Customer Reviews


1,107 Reviews
5 star:
 (909)
4 star:
 (132)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mrs. Doubtfire" (Widescreen Edition) = Lots Of Fun!
A first-rate cast and an innovative script helped make 1993's "Mrs. Doubtfire" a big movie hit. Robin Williams, Sally Field, and Pierce Brosnan display their individual and collective acting talents in "Doubtfire". I enjoyed each of their performances here. Brosnan's quiet, understated, and laid-back portrayal of "the other man" in Sally's life...
Published on November 9, 2004 by David Von Pein

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing!
Funnyman Robin Williams does a very nice job in this creative film.
Published 2 months ago by Martin Fromer Cat Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2111 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mrs. Doubtfire" (Widescreen Edition) = Lots Of Fun!, November 9, 2004
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
A first-rate cast and an innovative script helped make 1993's "Mrs. Doubtfire" a big movie hit. Robin Williams, Sally Field, and Pierce Brosnan display their individual and collective acting talents in "Doubtfire". I enjoyed each of their performances here. Brosnan's quiet, understated, and laid-back portrayal of "the other man" in Sally's life might often get overlooked in this film, but I think Brosnan's character plays very nicely against that of Mrs. Doubtfire.

But this film, of course, 'belongs' to Robin Williams. It's a veritable tour-de-force for Robin here, as he manages to juggle two different roles, seemingly with ease. A remarkable "two-for-the-price-of-one" performance. He literally "becomes" Mrs. Doubtfire when he dons that wardrobe and make-up.

And Sally Field, as always, is outstanding here. In a way, she has the rather thankless job of playing opposite the human twin-tornado (Robin) in this film. But Sally is able to shine through in her own right, in my view. She's always a treat to watch on the screen. And "Doubtfire" is no exception.

Sally went from co-starring in one blockbuster movie to yet another -- after wrapping up "Doubtfire", she next played Tom Hanks' mom in 1994's mega-hit (and "Best Picture" Oscar-winner), "Forrest Gump".

The "Mrs. Doubtfire" DVD brims over with special stuff. There are more than 30 minutes of "Deleted Scenes" on the disc, scenes that Director Chris Columbus was pretty much forced to cut out of the movie due to time constraints. Kind of a shame too, because nearly all of these deleted scenes are very good, and would not have been a detriment to the film at all, IMO.

"Doubtfire" co-star Polly Holliday, no doubt, is one person who wishes a few of these tossed-out scenes had made it into the final cut of the movie. Because nearly all of Polly's work was left on the cutting room floor it seems. But, at least, these clips ARE available in some fashion -- as an extra bonus on this DVD.

I've found myself watching the "Deleted Scenes" area of this disc as much as the film itself. Polly Holliday is an absolute riot in many of these scenes, as she interacts with "Mrs. Doubtfire". Polly soon finds out that Mrs. Doubtfire's "secret" concoction for keeping her garden looking like a showplace is not exactly the best thing for her plants. LOL!

The DVD also contains interviews with the cast, Makeup Tests, Storyboards, Trailers, TV Ads, and more.

Video looks quite good here, even though this 1999-produced DVD has not been enhanced for widescreen televisions. But the 2.35:1 non-anamorphic Widescreen picture still looks fairly sharp and clear, with good colors.

There's a Dolby Digital 5.0 Surround soundtrack on the disc; along with a 2.0 DD Surround track. There's also audio in French 2.0 Surround. Plus a Commentary Track by Director Chris Columbus.

Other Disc Info ....................

> Subtitles? -- Yes (English and Spanish).

> Disc is Single-Sided.

> Paper "Scene Selection" Enclosure is included, featuring a different picture than the one on the front cover, which is unusual.

> Number of Chapters (Scenes) -- 23.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You mean like Shelley Winters older or Shirley MacLaine old?, May 30, 2003
In 1993, Chris Columbus directed one of the funniest films that Robin Williams has ever starred in: "Mrs. Doubtfire". Based upon the novel "Alias Madame Doubtfire" written by Anne Fine, Robin Williams plays the role of Daniel Hillard, a frequently unemployed actor who specializes in voice impersonations. He and his wife Miranda (Sally Field) have three children: Lydia (Lisa Jakub), Chris (Matthew Lawrence) and Natalie (Mara Wilson). With Miranda working as a highly successful designer, Daniel spends more time with the children than she can. After Miranda comes home to find her home in total disarray with an uproarious birthday party for Chris that includes petting-zoo animals, she completely loses her temper and tells Daniel that she wants a divorce. Daniel is dumbstruck and eventually loses custody of the children to Miranda in court, but wants desperately to spend more time with them than his visitation privileges allow. Upon learning that Miranda plans to hire a nanny to stay with the children when she's at work, Daniel decides to present himself as a potential nanny to Miranda. With the aid of his brother Frank (Harvey Fierstein), who is a makeup artist, and his brother's partner Jack (Scott Capurro), Daniel is transformed into a kindly old woman that he names Mrs. Euphegenia Doubtfire. Fooled by Daniel's disguise, Miranda hires Mrs. Doubtfire. The story heats up even more when Miranda is courted by an old friend, Stuart 'Stu' Dunmeyer (Pierce Brosnan).
The acting in the film, especially Sally Field and Robin Williams, is superb and the story is completely engaging. Memorable scenes in the film include Chris' birthday party, Daniel's first interview with the social worker Mrs. Sellner (Anne Haney), Daniel getting a regular job, Daniel's various impersonations over the telephone, Frank & Jack testing various disguises on Daniel, Mrs. Doubtfire cooking her first dinner, Mrs. Sellner's visit to Daniel's apartment, the country club, and the restaurant. Other very memorable characters in the film include Jonathan Lundy (Robert Prosky), the bus driver (Sydney Walker), Mr. Sprinkles (William Newman), and Daniel's boss at the TV station (Joe Bellan).
If you enjoy films such as "Tootsie" (1982) and "Some Like It Hot" (1959), you're sure to enjoy "Mrs. Doubtfire". Overall, I rate "Mrs. Doubtfire" with 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a funny and engaging comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We never tire of this one, December 28, 2003
This review is from: Mrs Doubtfire [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's hard to find a movie these days that the whole family can enjoy, but this is one of them. Some stellar set pieces by Robin Williams stay in my memory: dancing with the vacuum, the son walking in on his dad (dressed as a woman) peeing while standing up, smacking out his/her flaming fake bosom with pot lids, quitting his job as voice over by imitating Elmer Fudd and telling his boss to p-p-p-p-p-piss off, the switching roles and costumes at the restaurant near the end...
It's the story of divorce, and mom has custody and prevents dad (Williams) from seeing the kids. So he dresses as a British nanny and is hired to care for them. Beautifully acted by everyone. Very touching message lies just below the surface of all the slapstick. Invite the kids, your parents, the neighbors, the babysitter, and watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy with Robin Williams, February 16, 2003
From the beginning, I was enchanted by this awesome comedic performance. Mrs. Doubtfire is about a man who gets divorced but really loves his kids, and goes to extremes to be with them. What does he doe? He pretends to be a maid by dressing up as an old lady. Robin does a great job of playing Mrs. Doubtfire, and changing roles.
I loved this movie. Robin Williams does a great job at playing two people. It's really amazing how he can switch voices (everything from Gandi to a Mafia thug to an old lady, Mrs. Doubtfire). It's really a hilarious movie, and although it's a little old, it's a classic. It was so funny and is suitable for both kids and adults. It's a little bit suggestive in some places (but usually the language is advanced too).
If you haven't seen this movie, then you should buy this DVD ASAP. You are missing out on Robin Williams at his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Edition Excellent Has deleted scenes which are hilarious, November 13, 2000
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This DVD edition has over 30 minutes of deleted scenes.
I think that some of them are funnier than other scenes in the movie. These deleted scenes are the funniest things I have seen in a long time. It just makes me upset that they were cut from the original release.
Possible reasons for deletion in my opinion are
1. Pacing (making the movie shorter)
2. Not essential to the plot
I highly reccomend this edition!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still crazy after all these years, January 5, 2008
Some films you see once and they stick in your memory. "Mrs. Doubtfire" had everyone talking for weeks after we saw it originally in the theater. I still remember the story, but I wanted to see the film again and I'm glad I did.

The story in brief, Miranda (Sally Field) is a career woman who's tired of coming home tired from working hard and cleaning up after her actor husband, Daniel (Robin Williams) and their three children. After a particularly disastrous birthday party for their son that got the police called for a noise complaint, she throws Daniel out and demands a divorce.

This breaks Daniel and the kids' hearts, particularly when he can only see them once a week on Saturdays. He offers to take care of the kids after school and Miranda the court decline.

When Daniel learns that Miranda is going to hire a housekeeper, he decides to become that housekeeper. With the help of his brother Frank (Harvey Fierstein), Mrs. Doubtfire is born.

Daniel does such a convincing job as Mrs. D that neither the kids nor Miranda realize it's him. The problem comes in when Stu Dunmeyer (Pierce Brosnan) enters the picture and restart a once-dead relationship with Miranda.

Robin Williams literally makes this show. I remember back when the movie was first announced, I heard he was walking around Seattle as Mrs. Doubtfire interacting with unwary (and very lucky) citizens. In the making of secion, the cast comment that there is no Robin in Mrs. Doubtfire. Many times even knowing who the character was they thought she was a she.

"Mrs. Doubtfire" is just a brilliant and well-acted tale and always good for a laugh. I recommend this extended version over the others because it does have some fun deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest movie around!!, November 7, 2001
By A Customer
This is truly the funniest movie I have ever seen in my life! Robin Williams is hilarious as Daniel Hillard and Mrs. Doubtfire. His saucy performance makes this a classic that many people will watch again and again. Sally Field is also terrific, and the children (Lisa Jakub, Matthew Lawrence, and Mara Wilson) are all fantastic as well. This movie is constantly played over and over at my house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you will do to see your kids?, November 7, 2004
By 
Rob Darrah (Dallas, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mrs Doubtfire [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Robin Williams and Sally Field star as Daniel and Miranda Hillard who start out as a happily married couple, but one day Miranda wakes up and realizes that she is tired of being the only adult in the family, especially after Daniel decided to turn the house into a circus.

So, they get a divorce, but unfortunately for Daniel, he hardly gets to see the kids, who definitely miss him. Miranda needs to hire some help to watch the kids in the afternoon. Since Daniel is an actor, he decides to respond to Miranda's ad in the newspaper. Of course, he goes through several different characters before he becomes Mrs. Eugenia Doubtfire.

By being Mrs. Doubtfire, Daniel is able to see his kids all of the time. The funny thing is that when he becomes Mrs. Doubtfire, he actually becomes a better parent. He makes sure that the kids do their homework before anything else. He sets more limits for the kids as Mrs. Doubtfire than he ever would have as Daniel.

Robin Williams is excellent as Daniel, and Sally Field shines as Miranda. All of the kids are really good as well. Pierce Brosnan does a good job as Miranda's future love interest as well as Daniel's nemesis.

Chris Columbus does an excellent job in directing the cast to show a rather positive view of handling a divorce. Is this situation plausible in real life? Probably not, but it is nice to see a positive outlook of different families, and the fact that it is all about showing love to your children and making them feel loved and secure. Because as Mrs. Doubtfire says, sometimes it is better for parents to be away from each other than to constantly fight.

If you want to see Robin Williams doing what he does best, then you will enjoy watching him as Daniel, a father who will go to any lengths to be a part of his kids' lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ROBIN WILLIAMS, March 21, 2006
This movie is without a doubt one of the funniest I have ever seen. Robin Williams is a laugh riot, he has rarely been funnier. I can count on one hand how many movies have had me laughing so hard I was crying, but this is one. The other actors in this movie, like Sally Field and Pierce Brosnan are fine, but it is Williams that steals every scene you just cannot take your eyes off of him. I highly recommend this movie to anyone with loves a good a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one of Robin Williams' funniest movies ever!! :), August 12, 2014
By 
jdealy999 (Carson City, Nevada) - See all my reviews
As I write this, I found out that our beloved, multi-talented, loving, awesome comedian Robin Williams just passed away at the age of 63. :( It was so sad to hear about that too. Which is why I'm commenting on this movie.

"Mrs. Doubtfire" was my favorite Robin Williams movie, hands down. He really delivered on a lot of his lines -- and I especially loved the rest of the cast: most notably Sally Field and Pierce Brosnan. A divorced husband, Robin is scared to lose his children to his ex-wife, so what does he do?? He decides to apply for a nanny position; he tricks his ex-wife by transforming into Mrs. Doubtfire! He even manages to fool his own boss.

I loved the kitchen scene where Robin was trying to make some dinner but the frying pan and the stove kept getting on fire (along with his wardrobe!!). He couldn't put it out, so naturally, he orders from a very expensive local restaurant. But Sally didn't know that!!! Robin also becomes jealous when Pierce enters the picture; he thinks that he's trying to hit on Sally, so his first order of business is to get him out of the picture!

He has the restaurant kitchen staff put some spice on Pierce's entrée. The minute that Pierce chokes on some shrimp, it's "Mrs. Doubtfire" to the rescue! After performing the Heimlich maneuver, "Mrs. Doubtfire's" mask starts to peel off. And Sally is aghast when she finds out that "Mrs. Doubtfire" is actually her ex-husband! I truly enjoyed the shock/paralysis facial expression on Sally's face!! She could NEVER duplicate that kind of scene -- and to throw fuel to the fire, she chanted "the whole time, the whole time -- the WHOLE TIME!!" with such anger and venom. Sally Field is truly a class of her own right (most noted in 1989's "Steel Magnolias").

This is a movie that I've watched over 15 times, and I NEVER get sick of it. If you are a Robin Williams fan, you definitely need to purchase and/or stream this title. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2111 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mrs. Doubtfire (Behind-the-Seams Edition)
Mrs. Doubtfire (Behind-the-Seams Edition) by Robin Williams (DVD - 2008)
$14.98 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.