Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mr. Putter & Tabby Spill the Beans
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
5 star
85%
4 star
15%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 16, 2013
My 6-year-old daughter loves the Mr. Putter and Tabby books... They're so colorful and humorous... There's nothing like a child being encouraged to read because the content of the book is so entertaining! We have several in the series and are so happy with being able to have a fun collection from which she can pick and choose for any occasion. After a while, Mr. Putter, Tabby, Mrs. Teaberry and Zeke all start to feel like family :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2011
This "Mr. Putter" book was on a summer reading list for our 2nd grade son and was our family's introduction to this series. The characters are lovable from page 1, and the excitement builds in every chapter. The illustrator's work is equally fantastic, and we anticipate reading all the books in the series in the very near future!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
This book was on my kids summer reading list . We could not find it in the local library because all the copies were on hold. My kids love the book for the fact that the pictures are great, authors illustration is easy to follow. This book is simply amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 14, 2010
Mr Putter and Tabby are back for an all new adventure. This time they are heading to cooking school with their neighbor Mrs. Teaberry. Mr Putter loves to eat but he's not real keen on learning to cook, especially when the class is called 101 ways to cook beans. He thinks the class maybe be boring. He should have known that anything involving Mrs. Teaberry and her dog Zeke would not be boring! The cartoon- like illustrations in the book are really funny. Tabby is a cute kitty that always has a cute expression on her face.
This is a great book for early readers. There are pictures on every page and only a few sentences to each page as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
I love this series - love the old man, love the cat!
It is written on a second grade level, and I used these when I was tutoring reading.
The kids like them, and adults get a kick out of them too.
Cute and funny stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mr. Putter and his cat, Tabby, were very good friends of Mrs. Teaberry and her dog, Zeke. They did all kinds of things together, including funky things like riding a tandem bicycle. Putter would ride in the basket in the front and Zeke would pull up the rear in the child carrier . . . er, dog carrier. Of course they all wore their helmets. They enjoyed a bit of adventure now and then, but one day when Mrs. Teaberry called up Mr. Putter with her latest idea, it was something that didn't exactly sound like anything he would like. She told him "it is a cooking class" and when he asked if she was sure it was fun, Mrs. Teaberry said two words: "Trust me."

Beans. It was all about cooking beans. Mrs. Teaberry just knew it was going to be a grand adventure and when they were all heading to class she told them "We are going to learn one hundred ways to cook them." Mr. Putter had his heart set on an ice cream soda, but just to humor his friend, he was going to go along with the whole idea. Zeke and Tabby had to stay under the table while class was going on, but Mr. Putter neglected to tell the teacher that he "did not think Zeke could stay anywhere longer than two minutes." Tacos, Lima bean gingersnaps, 3 bean jello . . . oh, oh . . . the two minutes were up!

If anyone is planning on spilling the beans they may as well do it in grand style and this hysterical story will tell you just how it was done. I loved the adventure this beginning chapter book had to offer and it was set up so perfectly that I knew something mischievously silly was going to happen. The storyline is exciting and will keep the reader anxious to get to the end and find out what happened when the two minutes were up. The artwork is vibrant, comical and very lively. This is one of many in the "Mr. Putter & Tabby" series that even the most reluctant reader will fall in love with!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2009
My son has enjoyed these books so much. He was 4 when we started reading them and still enjoys them (he is 5 now). Henry and Mudge books are also fantastic. The chapters are short and entertaining. Both series are well worth reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2010
Cynthia Rylant is an expert at writing quaint, gently humorous books. My daughter (who just turned 4) and I always enjoy exploring a new adventure with Mr. Putter and Tabby.

In "Spill the Beans" Mr. Putter's neighbor, Mrs. Teaberry once again has had an idea that doesn't sound that great to Mr. Putter. But he is fond of Mrs. Teaberry, and open to new things, so he agrees with her to go to a class to learn 100 ways to cook beans. Things might have gone uneventfully, except the two neighbors brought their cat and dog along...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
As listed. Love being able to buy cheap books that are in great condition for my classroom as I love filling my library with new books (well new books to the students).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2011
All thr Mr putter and tabby books are great. Would recommend any Cynthia Rylant book. My three year old will get enjoyment and use out of these for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.