Customer Reviews


371 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Hilarious Animal-Human Love Tale
You live in an apartment in New York City and work within sight of the Empire State building. Your life is hectic but predictable.

Imagine getting a very unusual gift (turns out, later, to be from your father). It is a live gentoo penguin. Wanting to send it back, you ask for a return crate. You get a new crate all right--filled with five new penguins...
Published on July 4, 2011 by Jan Peczkis

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like pratfalling penguins (and, really, who doesn't?)
I'm sorry. I forfeited all objectivity once the first penguin waddled on camera. Jim Carrey's past few flicks have been hit or miss with me, and maybe a part of it is that I've gotten accustomed to his schtick, despite the impressive rubber face and manic body contortions that would make a yogi master weep. And maybe I'm still holding NUMBER 23 against him. But what's...
Published on December 30, 2011 by H. Bala


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Hilarious Animal-Human Love Tale, July 4, 2011
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (DVD)
You live in an apartment in New York City and work within sight of the Empire State building. Your life is hectic but predictable.

Imagine getting a very unusual gift (turns out, later, to be from your father). It is a live gentoo penguin. Wanting to send it back, you ask for a return crate. You get a new crate all right--filled with five new penguins.

What a mess your apartment soon becomes! You get snipped at and dumped on by the penguins. You give them names, such as Nimrod, Stinky, Captain, etc. They are perpetually playful! The penguins swim in the bathtub and spill water all over. Your children from a terminated marriage come to visit, and, having long been alienated from you, absolutely fall in love with the penguins.

A nosy neighbor wonders what the noises are from your apartment and, suspecting that he is on to something, wants to tell the board about it. Worse yet, your new nemesis, a penguin specialist who works in the zoo, keeps spying on you. He has a behaviorist view of animals (making animals little more than machines made of flesh), and is determined to take your penguins from you. To him, penguins are simply fish-eating machines. He doubts if a non-specialist can properly care for penguins, and especially ridicules the notion that a loving bond has developed between the penguins and you.

In time, you turn your apartment into a winter wonderland, complete with snow, ice skating, etc. Some of the penguins lay eggs, and you are determined that they hatch. Your colleagues from work stumble upon your transformed apartment, and think that you have totally lost your mind. Your penguins follow you around wherever you go, and this produces its own share of comic events.

Everything comes to a head from the nosy neighbor, the penguin specialist, the kids, Popper's ex-wife, and his work colleagues. Popper is accused of breaking the law by housing penguins. He is fired from his job. He tries to win his ex-wife back. The penguin specialist has all of Popper's penguins. The apartment is normal once again, and the visiting children are heartbroken. And then... I will not spoil the ending by revealing it.

This is a very entertaining and heartwarming movie for the whole family. If you are an animal lover, this little tale is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Popper's Penguins is POPPREFFIC!!!, June 17, 2011
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (DVD)
Took my 7 year old daughter to see this movie today & Im really glad we went!
From the previews I thought the movie was going to be boring & lame, but I was pleasantly surprised with the movie!

The movie ran at a fast & very entertaining pace...
The theater audience laughed, laughed & then laughed some more...

The movie has comedy for sure, but also tells a great story & has a few very good life lessons in it...
The lengths Carrey takes to take care of these Penguins is just AWESOME!!!

Jim Carrey did a fantastic job as the lead actor...
He shows signs of his old hillarious humor from his early films, but is not sooooo over the top in this film as he was in past films...
He showed true heart & was very believable in his role!!!

The Penguins were unbelievably funny & simply amazing! They must have had some serious training!
The supporting acting was pefectly done by Mr. Poppers kids & ex wife...

Overall I give this movie an A...
I would recommend going to see this movie while its in the theaters...
I would also recommend it for adults & children...

Thanks for reading my review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN....., July 15, 2011
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (DVD)
Between Mr. Popper's Penguins and The ZooKeeper, ... I liked them both, but I liked Mr. Popper's Penguins more. Kids loved it too. Nice story. Has been while since I saw a Jim Carrey movie,... thought he did a good job in this role. And the penguins are hilarious! I didn't quite get that incredible name of Mr. Popper's assistant,.... with the fun voice and accent, ... miss P (?),... but I liked her character/role too. So many fun scenes in this movie. We had a good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like pratfalling penguins (and, really, who doesn't?), December 30, 2011
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (DVD)
I'm sorry. I forfeited all objectivity once the first penguin waddled on camera. Jim Carrey's past few flicks have been hit or miss with me, and maybe a part of it is that I've gotten accustomed to his schtick, despite the impressive rubber face and manic body contortions that would make a yogi master weep. And maybe I'm still holding NUMBER 23 against him. But what's cuter than an infestation of penguins? My niece and nephews adored this film. MR. POPPER'S PENGUINS, with its predictability and obvious gags, rises above the dreck by dint of penguins. Plus, it's got Carla Gugino, hotness personified.

Jim Carrey plays Tommy Popper, a businessman severely focused on his career. But, first, we see Tommy as a child who spends a span of years communicating with his father via ham radio. His dad is an explorer who is always away on exotic expeditions, and, over time, we witness young Tommy grow disillusioned with his absentee father. Thirty years later, Tommy Popper is divorced with custody of his two kids on alternate weekends. Tommy himself has become a neglectful parent. All he's focused on is securing a partnership in his firm, a position guaranteed him once he bags a primo piece of real estate called the Tavern on the Green.

The status quo gets topsy-turvied when Tommy receives a shipment of penguin to his upscale New York apartment. And then another crate of five more penguins. When his kids come over for a visit, they fall in love with them. From there the plot unfolds in by-the-numbers fashion. You may guess that Tommy Popper turns over a new leaf and becomes a better father, to the detriment of his career. You may conjecture that he becomes smitten with his ex-wife all over again, although how in heck do you fall out of love with Carla Gugino in the first place? There's fun in watching Popper gradually convert his swank Manhattan duplex into a sub-arctic region, just to accomodate the birds and to connect with his kids. Other than the usual thorny family dilemmas that inevitably crop up, the narrative conflict hinges on Clark Gregg's (a.k.a. S.H.I.E.L.D.'s Agent Colson) scheming NYC zoo official who covets the six penguins because they're of the rarer gentoo breed.

I was somewhat impressed when I learned - thru the bonus features - that there's a higher percentage of real penguins in action here than one would assume. (Obviously the scene in which Carrey dances with the penguins is CG-rendered.) Several of the penguins are given enough character traits that they stand out. We learn that "Captain" suffers from flight envy. That "Nimrod" tends to bump into and fall over things. That "Stinky"... well, you can guess his specialty. The others - Lovey, Bitey, and Loudy - are descriptive enough. The birds' ridiculous antics won me over. Jim Carrey tones his stuff down, as well, and this is a welcome thing. And I did love his compulsively alliterative personal assistant Pippi (Ophelia Lovibond). I recommend this family flick for those who think penguins are funny. But for those who couldn't care less about penguins - meaning that there's no buffer or filter thru which the bad bits can be digested - there are moments in the movie that simply defy believability (like a penguin hang-gliding) and they well may hike up ye olde blood pressure. MR. POPPER'S PENGUINS is not subtle. You'll see every plot point coming, predict every pratfall. It'll be as if you're watching the addled Mirror Universe version of the MARCH OF THE PENGUINS. But the kids will laugh themselves silly. I did, too.

The DVD's bonus material:

- Audio Commentary by director Mark Waters, editor Bruce Green, & visual effects supervisor Richard Hollander
- All-New Animated Short: "Nimrod & Stinky's Antarctic Adventure" (00:06:08 minutes)
- Gag Reel (00:01:58 minutes)
- 2 Deleted Scenes with optional commentary from the director, editor, & visual effects supervisor (totaling 00:02:08 minutes)
- "Ready for Their Close-Up" - A behind-the-scenes look at the real stars of the film: them penguins (00:08:25 minutes)
- "Ladies and Gentoomen" - SeaWorld San Diego's senior level aviculturist Jessica Perry divulges fun (or informative, anyway) facts about gentoo penguins (00:05:53 minutes)
- Original Story Sampler - enjoy the first three chapters of the 1938 children's book - MR. POPPER'S PENGUINS by Richard and Florence Atwater - on which the film was based
- Theatrical Trailer
- Sneak Peeks at SPY KIDS: ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD and TOOTH FAIRY 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (Amazon Instant Video)
Jim Carey is funny and finally decides to please the kids and his wife. Movie is great, enjoyed, the moral content is top notch and it is always clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not such a good movie..., January 16, 2012
By 
Gil Davis "Gil" (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mr. Popper's Penguins definitely wasn't one of Jim Carrey's top vehicles, but it was watchable. Although targeted toward adults, the situations seemed to be geared toward the teen crowd. I probably won't be watching this one again for a number of years...if ever. If you have younger people in your household (or you happen to be one), you may enjoy this rather odd movie. Lots of reviews out there so I don't have to repeat everything. Jim Carrey didn't do it for me this time, but I'm still a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Popper's Penguins, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (Amazon Instant Video)
Good family movie and funny, I liked it and kids love it, men aren't thrilled with it, but I like Jim Carry in most movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and fun for kids, May 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My kids loved it... obviously for the Penguins. I'm pleased to see that Jim Carey can still do good movies. It is a lite story, no big plot here, but I lkie the end and there is good values in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HERO FINDS HEART, March 20, 2012
I've never been a big fan of Jim Carey. It didn't start out that way. When he was on IN LIVING COLOR and in THE MASK, I thought he was hilarious. But then something happened that always seems to be the way of stand up comedians. Folks tell them they're funny all the time that even them taking a breath is funny. And that's when they stop actually being funny. They continue to do their shtick non-stop but the originality that was there is no longer funny. Carey fell into that category by always seeming to be on, even when doing talk shows and hosting shows.

This brings us to his most recent film MR. POPPER'S PENGUINS. Based on the acclaimed children's book, it tells the story of a man who values his job more than anything. Thomas Popper grew up listening to his father on a ham radio, telling him tales of his adventures around the world. But he was rarely there in person. Popper has grown into a man with this same trait.

Popper is a closer for a real estate company, the best there is and about to be made a partner. All he needs to do is close on the Tavern on the Green property in Central Park. As this is about to go down he received a call from his father's lawyer. His father has passed away and left him something, an item to be delivered. When the item arrives Popper opens it to find a frozen penguin. Not until he takes it from the box and it thaws does he realize it's still alive. A bucket of ice in the tub and a locked door and he's off to work never realizing the fatal flaw there until he comes home to find his bathroom flooded. Looking for where the penguin came from he calls and asks them to take it back, failing to communicate over a static filled phone and a language barrier that results in more penguins arriving.

As if that wasn't enough story we have Popper's family, displaced since his divorce. His son Billy is still young enough to not see problems with his father but Janie is at that tough teen time when everything is a crisis. Even with a touch of advice from his ex-wife Amanda (Carla Gugino) he seems to fail with his daughter. When the kids show for their weekend with him, they're delighted to find the penguins with Billy thinking it's his birthday present.

The scenes shift back and forth between Popper trying to acquire the property he's after and adjusting to life with the penguins. While he first sought to send them to the zoo, he slowly grows attached to them. When they have eggs, he's hooked. Unfortunately it doesn't set well with his employers. Viewing the eggs Popper remembers what is important to him, his children and family. So what's the solution?

MR. POPPER'S PENGUINS is a feel good movie. It tosses aside all sense of logic and reality in the hopes of offering laughs and touching moments. Forget the fact that Popper opens the doors to his exclusive penthouse and fills it with snow. Or that he might toss aside the major career that enables him to do the things he does here. I'm all for suspending reality but some times it goes a bit far.

That being said the penguins are hilarious and adorable. Who wouldn't want to have them in their home? The kids love them and it is through them that Popper finds himself. A misplaced letter from his father that was attached to the first box helps him to find his way.

So back to Jim Carey. He does a great job here. He plays for a few laughs along the way and keeps things somewhat subtle. Until the last 10-15 minutes when it seems he goes completely out of control and does the shtick all over again. Here we are 17 years since ACE VENTURA and THE MASK and he still mugs for the camera. The result is another movie to add to the list of films Carrey could have made better.

But kids will enjoy the movie. They'll love the penguins and beg to have one of their own. Carrey fans will think he's still a comedic genius. Gugino fans will still think she's beautiful. And life will go on. This is a movie that you'll add to your collection for your kids more than yourself. And if they enjoy it, then its worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins (Amazon Instant Video)
Great for all ages. Made me laugh, made me cry, made me laugh again. Good light entertainment. I always love Jim Carrey anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr. Popper's Penguins
Mr. Popper's Penguins by 20th_century_fox
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.