Mrs. Noodlekugel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$11.54
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.99
  • Save: $3.45 (23%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Mrs. Noodlekugel has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mrs. Noodlekugel Hardcover – April 24, 2012


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$11.54
$7.55 $0.01
100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime
$11.54 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Mrs. Noodlekugel + Mrs. Noodlekugel and Four Blind Mice
Price for both: $23.08

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 5 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: Kindergarten - 4
  • Lexile Measure: 580L (What's this?)
  • Series: Mrs. Noodlekugel
  • Hardcover: 80 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick (April 24, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0763650536
  • ISBN-13: 978-0763650537
  • Product Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.9 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #557,106 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Pinkwater takes his fey brand of humor into early chapter books with this story about a jolly little lady who lives in house within a circle of high-rises. Siblings Maxine and Nick discover the house and are determined to find out who lives there. Mike the janitor tells them that buildings grew up around the house—which is owned by nice, old Mrs. Noodlekugel—and that you can get there through the boiler room. Their father orders them not to go near the house. But of course they do, and soon the kids are having gingerbread cookies and tea with Mrs. Noodlekugel—and her cat, the piano-playing Mr. Fuzzface; and the mice, who serve as cookie cutters; and the gingerbread mice who seem to have a life of their own. The book is quite short, even for the genre, but it’s full of odd twists and amusing turns that will get new readers giggling. The cover art is so delicious readers will immediately pick this up and, when done, happily await the next Mrs. Noodlekugel adventure. Grades 1-3. --Ilene Cooper

Review

Stower’s illustrations have an old-fashioned sweetness, while Pinkwater, ever the effortless storyteller, adds just enough bite with his signature deadpan, loopy humor... Pinkwater works narrative magic within the grammatical confines of the early reader format—readers should find Mrs. Noodlekugel’s world delightful and instantly familiar, and look forward to future installments.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Daniel Pinkwater does not deal in pathos but in nutty good humor, and he has pitched the gently zany tale of MRS. NOODLEKUGEL at 5- to-7-year-olds who are just getting confident with chapter books... With occasionally tricky vocabulary, such as "ventriloquist" and "sanitary," this is just the sort of book to make a young reader feel adept.
—The Wall Street Journal

Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle meets Mary Poppins.
—Kirkus Reviews

In novels and picture books we’ve seen Pinkwater in a variety of modes—absurd, satirical, anarchic, deadpan, funny-melancholy. In this offering, an early chapter book, we see yet another color in his palette: cozy... Stower’s pencil drawings perfectly echo the joyous insouciance of this benign—if surreal—backyard world.
—The Horn Book

More About the Author

Daniel Pinkwater lives with his wife, the illustrator and novelist Jill Pinkwater, and several dogs and cats in a very old farmhouse in New York's Hudson River Valley.

Customer Reviews

Just the right length!
M. Grigsby
The mistress, Mrs. Noodlekugel, is at home and invites the children in to have apple cookies, which were baked by Mrs. N's cat, Mr. Fuzzface.
Gail Cooke
It is also much more appealing than typical books at this reading level.
Deborah White

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Inhabiting Books on February 1, 2013
Format: Hardcover
This book would have been ideal for my newly emerging readers: it has a kid-appealing story with just enough fantasy, folly, and humor (and plenty of charming black-and-white illustrations by Adam Stower) to keep a beginning reader's attention, in addition to great cover appeal (for girls, anyway.) But be aware that this book has a limited readership, given that the text is overly simplistic (quite Dick-and-Jane-ish, just in longer chapter form.) It is, in effect, a long beginning reader, when the child has mastered the basics but still needs some help.

The problem is that the publisher's info page of the book makes no mention of the ages for which it's suited. Upon further research online, it is listed for the 5 to 10 age group, but again, just be aware that this is for young beginning readers. They will likely be the only ones excited about the story. (Both my older girls tried reading the book. My nine-year-old brought it back to me after a couple of pages, declaring it a book for babies and utterly annoying. My seven-year-old persevered to the end, declaring it a cute story, but written for "little kids." She hadn't heard her sister's scorn of the book, as she was asleep the night her sister tried to read it.)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Gail Cooke HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on May 3, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Those who've had the pleasure of reading books by Daniel Pinkwater know what a joy he is - frequently absurd but so much fun! That's certainly the case with Mrs. Noodlekugel - just try to read it without smiling.

We meet a brother and sister - Nick and Maxine who along with their parents live in "A tall building, with one apartment stacked on top of another." Since it's a relatively new home they do a bit of exploring - Maxine discovers a backyard to the building which has a little house in it.

Now, their parents tell them not to go near the house so, of course, they do. Once there they find a pretty place - lots of grass, greenery and the little house surrounded by a yellow fence. Since they decide the house looks friendly they approach it and see a statue of a cat - that speaks. Not only speaks but pushes open a door flap to "see if the mistress is at home."

The mistress, Mrs. Noodlekugel, is at home and invites the children in to have apple cookies, which were baked by Mrs. N's cat, Mr. Fuzzface. They learn he's a very good baker as most Danish blues are.

Those aren't the only surprises in store for Nick and Maxine and all lucky readers.

Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By BookWitch on April 30, 2012
Format: Hardcover
MRS. NOODLEKUGEL is a sweet and funny early chapter book, with great illustrations by Adam Stower (who also did the KEEPERS OF THE SCHOOL illustrations which I was a fan of as well). It is short - but of course, it is for little kids who are just starting to read. And the door is open for many more books featuring these fun characters.

In the tradition of MRS PIGGLE-WIGGLE and MARY POPPINS, this is a charming and delightful "magical babysitter" story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Deborah White on April 26, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
FUN! This is classic Daniel Pinkwater with characters stating the obvious in a wry tone, absurd happenings interspersed with everyday activities, and a wild sense of fun!

The text is accessible for those on the cusp of attempting chapter books. It is also much more appealing than typical books at this reading level. I don't know if he intended this but, Pinkwater has managed to craft this story in a manner that is gender neutral. As a classroom teacher, this is something I value. Many books aimed at this audience are clearly targeted for a specific gender which limits its usefulness.

The illustrations remind me of Chris Van Duesen's work in The Circus Ship as well as the Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle and Mrs. Pickerell Miss Pickerell Goes to Mars of my childhood.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Pop Bop TOP 500 REVIEWER on June 30, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
No one does deadpan absurd better than Daniel Pinkwater. From early readers through YA high schoolers these are books for the hippest and most tuned-in of kids.

The Larry the Polar Bear books and the Irving and Muktuk books are ideal for starting readers who can follow the slightly skewed action. "The Werewolf Club" is for a slightly older crowd. You have the Adventures of a Cat-Whiskered Girl series for even older readers, and The Education of Robert Nifkin is one of the best YA titles around.

This book falls into a middle grade category, I think. It is informed by Pinkwater's signature narrative style - an oddly formal yet whimsical approach that treats even the most unusual situations as perfectly normal and unremarkable, which has the effect of transforming the mundane, trivial and commonplace into something strange and magical. Who knew that cheerful oddness could be so refreshing and revealing?

All of this works because of the characters Pinkwater favors. Regardless of the ages all of his protagonists are capable, resourceful, unflappable and mildly bemused by events. They are armed with keen insight. They are also curious and courageous, and completely attuned to the absurdity around them. Whether it's a giant chicken, a lizard musical band, a cat-whiskered girl, or an alien hamburger stand, these heroes and heroines bravely step forward to see "what the heck this is all about".

A whole lifetime of books about embracing life, living it fully, and enjoying the experience.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?