Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $13.00 (72%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Mr. Write (Sweetwater Book 1) Kindle Edition

36 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"

Length: 522 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Featured Recent Releases
Browse the following mystery, thriller & suspense recent releases to find your next great read.

Complete Series

Product Details

  • File Size: 3602 KB
  • Print Length: 522 pages
  • Publication Date: May 4, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00K58FV7E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #122,915 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

More About the Author

One fine day in the not-too-distant past, Lisa Clark O'Neill left Wittenberg University with a BA in English, which she promptly neglected. After working as an interior designer, decorative artist, and Montessori art teacher (there may have been a BA in art as well,) she finally settled into the role of mother to two very fine children.

However, two years of doing the stay-at-home-mom brain cell melt drove her to pull out a pen and one of her old college notebooks.

That turned into six manuscripts.

Lisa spent subsequent years avoiding housework by burying her nose in just about every romance novel she could get her hands on, after completely falling in love with the genre. Her own work falls into the romantic suspense sub-genre, with strong comedic undertones.

Lisa currently lives in the Atlanta area with her family, her dog, her cat and her daughter's pet rabbit. When she isn't attempting to keep the rabbit from eating the woodwork, she's hard at work on her next novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Kelly Matthews on June 3, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is not my typical genre, but I truly enjoyed it. Sweetwater, South Carolina is a cute, small southern town, provided you are only visiting. If you grew up there, poor, well, bless your heart. If you don't know that phrase, you will. It can mean any number of things, depending on inflection and reading Sarah's interactions and explanations to Tucker made me laugh out loud. An added side story, which comes as book 2, is Allie and Mason's story, super fun and sweet. The suspense here is well-written, if a little light. It's easy to figure the bad guys, but the romance is sweet and right on point. All-in-all an enjoyable weekend read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Sandy Beach on May 30, 2014
Format: Paperback
Listen up folks!!
This may be a new series by this awesome author (Back to Southern Comfort later, I hear. Can't wait.) but boy was this first book in the Sweetwater Series great! Well beyond my expectations. Wonderful setting in a small, charming town which could be anyone's small town, and it made you feel like you were right there with them. We all remember the "things" that went on in our own small towns, don't we? The characters were so good in so many ways that you just have to read it to see what I mean. And when you put a tall, mouthy redhead and a gruff, good looking writer together (each currently new to town, but old inhabitants) it's so hilarious sometimes you almost cry. Throw in some best friends and a few siblings as well as some other very memorable people and my God, what a great read! There is also that continuous air of mystery that keeps us wondering what the heck is going on. And don't you just hate bullies? Anyway, like I said, yadda, yadda, yadda and so forth, this is by no means a lesser book than those in the Southern Comfort Series which the author is so well known for. When you're good, you're good. I LOVED this book and am anxious to see what happens in the next one. I'm sure anyone who reads it will also not in any way be disappointed. Well done, Lisa Clark O'Neill. VERY well done. Just keep writing.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Kindle Customer on August 4, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
While I thought it was a pretty good story, I have to say I was quite disappointed with the protagonists. I just didn’t feel the connection or attraction between Sarah and Tucker. There was nothing special about either one of them. They were somewhat boring. Tucker was a little odd. Definitely not alpha. I found him to be quite irritable, annoying, and just plain rude. While not a fan of either protagonist, I was enamored with the secondary characters, all of whom kept me engaged in the story. I absolutely loved Tucker’s best friend, Mason. Talk about a charming, witty, and sexy male specimen. I also liked the Hawbaker brothers. One more thing, I don’t know how the author came up with the name, but calling the fat cat “Useless” was just hilarious. I loved it. I may have to borrow it one day.

Still a decent read, but nowhere as good as the "Southern Comfort" series. Will I read book 2? Maybe I will, or maybe I won’t. Actually, I just might as Mason will be the main star attraction. Yum! I still can't stop laughing at the name "Useless."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By K. C. Martin on February 19, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Adorable! Mr. Write is a must for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Jennifer Crusie. Light, bright and sizzlin' hot. The witty repartee, the great cast of characters, and a quirky romance reminds me of each, at her best.

Sarah Barnwell has recently returned to her hometown of Sweetwater, South Carolina. She and her childhood friend, Allie Hawbaker, are partners in The Dust Jacket, a funky new bookstore. Sarah knows she has to lay some ghosts and come to terms with Sweetwater and her past as the daughter of the town drunk. Spunky and resilient, she is ready for the challenge. What she hadn't anticipated is the spectre of an old enemy, an old crime, and the totally new issue of her annoying neighbor: Tucker Pettigrew.

Tucker, scion of the local version of Mr. Potter from It's A Wonderful Life, has recently returned to Sweetwater as well. He is battling grief, the local women, and a growing attraction to the redhead next door. As a writer, he and the bookstore owner should see eye to eye. But these two have mysteries to solve, misunderstandings to overcome, and danger to face before they can find their version of harmony.

They are assisted in these endeavors by a likable cast of characters: Mason, the hunky British actor who is Tucker's best friend; Alllie: Sarah's best friend and the wounded daughter of a prominent Sweetwater family; assorted family members and friends; and a cat that deserves a book of his own.(Side note: one of the charms of the book are the myriad ways Ms. O'Neill uses to describe the cat's could make a drinking game out of them,)

The fun in the book comes from the snappy dialogue ...particularly between the romantic leads (although Mason, and Allie's brothers have some pretty good lines).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Rowan on March 3, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Discovering a new author that drags you in until the world steps back, gets you all worked up and worried over fictional characters and then deprives you of sleep is a real treasure. I should preface this statement by saying that I have only discovered the romance genre within the last 7 years and before that treated all romance as if it was a flea infested stray peeing on my carpet. I have since learned the error of my ways and have dove in head first. This book is a wonderful example of why I am enjoying myself emensely.

Mr. Write is an exceptional romantic suspense tale that mixes the perfect amount of Deep South sizzling sex with a fantastic mystery and an underlying sinister plot. I won't give anything away but I really enjoyed the complex characters, the small town rumor mill running ammock, the deep felt remnants of tragedy and a pair of protagonists that snap and snarl at each other in hilarious ways... Well at least until the snarling turns into something else. They are flawed, insecure and incredibly entertaining. I couldn't put it down and Lisa Clark O'Neill has become an all time favorite author. 5 brilliant stars!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in