Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple life? I think not!
This book is written in such a way that you are drawn into the past and standing alongside the mistress of the house...planning your day and making sure the "household help" do their jobs well. It certainly reminds us of the benfits we have currently - with washing machines, dishwashers, automobiles, pre-packaged food and yes,fast food, yet still don't have enough time...
Published on November 7, 2005 by N. L. Poehler

versus
159 of 184 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Beeton
I find that if Mrs Beeton was alive today, she would be discusted at the sight of this book. It does not have all the recipes that other cookery books of hers have in it. The best book that you can by of hers is the one called
'Mrs Beetons Book of Household Management: A Specially Enlarged First Edition Facsimile/07542'
You can find this book by clicking on...
Published on October 27, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple life? I think not!, November 7, 2005
By 
N. L. Poehler (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is written in such a way that you are drawn into the past and standing alongside the mistress of the house...planning your day and making sure the "household help" do their jobs well. It certainly reminds us of the benfits we have currently - with washing machines, dishwashers, automobiles, pre-packaged food and yes,fast food, yet still don't have enough time to do all the things we need/want to do. How would you like to dress your own cow or help make every article of clothing you wear (even though the "hired help" did most of it)? A brief introduction to the book instills in the reader a sense of where Mrs. Beeton arrived at her thoughts for "proper household management." She seems to have been frustrated by societal changes she was witnessing and wanted her "good ol' days" to return. It is a book I highly recommend not only for the history, but for the entertainment value. I could not put it down once I started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for the domestic victorian re-enacter, April 24, 2000
By A Customer
Inside you will not only find all kinds of information on cooking and the products used but loads of drawings of kitchen gadgets and food dishes, information on how a victorian kept a household and the servants within, cared for the sick, maintained a degree of ettiquette as well as planned the type of meals held throughout the year for family and guests. This is certainly a wonderful read and the recipies are easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 184 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Beeton, October 27, 2000
A Kid's Review
I find that if Mrs Beeton was alive today, she would be discusted at the sight of this book. It does not have all the recipes that other cookery books of hers have in it. The best book that you can by of hers is the one called
'Mrs Beetons Book of Household Management: A Specially Enlarged First Edition Facsimile/07542'
You can find this book by clicking on the part to the left under the book search part where it says 'Other Books By Isabella Beeton'. You will find it under the 'Out Of Print' section. This will be more usefull, and has those few little recipes in them like 'Apple Jelly' or 'Christmas Cake'. It is more usefull, with more descriptive pictures in it. Do not fall into the same trap that I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Beeton, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I still love this work, a perfect picture of Victorian upper-class domestic life, but was very disappointed with the physical product. I sent back the first volume because of blacked out pages, mis-aligned pages, unreadably fuzzy print, etc. etc. etc. The second copy I received was a bit better but not much, a lot of the print was still so unclear it was illegible. I have the old facsimile edition (now out of print) so I know it's possible to have clear print and none of these problems. This is a terrible production job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Glimpse Into Victorian England, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an enlarged photo-reproduction of the first edition of Mrs. Beeton's Book of Household Management. Along with more than 1500 recipes the book includes numerous chapters on the responsibilities of the lady of a house and of all the servants. If you've been entranced by Downtown Abbey and want to know what the duties of a ladies' maid actually were, Mrs. Beeton explains it all to you and even tells you what the going wages are for each occupation! There are also household hints, an outline of legal matters the lady of the house should be familiar with, sections on care of invalids and medical conditions, etc. In other words, this is an encyclopedic work and explains why it has never gone out of fashion, even though there have been updated modern editions. Of course, if you want to know what the food was like at Downton, or at more modest establishments, and how the Victorians entertained, Mrs. Beeton answers all your questions.

Even though this book appeared in 1865, you can still cook from this book. It's one of the first truly modern cookbooks that includes lists and quantities of ingredients in a recipe and explicit instructions that don't assume the reader is already an experienced cook. Beeton includes a wide range of recipes, from traditional English foods to French, German and other Continental dishes. English food has had a reputation for being bland, but that was obviously not the case in Victorian times -- Beeton has a liberal hand with seasonings and doses almost everything (except sweets, of course) with cayenne pepper! That was reduced and even eliminated in later updates to the book, so tastes evidently evolved towards less highly seasoned dishes as Britain moved into the Edwardian Age and then the post-War world. Finally, Beeton borrowed (or rather, lifted) extensively from Eliza Acton's earlier cookbook from 1845 and this has been one of the main criticisms against her. But Acton wrote when cooking was still largely done over open fires. Beeton revised the recipes for the more modern ways of cooking that were being adopted. By Beeton's time most kitchens had ranges and a few very advanced establishments even had a gas cooker! So this required changes and adjustments to Acton's recipes. Both women, however, should be celebrated, because they catalogued and standardized British cooking and ensured that its traditions would come down, virtually intact, to our own day. Of course, both books also deeply influenced American cooking and cookbooks, so on both sides of the pond we are all indebted to these two young women (both died young) who created the first modern cookbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Mrs. Beeton, March 6, 2010
By 
Mary Bellis Williams (Milwaukee and Baton Rouge) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Here's the quintessential 19th century handbook on cookery and on all aspects of running a household. It has wonderful illustrations for things like a ball supper for 100, including how the buffet tables are to be set, and all recipes are included. It also serves as a manual for a young housewife just starting off with a minimum of servants (!!!) and teaches how to manage them and what to expect of them and how to set a good example. When I was little and had pneumonia, I read these amazing chapters and could explain how to choose a footman or an upstairs maid. Generations of British girls found this necessary to living a civilized life (you'll learn when to leave what kind of calling card, for example). Great fun nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am intrigued by what was done in the past and have a small collection of similar books. I haven't finished reading this one. It's not a book one sits down to read cover to cover. It is one to read bits and pieces from as you wait in the car for someone to come out of the store, in the doctor's office, or on any other occassion when you have a few minutes. If you like history, you'll like this source of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheapest print and bind I've seen with no actual book details, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It appears that the content of the book is there.

However, the book doesn't have any publishing information that is standard in the front of the book (ie first published, who published it etc). It looks like someone has typed the book into a publishing/ MSWord document and then printed it and bound it. I wanted to have a book that has been around for over a century, and I got a book that looks like it was a stolen copy. I guess you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is an Oxford World Classic? -An explanation from a Brit, November 5, 2003
By 
John Crocker (Weymouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is an Oxford Worlds Classic. The revolutionary thing here is that a cook book has been brought out in an academic edition for historians interested in mid-19th century Britain. This edition has a scholarly introduction and notes that help to set Mrs Beeton in context of the very high quality that is always expected from the Oxford University Press. Besides, I gather that other (expensive) seemingly original editions were often altered by early publishers. This fascinating book requires no further justification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money -- very poor quality reproduction., February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very disappointing. Was it somehow digitally reproduced or copied from microfiches? Poor xeroxing. Some pages are double exposed with 1/2 (or whole) page of ads (from the original magazine) blocking out portions of recipes. Numerous duplicate pages -- ie such as the title page. First title page has portion of title cut out. Obviously no proofreaders. Wondering how the publishers can even in good conscience sell this book. This copy is a joke; it is totally useless. I suggest instead of throwing away $9.99 on this, better to invest $54.00 and get the original and complete hardcover revamped -- which also has easy to decipher modern text/lettering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mrs. Beeton's Book of Household Management
Mrs. Beeton's Book of Household Management by Mrs Beeton (Hardcover - January 3, 2011)
$59.99 $57.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.