Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Muddy Waters Presentation Available
I am happy to contribute this review. This DVD was released two weeks ago in Australia and it is great. This set was put out by the "Reeling In The Years" people who have done the "Blues Legends" series (Albert King, Freddie King, Memphis Slim and Sonny Boy Williamson) over the last two years. This latest release has Muddy at three stages of his career with three...
Published on December 5, 2005 by Perry Celestino

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The sound for the intro of the DVD video and for the first few songs cut in and out and was totally disturbing. I was disgusted. Fortunately, after a few songs at the Newport Festival the sound cleared up and the rest of the DVD was excellent. Considering what I paid for the DVD this was a large disappointment.
Published on January 30, 2009 by Robert J. Berger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Muddy Waters Presentation Available, December 5, 2005
By 
Perry Celestino (Tahmoor, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
I am happy to contribute this review. This DVD was released two weeks ago in Australia and it is great. This set was put out by the "Reeling In The Years" people who have done the "Blues Legends" series (Albert King, Freddie King, Memphis Slim and Sonny Boy Williamson) over the last two years. This latest release has Muddy at three stages of his career with three different bands.

It begins with a re-release and an improved sound upgrade of his famous 1960 Newport Jazz Festival concert. It is in Black and White but the sound is now in stereo and song selection are excellent. The band features James Cotton on harp. I think "I'll Put A Tiger In Your Tank" and "Rolling Stone" are particularly good. It also has a great version of Mojo Working as usual with Jimmy Rushing and others contributing.

The DVD then moves to Europe. We see Muddy in the early 1968 at the Copenhagen Jazz Festival. Here the band has its famous matching Guild Guitars with the long telephone cord leads (I had one!). "Long Distance Call" is particularly good in this set. The band also features the great Otis Spann and footage of this gentleman is very rare. He even sings the T-Bone Walker number "Cold, Cold Feeling", just superb.

Muddy's final concert on this DVD is him at the end of his career in Norway. It is in 1977 at the Molde Jazz Festival. His band has the fabulous Pinetop Perkins and white bluesmen Bob Margolin and Jerry Portnoy. This set is also great and in colour. The crowd, as Europeans can be, is very subdued. The set has great versions of a number of tunes such as "Hoochie Coochie Man", "Blow Wind" and a great version of "Baby Please Don't Go".

This is an essential DVD to own if you are a Blues lover. I have all of Muddy Waters' released material and this is the best. It sounds great and has a comprehensive song selection.It also features very good digital sound and the concerts have over 90-minutes of music. The bonus material has interviews and a great version of "The Blues Had A Baby and They Named It Rock And Roll". It will be released on January 24 in the States. Get this as your New Year's present!

I would love, in the future, to see the release of the famous tribute concert done for Muddy in the late sixties with all the best players of the time such as Johnny Winter, Mike Bloomfield, Junior Wells, Nick Gravenities, Pinetop Perkins and many more. This has to be put out soon. Parts have been shown in Johnny Winter's Pieces and Bits DVD and the Chicago Blues Reunion DVD put out in 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best blues DVDs, August 1, 2006
By 
Jerry D. Rosen (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
This DVD (by Reelin' In The Years Productions) would be worth the cost even if it were just of the Newport festival. As it is, there are three separate classic concerts on the DVD (Newport in 60, Copenhagen in 68 and Norway in 77). The album (and CD) of Muddy at Newport has always been a favorite of mine, and to see it live is amazing. What can I say, it is Muddy with one his all time classic bands including Otis Spann and James Cotton. This is what they sounded like playing in the Chicago clubs. The editing, which includes cutting between the band and the audience reaction, is excellent. This concert took place in July 1960 and it represents one of the first exposures of black blues to white audiences in the US. As a musician,it is interesting to see Muddy and band using classic Gibson and Fender equipment; guitars and amps which are now considered classic vintage equipment and cost thousands of dollars. These guys played blues the way it should be played, with passion and harmony - not mindless noise and soloing. Any beginning blues musician (or rocker) should buy this DVD to see some classic examples. One highlite of show is watching Muddy do a little dance with Cotton. The second and third concerts were shot in Europe and you can see the integration of Muddy's band with Paul Oscher and Jerry Portnoy on harmonica and Bob Margolin on guitar. Margolin is still keeping the Muddy tradition alive today by his excellent work with the Muddy Waters tribute band (which includes some of Muddy's old sidemen). The European concerts occured in 68 and 77 and watching Muddy age adds poignancy to the DVD. There are bonus sections of interviews with Muddy which give a rare glimpse into the man himself and the liner notes (actually a booklet) by Bob Margolin (who is also a writer for the magazine Blues Revue) adds very interesting historical and musical insights. Any music fan must add this DVD to their collection and it is a must have for every blues fan. I would rate this DVD in the same category as my other favorites, namely Freddie King's The Beat and The American Folk Blues Festival DVD's, which were also produced by Reelin' In The Years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUDDY WOULD BE PROUD, May 31, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
IN COMPLETE AGREEMENT WITH THE PREVIOUS REVIEW, THIS IS THE FINEST QUALITY VIDEO/AUDIO RELEASE FROM THE BLUES LEGEND--THE STEREO SOUND FROM NEWPORT IS AMAZING, AND THE 2 EUROPEAN PERFORMANCES ARE EQUALLY WELL PRESENTED--YOU CAN CLEARLY HEAR THE INDIVIDUAL INSTRUMENTS AS THEY SUPPORT MUDDYS STINGING LEAD GUITAR. THE 3 BONUS ITEMS ARE A GREAT ADDITION THAT IS A RELEASE WORTHY OF THE GREAT MAN, AND SOMETHING HE WOULD BE PROUD OF. HERE WE ARE ALMOST 50YRS AFTER NEWPORT, STILL BEING AMAZED BY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muddy the Great, February 21, 2007
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
Five stars aren't enough for this DVD. I have several other blues-themed DVDs - all three in the American Folk Blues Festival series, Memphis Slim and Sonny Boy, Howlin' Wolf Story, The Chicago Blues, Clapton's Crossroads Festival, Stevie Ray at Montreaux, et al - and I have never seen anything quite like this. Muddy is, simply, drop-dead stunning. The Newport concert brings tears to my eyes, and the sound is off the charts. Then the Copenhagen show, followed by the gig in Norway. Excellent quality, sound and visuals. This is as good as it gets. The inner strength and (dare I say) nobility of Muddy Waters has never been plainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muddy makes it crystal clear, September 2, 2006
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
Muddy Waters has influenced blues players and fans for years even after his death. His catalog is chock full of standards worshiped by countless people of all ages. The blues can be felt by all generations it is a universal vibe. Muddy was a torchbearer for the blues with an uncanny ability to write timeless music. "Hoochie Coochie Man" is a classic and well documented here. The emphasis is on early Muddy Waters and timeless performances. It is unfortunate that some of the later classics are not found here. But the sampling is varied enough to keep your attention on the master of the blues. He crafted an art form that few have been able to duplicate. When you think of the blues the first one I think of is Muddy Waters. He was an ambassador for the blues before it was exposed to the mainstream. Through his work and passion it became an icon for American music. We all feel the blues and he made them real for everyone. Now it is fashionable to praise the blues and its fatherhood of rock and roll. For little finacial gain and fame these artists played for the soul of expression. They showed the way for those with little knowledge of the roots of the blues. It is an educational experience to witness a blues giant in his prime. One not soon to be forgotten. It is a blessing that there is a video history of one of the all time greats. It is an experience for the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master at Work, December 1, 2009
By 
Mr. Mambo (Burnsville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
I have listened to and loved blues music since I was 5 years old, catching Elvis do Arthur Crudup's That's Alright, Mama on TV (I am now 60). There is just something so powerfully insinuating about the twelve-bar blues that grabbed me way back then and hasn't let go. To me, Muddy was, is, and will always be, the true King of the Blues (not to take anything away from B.B, Albert, or Freddy--I love them all too!). That rough and gritty amplified Chicago blues sound, driven by harp, slide guitar, piano, bass and drums, was pioneered by Muddy and his illustrious bandmates. This DVD is especially compelling because it shows us a fine cross-section of Muddy's band as it evolved over a period of close to twenty years. Not to say that Muddy ever strayed too far from what he did best over the course of his career. He stuck pretty close to the basic Chicago blues formula. But that Voice, that Guitar, that Sound.....he was the first, the best, the last. A true legend of the blues. Virtually everyone else who's tried to sing "Mannish Boy"...."Long Distance Call"....."Honey Bee"....."Blow Wind Blow" or "Nine Below Zero" has paled in comparison.
With this DVD, you get the images with the sound. What could be better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muddy is fabulous in these 3 performances, February 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
I was amazed at show at the Newport Jazz Festival on this dvd. Muddy is very lively and the audience is very into the show. He really has the crowd going on "Got my mojo working". The songs and Muddy's way of playing has the folks greatly appreciative. The third concert has a fabulous harmonica player named Jerry Cortney. He does some really great playing and out does many other of his mouth harp competitors such as James Cotton who was also excellent in the first set. There are some very nice solo piano playing by two great piano players, Otis Span and Pine Top Perkins. Muddy plays live in 1960, in 1968, and in 1977. Each one is worth the price of the dvd. I give this dvd a 4 star to 5 star recommendation. This is one of Muddy's best live performance on dvd. I only wish there was some Johnny Winter appearances on here to make it a perfect 5 star plus dvd.
Herb Salsibury
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ClassicConcerts is CLASSIC!!!, January 5, 2007
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
Outstanding; highly recommended especially if you aren't that familiar with Muddy's work. Just great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW !!!!, March 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
Best Muddy Waters on DVD--period. And I have them all. BUY IT NOW !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muddy Waters at his best - a must for blues fans, April 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts (DVD)
These three concerts show the Muddy Waters band at their best. It is so interesting to see the Newport Jazz Fest in the 60s, boy have audiences change. It features Etta James and some hot dancers. The Copenhagen show is exquisite, Jerry Portnoy on harp knocks me out. A must for any Muddy Waters fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Muddy Waters: Classic Concerts
$23.99 $15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.