Customer Reviews


611 Reviews
5 star:
 (386)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


227 of 235 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark but memorable tale shows great potential
Hillary Jordan appears to be the real deal, judging from the amazing skill she displays in constructing this novel. She is able to tell a dark and troubling tale in the voices of several of the characters and make it all hang together. Actually, it more than just hangs together, it fits together almost seamlessly. As other reviewers have noted, this story focuses on the...
Published on March 16, 2008 by John C. Wiegard

versus
140 of 155 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mississippi Delta Farm Life In The 1940's
In her novel MUDBOUND Hillary Jordan does a good job bringing the language and attitudes of both black and white rural Mississippians living in the years surrounding World War II to life. The story is told by six "voices". Laura's voice is perhaps the one we hear from most frequently. She is a "city" (Memphis) born woman who marries when in her early 30's and had given...
Published on June 27, 2008 by Susan K. Schoonover


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

227 of 235 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark but memorable tale shows great potential, March 16, 2008
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
Hillary Jordan appears to be the real deal, judging from the amazing skill she displays in constructing this novel. She is able to tell a dark and troubling tale in the voices of several of the characters and make it all hang together. Actually, it more than just hangs together, it fits together almost seamlessly. As other reviewers have noted, this story focuses on the Mississippi Delta in the year 1946/47, when returning veterans of WWII knew the world was changing, but their home community did not. The realities of the racism of the time and place are explored thoroughly, but not in a melodramatic or pompous way. This novel received the Bellwether prize, which is the largest USA prize given to unpublished manuscripts and the only one that specifically promotes literature of social change. Barbara Kingsolver reviewed it in the strongest positive terms- no surprise, because it is as good as her work. Like others, I am highly interested in the next thing that Hillary Jordan will write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A startlingly beautiful and sharp-edged debut...essential reading!, March 3, 2008
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
Hillary Jordan's first novel is a luminous, lovely and at times achingly painful depiction of America at a time of its greatest glory and shame. Set at the end of World War II, it follows the vastly different homecomings of two returning war heroes--one black, one white--to the Jim Crow south. Jordan uses deftly lyrical writing (judiciously salted with both humor and pathos) and a breathlessly brave approach to tell her story: a diverse chorus of different characters (black and white, male and female) weave their voices together in observations of race and rural farmlife in the 40's. The result is a delicately-choreographed, operatic tragedy that unrolls with graceful inevitability, culminating in a climactic scene that will reverberate for this reader (and writer) for years to come.

Here is a true new talent; a writer with the stylistic grace and social conscience of William Faulkner and Flannery O'Connor and the dramatic flair of Pat Conroy and Jodi Picoult. Mudbound will leave you stunned, impressed, painfully touched---and (like me!) eagerly anticipating its author's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 155 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mississippi Delta Farm Life In The 1940's, June 27, 2008
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
In her novel MUDBOUND Hillary Jordan does a good job bringing the language and attitudes of both black and white rural Mississippians living in the years surrounding World War II to life. The story is told by six "voices". Laura's voice is perhaps the one we hear from most frequently. She is a "city" (Memphis) born woman who marries when in her early 30's and had given up on marriage and motherhood. Her husband is Henry, a basically good but also inconsiderate man and it is his dreams of farm life that bring his wife and daughters to live on a remote cotton farm with him and his hateful father. Another voice belongs to Jamie, Henry's much younger charming brother, a returning war hero with a serious drinking problem and some other unresolved issues. Hap is a middle aged black tenant farmer and an almost saintly part time preacher and his voice helps us understand the hopes, desires and choices of many black Southern Americans of that time. His wife Florence is a sharply observant voice who sees much as "granny midwife" to the poorer people in the area and in her other role as housekeeper for Laura and her family. Florence and Hap's son Ronsel is the last voice. Ronsel returns from service in World War II much changed after seeing the greater acceptance of blacks in Europe and other parts of the United States and finds difficulty in accepting the subservient plight of black folks in the Jim Crow Delta.

The beginning and ending of the novel are the weakest parts. The beginning chapter in which we meet Jamie and Henry digging a grave should be compelling but somehow isn't and I had to force myself to continue reading and was fortunately soon rewarded as Laura begins to tell her story. The ending of the book also has problems and is not nearly as strong as the author seemed to have intended. In fact the overall quality of writing in the novel weakens after the tragic climax. There are also some very predictable plot elements that keep the story from seeming as original as it could be. Yet this is a very readable worthy book with some important messages about racism and humanity as well as some real insight in to life in the Delta sixty some years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story of the south, April 19, 2008
By 
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
Reading this book, I felt like I truly understood what it was to live in a mudbound Mississippi farm post-WW II; the characters were so real it was like they were sitting on the couch beside me, telling me their stories. The first few pages of this book were so beautifully written that I read the entire first chapter out loud to my husband; it was just perfect prose. The narrative is powerful as well: I read the book in just a few days, and was late to church trying to get it finished. Ultimately, it was just short of five stars because the theme of the story -- the desperate unfairness of racism in the South -- has been done before, and the writer didn't seem to have a new perspective on it. Bits of it were somewhat cliched; the racist characters were evil, the African Americans noble victims; racism is bad and destructive and corrupts everyone. All true; but I wish she had pushed herself a bit more, past the cliches of all that has been written before. But there is no question: the writing, the people and the story carry you through the book like a tide. Not quite a classic, but a wonderful debut, and well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books I've Read in a Long Time, March 4, 2008
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
Mudbound by Hillary Jordan is without question one of the best books I have read in some time. The story of two families, one white, one black, in the Mississippi Delta immediately after the end of World War 2, tells a story of racism like nothing I have read before. The story is told by various characters in the book giving a clear picture of the time, the people and the unforgiving conditions of farming in the Mississippi Delta. I was raised and have lived most of my life in small towns in the North and have never encountered any of the racism that I know exists, and existed even more prominently during the time covered in this book. It is important, in my opinion, to make this abominable racism public and the author does that, not sugar coating anything in the exchanges between characters.
I found myself so engrossed in this book that it was almost like I wasn't reading, more like watching a play or a movie. The language flowed so beautifully. The characters were true to what they were portrayed as. I look forward to future books from Hillary Jordan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Debut, March 24, 2008
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
Mudbound by Hillary Jordan is a stunning debut novel.

I was absolutely blown away by this book. The cover art captured me first. The stark contrast of the ramshackle house against the bountiful cotton field intrigued me. I wanted to know the story of that house and it's inhabitants.

Laura has resigned herself to life as a spinster when she meets Henry McAllan in 1939. She eventually accepts his proposal of marriage and they settle down to urban life in Memphis, Tennessee. Family upheaval and Henry's desire to own a farm lands them, their two children and Henry's sly, cruel father in rural Mississippi on a cotton farm. There is no electricity, no running water and when the river rises, they are cut off from the town. There are tenant farmers on the land as well, black and white. Racial tensions and long held prejudices run deep in the Mississippi Delta.

Mudbound opens with Henry and his brother Jamie burying their father on the farm. Jordan's descriptions paint tangible pictures. " The soil was so wet from all the rain it was digging into raw meat". Laura's description of the farm also paints a vivid picture. "When it rained, as it often did, the yard turned into a thick gumbo, with the house floating in it like a soggy cracker"

From that opening scene, we relive how Henry and Jamie came to be burying their father. Each character has a voice in the telling of the story. Henry, Jamie, Laura, Florence and Hap - the black tenant farmers on the McAllan farm and Ronsel - their son. Ronsel and Jamie have both just returned home from the war. Both men have been changed by their experiences and form an unlikely friendship. In the Jim Crow south, this is unacceptable and drives the story to it's inevitable conclusion.

I could not put this book down. The characters,their lives, emotions and upheaval are so richly painted. The historical facts of the deep south in the late 1940's are woven into this stunning debut novel. Jordan's writing captured and held me until the last page. I cannot wait to read her next novel.

Mudbound evoked strong emotions in this reader. The past is still happening.

Jordan won the 2006 Bellwether Prize awarded to literature of social change. This founder of this prize is Barbara Kingsolver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brace yourselves, May 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
Jordan's imagination has created a character to compete with Iago. Never since "Othello" have I encountered such unmitigated, inexplicable evil in one of the characters -- (I won't give it away). Some of the characters' choices are so disturbing, you question what you would do in a similar situation -- sure to become a topic among reading club participants certain to choose this book. But when you root for the evil character to get his comeuppance, you question how it is that _you_ are very different from him. You start to feel guilty over rejoicing over this getting his just desserts.

This is one of the best books I've read in my life, (in its fifth decade). I won't stop at saying it will stay with me for a long time; I will say that it will stay with me forever.

Susan Dunlap, Versailles, Kentucky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, May 19, 2008
By 
Jane Beckwith (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
This is a well written page turner. It is also depressing and full of despair. Although this book was enjoyable to read because of the engrossing story, it was also depressing to read because it presents the incredible injustice of how blacks were treated in the south. The author does a great job linking the bound life of Laura on the mud farm with the lives of African-Americans, who were trapped in the muck and mire of racism. There is so much darkness in this book that whenever even a glimpse of goodness shines through, you breathe a sigh of relief. A sense of hopelessness prevails throughout the book--a tremendous sense of being stuck. If the writer wanted her readers to feel that, I think she succeeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars well written, but predictable, May 21, 2009
This review is from: Mudbound (Paperback)
This is a well written book that really sucks you in-I think I read it in about two days. I liked her use of different "voices" throughout the book, which kept the book from seeming too preachy at any one point. However, the further into it I got, the less I liked it. I got the feeling that I had read many bits of this before in other popular fiction-and there they were again. Death, check. Hardship because of foolish husband, check. Incest, check. Woman in a unhappy marriage who has a "fling" that somehow gives her the gumption to go on. That last one is starting to really annoy me. I guess it is currently popular, but I doubt you'd find much popular fiction these days that had a man using a woman in that way, and then talking dreamily about how his affair "clarified" things for him so that he could bravely continue in his unhappy marriage. It's fast paced, and well written, but I would have enjoyed it more if it had stuck more to the better parts of the story, namely the story about Ronsel and he and his family's battles against racism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page-turning, numbing, and prize worthy, March 19, 2008
This review is from: Mudbound (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. I usually have a hard time reading fiction about the Jim Crow south, because it can be so painful. Mudbound is full of painful situations linked to 1940s racism, poverty, abuse, and pride. But the characters are so vivid, and Jordan is a terrific writer. Each chapter is successfully told in a different voice/point of view. I wish the author great success and hope to read more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mudbound
Mudbound by Hillary Jordan
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.