this dog and his boy, and their new gal pal. Or, as Mr. Peabody would say, I hope they prove quite "paw-pular."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very surprising, better than expected., March 18, 2014
By 
Skippy Squirrel (Burbank, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Peabody & Sherman (DVD)
I love animated films as, in my opinion, it is a genre that truly displays the level of care and work put into a film. The depth and quality of animation is usually a great sign. Now, I've been really happy with the releases from the past couple of months (Frozen, Lego Movie, Wind Rises) and from the looks of it, once How to Train Your Dragon 2 comes and goes, we may be in a lull for another couple of months.

Moving on, I went and saw this movie not because I was dragged by children (kids were out of house for weekend), nor because I held sentimental or nostalgic value for the characters, but because it seemed like it'd be a nice, well-written film. Unlike the recent revamp of classic characters (Chipmunks, Yogi, Smurfs), this film doesn't try and blend CGI characters into a live world, instead going for a completely animated world that allows me to not get pulled out every five minutes thinking how the actors were trying to play off non-existent co-stars. That alone is a plus, but I'm going to continue.

Now, the plot is simple. Peabody's a genius, adopts a boy, they go through adventures in time. Simple, yet provides so much room for an amazing story and great supporting characters. The story starts with Peabody (a more likable, only somewhat distant version of himself from the old series) and Sherman already in the middle of an adventure that ultimately doesn't have any importance in the overall plot of the film but does a great job of establishing the routine of these characters and their roles (Peabody the clever genius teaching his son about history and other areas of knowledge such as fencing and Sherman the well-meaning if somewhat clumsy boy who has the utmost faith in his father). We then move on to Sherman's first day of school, which is where the actual plot begins. I won't spoil it, plus other reviews probably do so go read those if you want more information.

I'm never one for the father-son relationship, but I really enjoyed these characters and, as opposed to the stories where the son is distant and the father is reaching out, Sherman clearly loves his adoptive father and looks up to him. Peabody, while having a hard time using the word love or expressing it through words, also clearly cares for the boy. The conflict comes from an outside force, the character of Penny, an unlikable classmate of Sherman's who I grew to tolerate as she was the one with the most change in the film and even gave Sherman a boost of confidence Peabody unintentionally didn't know he needed.

The humour is grand and like the other latest animated films isn't restrictively aimed at children, though there are some poop jokes sprinkled throughout to keep them amused as we chuckle at Clinton's one-liner and Peabody coming to keep Sherman from interacting with his past self in what is most certainly a masturbation joke. This isn't to say it's one of those films that is all adult humour in the worst ways, such as Nut Job. They're just the occasional wink to the audience that appease those that have the opinion they'd be better off in the cinema over watching 300. In general, as I, a person who has the driest of humour, this film was more win than lose. Animation is fine, and Dreamworks as usual doesn't make the 3D obvious if you view the film in it's regular 2D format.

From the looks of trailers following this, we are certainly in for some rough patches in animated films for a little while, aside from Dragon 2. It's understandable given how long these films take and considering Disney just released one, and Dreamworks is doing two right now. So this is definitely one to see before that dark period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN!, March 16, 2014
Saw "Mr. Peabody & Sherman 3D" last Saturday morning with Jeff H.
Both of us were surprised at how much we actually liked "Mr. Peabody & Sherman" - which is a basic love story between a father and his son, who just happen to be two misfits themselves.
Mr. Peabody is perhaps the ultimate misfit. He's a brilliant scientist who was rejected as a puppy because nobody wanted and appreciated a smart dog after being abandonded at the puppy adoption agency. He becomes a pop culture icon, who just happens to find an abandonded baby in an alley one day - Sherman.
Mr. Peabody goes to court and wins the right to adopt Sherman as his own son. At one point, Mr. Peabody angrily tells a meancing social worker after Sherman bit a bully at school - "The courts affirmed my rights to adopt Sherman." - an analogy I wonder about inter-racial and gay adoptions and the societial struggles those families go through at the hands of an unapproving public sometimes.
Mr. Peabody loves Sherman and Sherman loves Mr. Peabody. Mr. Peabody built his greatest invention - the WABAC Machine - out of his love for his son and the desire to teach him how to prevent the mistakes of history. Mr. Peabody has high aspirations for Sherman.
Natuarally Sherman, to impress Penny, the girl bully that he bit, shows her the WABAC machine and takes her for a little joy ride which goes horribly wrong, and Mr. Peabody and Sherman must work together for the first time as a family unit to resolve the issue.
"Mr. Peabody & Sherman" does take a few liberties with the established cannon of the original cartoon segement of "The Rocky & Bullwinkle Show," but it does so in a way adds new depth while staying true to the original. If only Hollywoood would do this more often.
I think Mom and Dad would have liked this movie.
Highly Recommended!
Five Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge fun!, March 13, 2014
I've just been watching the original Rocky & Bullwinkle shows, including the Peabody and Sherman interludes. I like them as much now as I did way back when - maybe more. I even liked the R&B movie a few years back. So of course, I had to give this a go.

I'm very glad I did. They had to invent a lot of missing back-story to make a whole movie out of the old cartoons, but that's OK. That part includes some modern-day issues like bullying, by other kids and by the bureaucrats with nothing to lose. It also includes a boy-girl friendship that stops well short of romance. But really, I came for the cockeyed retellings of history and above all for the terrible puns. Those I found in abundance, and enjoyed immensely.

I can't think of a reason to see this again (but that might change 5 or 10 years down the road). Still, I'm glad I saw it.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.