Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 2, 2014
Wonderful, Beautiful novel! Its amazing! Never have I read something that has made me wonder about, except for Giovanni's Room by James Baldwin. This is an amazingly interesting read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
Virginia Woolf wrote a classic masterpiece of prose poetry describing a time in history. It is beautifully written and provides a window into Emglish society in the 1920s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2003
I'd tried Virginia Woolf several times, but bogged down (I'm not alone in this, I suspect). Then the film, "The Hours", moved me to try again . . . I have just finished reading (in this order) Mrs. Dalloway and Michael Cunningham's "The Hours."
DO YOURSELF THIS FAVOR! You'll become acutely aware of the skilful interweaving of themes . . . Clarissa and the other characters take on deeper facets . . . details that may have tired you, or slipped by, in Woolf will take on new shape and meaning.
And above all, the language . . . I'm not going to go into plot, characterization, symbolism, etc. -- When you're dealing with a classic, such things are readily available, and I'm not a scholar of English literature.
Suffice to say, I have come from this reading experience feeling refreshed and renewed -- and enormously impressed. A great way to enter a hectic season.
(Why not give the two books as a gift?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2001
The greatest uniqueness of this novel is that everything happened in a single day in June of 1923. Clarissa Dalloway, a classy high society English lady is orgainizing a party. It turned out to be a extraordinary day of her life. Filled with ups and downs.
Following her traces throughout the day beginning with her morning shopping, she relived her past and the biggest what-ifs of her life because she met her suitor,Peter Walsh. She began wondering did she make the right decision 30 years ago when forwent an could be adventuerous life with Waslsh and chosen a scatheless one with Richard Dalloway.
This eventful day also included some other special occurrences.. she met and took pity to a pathetic shell-shocked stranger and she also try to understand her daughter.
Virginia Woolf wrote with intense sensory and encyclopedic psychological specification. A great read and a evergreen English literature.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 12, 2005
Virginia Woolf is a literary master and this is one of her greatest works. It is the story of a day in the life of one woman, Clarissa Dalloway. We are allowed to see various aspects of her life as she plans for a party. Woolf makes wonderful social comments about society in a subtle and moving way. The side story in the novel of Septimus Warren and his death is very touching and moving. It is a sad reminder of war and the people involved in the war and its effect on them and their society as they attempt to return to a "normal" life. Woolf allows us to see how people we don't actually know touch our lives in unexpected ways. I believe this novel still applies to today's society. This is a wonderful read which will stay with you for a long time to come. If you take your time and read deeply, Woolf will touch you in a way that you won't soon be able to forget. She is truly unique and wonderful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2004
Although somewhat hard to get into, Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf ended up being a great novel. Getting into the book was tough because Woolf's syntax is very complex and different from any author I have ever read. The points of view often change without warning and can be somewhat confusing, but once I caught on to Woolf`s style, I began to like it a lot. The entire novel takes place during one day as the protagonist, Clarissa Dalloway, prepares for a party she is throwing that evening. Other characters are brought into the plot that upon first glance may seem as though they have nothing to do with the story, but Woolf does a marvelous job intertwining the characters and making parallels between each of them. I wouldn't recommend this book if you have no patience or don't want a possible struggle. The novel, however, is beautifully written and worth your time if you are willing to give it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
Unusual story since it takes place over one day. I can appreciate what Woolf was attempting but was not exactly riveted or excited while reading this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
The characterization is so authentic that one sees the actors as in real life. The dialogue around the Party - the central event of the book which is not described - tells one all about how it went. Brilliantly constructed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2014
Ephemeral in theme, languid in pace, but nonetheless an enjoyable read. Woolf's gift of description is unequaled in enchantment. Worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
Woolf's complexity in her writing really shines through in this novel. It possesses a level of depth that isn't present in many novels today. I like the insight the story gives into human nature and how fickle life is. Although the story plot doesn't lead to any big, dramatic revelations it's a great read for the ponderous individual.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.