Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 4, 2004
I have to be honest with you. Until I heard "Like A Pimp", I had no clue who David Banner was. The collaboration with Lil Flip was a club banger though and you couldn't be in a club at the time without someone playing that song. The track was in heavy roation on the radio and the video was being played constantly on BET and MTV 2. Although I liked "Like A Pimp" and David Banner's 2nd single, "Cadillac On 22s", I decided not to purchase his CD because I heard too many mixed reviews about "Mississippi: The Album". When "MTA 2: Baptized In Dirty Water" dropped in December 2003, I decided to take a chance on the CD because of all the guest appearances that were on the CD.
The first single "Crank It Up" is a certified banger. David Banner has a way of creating songs that catch your attention. "Crank It Up" creates a buzz for this album just like "Like A Pimp" did for "Mississippi: The Album". This CD gets off to a nice start with "Eternal" and the 2nd track with Lil Flip entitled "Talk To Me". The track with Lil Flip has me waiting for the CD that is coming out that will feature both David Banner and Lil Flip on the same CD just like Method Man and Redman did on their "Blackout" CD. David Banner fans may be somewhat disappointed because "Talk To Me" doesn't sound as good as "Like A Pimp". However, it will be hard for him to match the success and popularity of that song. "Gots To Go" features Bun B of UGK and Devin The Dude and is definitely one of MTA 2's better tracks. The three rappers do what they do best as they talk junk about the females of today. If anyone hasn't purchased Devin The Dude's 2 CDs, "The Dude" and "Just Trying To Live" then you might want to make your way to the nearest store or to amazon.com and add both of these CDs to your collection. "Ooh Ahh" continues the "crunk" tradition that is going on in the "New South" these days and this track is one of my favorite tracks on this CD. One advantage that David Banner has in his corner is that not only can he handle the lyrical side of things but he can also produce as well. To anyone that was nodding their head to TI's "Rubberband Man" they can thank David Banner who produced the track. "My Lord" sounds as if it's "Cadillac On 22's Volume 2" but you will be able to give David Banner the benefit of the doubt because of the positive message of the song. He has many sides to him. One minute he is displaying his "crunk side" and his distaste for the ladies and then the next he is speaking of positivity and how we have to show kids the right way to live, which displays his versatility. Other tracks to check out on "MTA 2: Baptized In Dirty Water" is "Pretty Pink" which features TI and Marcus, "The Game" which features the South legend, Scarface, "Lil Jones" featuring Bonecrusher and "Mama's House". On "The Game" Scarface shows that he still has the same skills that he has always displayed as he delivers a "fire" verse for the song. If David Banner hadn't have been singing at the beginning of the track, this would be my favorite song on this CD. On the remix to "Like A Pimp", David Banner is definitely outshined by Twista and Busta Rhymes who rip the track to shreds. In the future, he may want to make sure that he delivers the same "fire" as his featured artists do.
Overall, "MTA 2: Baptized In Dirty Water" is a nice CD. If you bought the "Mississippi: The Album" and you liked that CD then you will definitely like MTA 2 as this CD takes place where MTA 1 left off. However, if you weren't a big fan of MTA 1 you may not like MTA 2 because the CDs are very similar. If you like "Like A Pimp" and none of his other tracks then you still may want to hold off purchasing MTA 2 because you won't find a track that is better than "Like A Pimp" on this CD although "Crank It Up" is close.
If you can't get enough of David Banner then check him out on Lil Flip's double CD, "U Gotta Feel Me" on the tracks "Represent" and "Ain't No....", on Yung Wun's upcoming Cd on the track "Tear It Up" and on Young Buck's upcoming CD "Straight Outta Cashville" on the track with Lil Flip, "Welcome To The South".
James' Top 5
1) Crank It Up
2) Talk To Me w/Lil Flip
3) Gots To Go w/Bun B of UGK & Devin The Dude
4) Ooh Ahh
5) The Game w/Scarface
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2004
David Banner made his nationwide debut about this time 2003 with the hit song 'Like A Pimp' and a successful album 'Mississippi: The Album'. In almost a DMX esque fashion, he dropped another album in December 2003. Unlike DMX though, this album falls a good ways from its predecessor.
To start things off, the first single from this album is merely a remix to a song that's been too much played in the first place. 'Like A Pimp' remix adds Twista and Busta and serves as a worthy remix but fails to capture the magic of the original because they both have the same beat. The second single is flat out horrible. 'Crank It Up' hardly gets any play in the south and I sincerely doubt it gets play anywhere else. Song sucks. The lyrics on the album feel rushed and aren't as prolific as the previous one. The beats are just ok and for David Banner that is unacceptable because production is his main forte'.
With all that said this album is still infectious with some really incredible songs. Eternal and My Lord are great reflective tracks with laid back beats and real rapping. The collaboration with Scarface sounds weird at first with Banner attempting to sing but eventually works out. And Scarface takes over the track as one would expect a legend to do. Banner shows out on 'Pretty Pink' with Jazze Pha and TI that has that classic signature Jazze Pha sound. Lil Jones (although truly released on Them Firewater Boyz) displays it's classic status because it still sounds fresh today. He gets crunk on 'Mama'z House', which is truly gangsta if you listen to it ( as a matter of fact one of the most menacing tracks I've ever heard ). I could see this one causing some type of trouble. The best song though is 'Gots To Go' featuring Bun B and the ever ridin Devin The Dude. Straight up ridin with a true to life chorus.
David Banner drops above average on this one considering the facts that he isn't that dope of a rapper and that he recorded this cd in about 4 months and it has a bunch of remixes, interludes and recycled songs. In reality this should have been just an EP. But if you like David Banner this should hold you over until his next release. 3.5 Stars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2004
David Banner is one of the many new faces to blew up from the Dirty South. He's here to tell you that the south's where it's at, and is able to escape a lot of of the critiscm that southern hip hop gets through his deep lyrics. David Banner packs that energy and makes his presence felt when he's on the mic. Plus he's one of the heardest producers to hit the scene in the last couple of years. The beats are true Dirty South bangers. On his sophmore album, "MTA2: Baptized In Dirty Water", Banner shows his ability to rip through each and every track. "Gots To Go" is one of the best sogns I've heard in the last year.

David Banner's raps have a lot of substance and meaning to them. He proves this on "Eternal" and "My Lord" where he addresses religion in todays life. Being from the South, Banner knows how to get it crunk, evident by the singles "Like A Pimp (Remix)" and "Crank It Up". He steps up and represents Mississippi on "Pop That" with Sky. He gets pimpin' on "Gots To Go", which sports a great beat, as well as Banner, Devin The Dude and Bun B having some great flows and lyrics. Easily the best song on the album. The whole of "MTA2" is ridin'. The only song I didn't really like was "Airforce Ones (Remix)" which could not even be salvaged by Nelly and 8Ball.

David Banner is one of the faces on the New South, holding it down with his own style and scheme. Packed with excellent beats, lyrics and style, this is truly recommended. 5 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2003
it seems like most people feel this album is better than his first on SRC and I will have to agree. I don't remember the first one being that bad but it definitely fell short of the collective effort of Crooked Lettaz Grey Skies (David Banner's former group) Banner definitely has some heat on this lp, I been bangin it nonstop since I purchased it (somethin I did not do with the first Mississippi lp) but the best song to me is a introspective joint he got with the king of the south, Scarface. This album is in the top 10 of hip hop albums to come out this year, but I strongly recommend everyone pick up the Grey Skies lp as well cause it's best hiphop albums ever to come out the south, period!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2004
I think this cd is a little better than Mississippi and has more guest appearances on it, but less ammount of songs.
There were two interludes on here but both were dumb after a while, and just take up space.
My favorite songs are Like A Pimp, Crank It Up, Eternal, Mamas House, and Air Force Ones.
I suggest you buy this album for those songs only.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2003
DAVID IS ONE OF THE FEW SMART RAPPERS WE HAVE IN THE GAME. THE MAN HAS THE HOOD ON LOCK WHILE ALSO BEING AWARE OF THE WORLDLY STRUGGLES. I LOVE THIS MAN. HE IS TRUELY TALENTED. PLEASE COP THIS CD, AND MISSISSIPPI IF YOU DON'T HAVE THAT ONE. THAT CD SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED FOR A GRAMMY. ONE OF THE BEST THIS YEAR. YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2003
This album is great. It is far better than his first album. I would suggest everybody who is into down south rap to purchase this album and you will not be sorry. I find myself listening to this album over and over. Each song is great. I am a true David Banner fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2005
After David Banner released his first solo album, "Mississippi: The Album", he didn't waste no time at all recording and releasing its follow-up. "MTA2: Baptized in Dirty Water" was released six months after his debut in December 2003.

1. Eternal - Good beat, Banner spits pretty nice, hook is pretty good - 4.5/5

2. Talk to Me (Featuring Lil' Flip) - Good beat, Banner and Flip both spit good...another great collaboration from them, hook is good - 4/5

3. Like a Pimp [Remix] (Featuring Twista & Busta Rhymes) - Good beat...same as the original version, Twista, Banner, & Busta tear it up...better than the original...same hook as before...still good though - 4.5/5

4. Crank it Up (Featuring Static) - Good beat, Banner spits pretty good, Static's hook is good - 4.5/5

5. Pretty Pink (Featuring Jazze Pha, T.I., & Marcus) - Good beat, Banner, T.I., & Marcus all spit good, Jazze's hook is pretty good - 4/5

6. Pop That (Featuring Sky) - Great beat, Banner spits good, Sky's hook and singing is great...song fades and answering machine message plays for the rest of the track (around 50 seconds) - 4/5

7. My Lord (Featuring Sky & Marcus) - Good beat, Banner and Marcus spit pretty good, hook is great - 5/5

8. The Game (Featuring Scarface) - Good beat, Face and Banner spit real nice...the track is just too slow paced to keep my attention, Banner's hook is kinda weak and repeats wayyy too much - 2/5

9. Gots to Go (Featuring Devin the Dude & Bun B) - Good beat, Banner and Bun spit good, Devin's verse is wack, hook is pretty good - 3.5/5

10. The Christmas Song (Featuring Marcus & Sky) - Good beat, Banner & Marcus spit real hard, Sky has a great verse as well, hook is good - 4.5/5

11. Baptized in Dirty Water (Interlude)

12. Ooh Aah - Good beat, Banner spits pretty good, hook is pretty good - 4/5

13. Mama's House (Featuring Frekzanatcha) - Pretty good beat, Banner & Frekz spit pretty nice, hook is lame - 3/5

14. So in Love - Pretty good beat, Banner spits good, hook is weak - 3/5

15. Lil' Jones (Featuring Bone Crusher) - Not feeling the beat, Banner spits good...Bone Crusher is wack, don't understand the hook at all - 1/5

16. Air Force Ones [Remix] [Bonus Track] (Featuring Nelly & Eightball) - Good beat, everyone spits good, hook is great - 5/5

17. We Ride Them Caddies (Featuring Marcus) - Good beat, Banner spits faster and pretty good...Marcus's verse is good as well, hook is good - 4.5/5

18. The End (Interlude)

Overall: 61/80

3.5 Stars

Compared to his first release, Banner definitely stepped his game up. The tracks on this album are much better but there still were a couple that were terrible. Overall this cd is a lot better than his first, but it still needs a lot of work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
2003 was a good year for David Banner. This was the year that he hit it big with his infectious hit "Like A Pimp", which featured his new rhyme partner and Texan King Lil Flip. "Like A Pimp" came from his mainstream debut "Mississippi: The Album", which was nothing short of a regional classic. Having enjoyed this immensely, I was amazed to see Banner drop his sophmore album just months later, coming in the form of "MTA2: Baptized In Dirty Water". I was expecting a lot and I certainly wasn't dissopointed.
Whilst it's not as good as it's predecessor, it's still an amazing effort. The first two singles were nothin' short of hot. "Like A Pimp (Remix)" is true southern style, adding Chicago fast-tongue Twista and remix king Busta Rhymes. It's hot, not as good as the original, but still hot. Then came "Crank It Up" and this is pure crunk. Whilst it's not one of the albums stronger points of the album it's still pretty decent and worth a few listens. These two lead singles were good, but didn't compare two Banner's other two singles - "Like A Pimp" and "Caddillac On 22's". This is the feel of the album. Hot, but not all that an' a bag of chips.
With all that said, I'm really feeling this album. "Eternal", "Pop That" and "My Lord" are all amazing reflective cuts, which display Banner's true rhyming ability over his own great beats. These are arguably the best songs on the album. "Talk To Me" was the next Banner/Flip callabo, and whilst it's nowhere near as good as "Like A Pimp" it's still crunk to the fullest. I was hoping for more from this duo but I can nod my head this number. "Gots To Go" is ridin' with the ever outstanding Bun B and Devin The Dude. "Mama's House" and "Lil Jones" are two infectious crunk cuts. "The Christmas Song" is a different kind of ghetto tale and shows how diverse Banner can be. Other good songs include "Pretty Pink", "Ooh Aah" and "We Ride Them Caddies".
I think this is a pretty good album, with a couple good remixes and insightful skits. If you're looking for some different crunk music to bump bump bump in your ride this is just the ticket. If you're looking for a good album outta the south, this is definetley up there. 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2004
In 2003, David Banner hit it big with his single 'Like A Pimp' - aided by Texan Lil Flip - which backed his amazing mainstream debut 'Missippi: The Album'. Later in 2003, he dropped his second album, the follow up to the first, in the form of 'MTA2: Baptized In Dirty Water'. I was surprised to see him drop this so soon after the first and I was expecting a lot. However, I was left quite dissopointed.
The thing that turned me on to the album was it's lead single, the 'Like A Pimp (Remix)', this time adding Twista and Busta Rhymes, and I was impressed. Then I thought it was just aiight. Then it got boring, and everytime I heard it I was just left with the feeling 'It's been done', which is probably because the beat is the same as it's original. The second single 'Crank It Up' is good for a couple of listens and then gets wack. This is a perfect example of the overall feel of the album: Rushed. The beats fall in the same category, and for someone with Banner's talent behind the boards, it shouldn't happen.
That said, this album does have it's high points and low points. The problem is, the low points are just too low. The high points come to include the opening track 'Eternal', which is one of Banner's best ever songs. Amazing. 'Pop That' and 'My Lord' are possibly the album's highest points - really reflective and deep. Where would this album have been without another Lil Flip callabo? 'Talk To Me' was good, but I was hoping for better having heard 'Like A Pimp'. Still good, but it could have been better - Banner falls short on this track but Flip saves it. 'Pretty Pink' with T.I. and Jazze Pha is a real chillin' cut, laid back and easy to play. As expected, T.I. steals the show. Bonecrusher joins Banner on 'Lil Jones' which is pure crunk. What else could be expected? This track gets major play from me. The final high point comes in the form of 'Gots To Go' with Bun B and Devin The Dude is so ridin'. So ridin'. A real high point.
This makes the album sound top quality, but as I said, the low points are really low. 'Crank It Up' - enough said. 'The Game' with Scarface was a dissopointment. Banner and 'Face shouldn't have tried to sing the whole damn song. This was five and a half minutes 'MTA2' could have done without. 'Ooh Ahh' and 'So In Love' - two of the three solos - are so flat and the beats are so boring. Nine times out of ten these get skipped. 'We Ride Them Caddies' is so boring - Banner's rhyming and flow in this are wack and you can feel how rused this cut was. Then comes the lowest point - 'Airforce Ones - The Remix' - is wack. I gave it a chance but Nelly really can't pull of a remix to such a great original. 'The Christams Song' and 'Mama's House' are aiight, not good and not bad, but don't warrant repeated listens.
All in all, David Banner's dropped an above average album. Bearing in mind it was done in a matter of months it's quite good. Worth getting if you liked 'Missippi: The Album' or if you're a heavy fan of southern music. 'MTA2' is a good listen. 3.5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.72

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.