Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $1.49 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Mule: A Novel of Moving W... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: :
Comment: Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows a small amount of wear - very good condition. Selection as wide as the Mississippi.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight Paperback – September 27, 2011


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.46
$1.59 $0.01
Audio CD
"Please retry"
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Introducing The Amazon Book Review, our editors' fresh new blog featuring interviews with authors, book reviews, quirky essays on book trends, and regular columns by our editors. Explore now
$13.46 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight + Galveston: A Novel
Price for both: $23.47

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Mariner Books; 1 Original edition (September 27, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0547576714
  • ISBN-13: 978-0547576718
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #121,063 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"An acutely detailed page-turner..."
Entertainment Weekly

"[D'Souza's] authorial voice is sharp and crisp, eschewing flowery prose for a hard-hitting narrative style that perfectly suits the page-turning, drugfueled tale. Fans of Toby Young and Max Barry and those who follow D’Souza’s magazine work will greatly enjoy the timely, witty, fast-paced Mule."
Booklist

"A smart and bracing ground-level exploration of the drug trade."
Kirkus

"Mule is the sort of novel I love: it solves nothing but explains everything. It also, thanks to its wicked style and pacing, lets me forget I’m reading serious literature while I follow its terrifying story into the land of the all-American damned."
—Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air

"Mule is swift, taut, and relentless, both a rip-roaring drug tale and a fascinating portrait of a decent human being whose morals slowly disintegrate under unbearable financial strain. Tony D'Souza proves, yet again, that he is an immensely clever storyteller with plenty of talent to spare."
—Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton

"With adrenaline-infused sentences and a seat-gripping storyline, Tony D’Souza has written one of the first great novels to emerge from our perplexing, endless recession. A heartfelt tale of one family’s freefall, Mule is a novel that illuminates contemporary American desperation, both its dangerous precipices and its thrilling, overwhelming freedom."
—Dean Bakopoulos, author of My American Unhappiness

About the Author

Tony D’Souza is the author of three novels, including the award-winning Whiteman. He has contributed to The New Yorker, Playboy, Esquire, Outside, Salon, Granta, McSweeney’s, O. Henry Prize Stories, Best American Fantasy, and elsewhere. A recipient of the Sue Kaufman Prize, Florida Gold and Silver Medals for fiction, and fellowships from the Guggenheim and the NEA, Tony was nominated for a National Magazine Award for coverage of Nicaragua’s Eric Volz murder trial and spent three years in Africa with the Peace Corps.


Related Media

Customer Reviews

It's an entertaining book to read.
Terry L
This book is a page turner, wanted to keep reading so much that I stayed up until the wee hours to finish it!
jade7
The plot was a bit predictable, although it wrapped up a bit nicely for a novelization.
Harkius

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Harkius VINE VOICE on August 5, 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This was a really strange book. For all the world, despite the clear label on the front of "Novel", it didn't feel like one. It felt like a novelization of real-life events. For any number of reasons.

That said, I am a bit ambivalent about it. For example, the beginning of the book is incredibly rushed, especially as compared to the rest of the book. Life is good, everything is going well, economic crisis, and in fifteen pages, suddenly they have no money and no jobs.

A little more setup would have been nice, if only to give us some insight into the characters. Myself, I found the wife truly obnoxious, largely due to the portrayal, and the husband a grievous, useless lout. Generally, the characters are thoroughly unlikable. Fortunately, many bad things happen to them. That kind of makes up for some of the aforementioned negativism.

The plot was a bit predictable, although it wrapped up a bit nicely for a novelization. If it is based on a real story, I'd suspect that the mule flipped, and is in WitSec somewhere in rural Pennsylvania or something. Again, I am ambivalent about it. It ended concisely and completely, with all of the loose ends tied up, albeit a bit deus ex machinacally.

I can't, in good conscience, tell everyone (or really almost anyone) that they should read this book. That said, I can't tell them that they shouldn't, either. It's a quick read, I polished it off in about six hours, but it isn't something I will probably ever read again. I wasn't very impressed, since the author won an O. Henry award.

Grade: C-

Harkius
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Rick Mitchell VINE VOICE on October 6, 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
The economy turns south and James and Kate, young up and comers are both laid off. They head west with no money. soon James gains work as a drug mule driving west to east and later north to south. The account is told from his perspective.

The novel reads like a memoir or a fictionalization of a real life. This is both good and bad. It makes the account tremendously realistic, but it also makes it a bit dry. James recounts the building of his business and the seductiveness of the money. Soon it is apparent that all is about greed - his and Kate's. As he puts forward the facade of a family man, his drug business is stressing him to the point of causinng his beard to fall out. He knows he wants to get out some day, but he knows he loves the money and knows you can never leave this business alive.

The book marches onward as James gets deeper into the drug world while gaining profitability. The ending is a surprise and picks up the pace to a page turner.

This is a very good story that takes a look at the effects of greed on the "normal" people next door. James is haunting with his detached view of his life; the life of one seemingly in control but with knowledge that nothing is in his control. Recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By TChris TOP 100 REVIEWER on November 7, 2011
Format: Paperback
James Lasseter and his soon-to-be-wife Kate are living the good life in Austin when Kate, newly pregnant, is fired from her job. The economy has gone south and James, a freelance writer, can't get an assignment. James and Kate move to a mountain in Northern California where they can stretch their meager savings while deciding what to do next. As Kate shares a joint with a friend from Austin who raves about its quality, James soon realizes that he can earn serious cash by selling NoCal weed in Austin and elsewhere. Thus begins James' career as a mule: a runner of drugs between California and Florida.

For a bright guy, James does some remarkably stupid things, like continually booking one way flights from Florida to California and renting cars for the return trip. He might as well have stamped DRUG MULE on his forehead. He also does a deal that screams "trouble." I suppose the moral is "Greed will make you do stupid things." True enough, but that tale has been told many times before, often more convincingly than D'Souza tells it here.

Had this been a true story, a memoir of a life of crime, I would probably have found it more interesting. As a work of fiction, it lacks pizzazz. Tony D'Souza's writing style is bland and part one of the story he tells is surprisingly dull. James speaks of feeling both nervous and elated while driving drugs cross-country, but D'Souza failed to make me feel James' emotions (to his credit, that changed in part two). When a fairly predictable moment of drama finally arrives (about midway through the novel, toward the end of part one), the dramatic boost it gives to the story is too little, too late.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Richard D. Elder on July 3, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is at the head of the class for the worst novel I've ever started and thrown away before reading more than half. The author's character development is so lacking that the reader not only develops no image of them as people, but could care less what happens to them. One would think that using the first person voice for the main character would at least create some sense of personality, but this novel reads like a junior high school student grinding out a mandatory term paper.

Even more surprising because the author's earlier work, "Whiteman" was both entertaining and well written.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight
This item: Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight
Price: $14.95 $13.46
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com